We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #151 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I spent a night here and it was amazing. I loved it completely. From room service to the gym an bar, everything was perfect. Highly suggest it too :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khalifa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,524 - 2,530 of 3,489 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Great Location, Hotel Lobby & Bar was under construction but still a nice stay. Would stay here again next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Chandler for her birthday suprise. We were upgraded from a Queen Supreme to a King Deluxe. The front desk staff could not do enough for us (especially Scott). The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Some lobby construction which did not hinder our visit at all. Complementary continental breakfast and complementary wine and cheese from 5PM to PM. Toured the city (I have other reviews about that). Checked out at 10:30 on Monday morning and they held our bags for us while we ran around the city for a few more hours. An absolutely wonderfull hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that we were able to make this a special Birthday for your wife and hope that you will return for another special occasion in the future!

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and Scott in particular, I will make sure he reads this.

May the New Year bring you all the good things in life!

Regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Chandler. It is a perfect hotel if you are just looking for a place to sleep/shower/change in comfort. The room was small, but we didn't spend a lot of time hanging out in it. It was very clean, the linens were luxurious, the bed comfortable. We did not interact with the staff to a great extent, but when we did everyone was pleasant and competent. Because of renovations they are offering a nightly wine and cheese reception and daily light breakfast. The reception area was comically small, but it was a nice gesture that they didn't have to make. We did not go to the breakfast either morning so can't comment on that, but the wine and cheese were nice. The room was quiet and other than walking past the renovated area, we were undisturbed by any work going on. The location was great as we took the train to Penn Station which is walking distance. It was easy to get a cab to go anywhere else. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Hotel Chandler at the beginning of January 2012. Those three nights were just about the most quiet I have ever spent in New York City (and I used to live there). The room was small but extremely comfortable and clean. All staff were gracious and helpful. Although the lobby wasn't quiet because it's under renovation, we were in no way bothered by it in our room. And the hotel management kindly provided compensatory services, such as gratuitous breakfast and wine and cheese receptions. Once the renovation is complete, I'd like to return and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

I am so very happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We are indeed lucky to have a location that is very quiet and at the same time very central.

Please come back and visit again!

Regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled to New York City for a 3 night getaway just prior to Christmas 2011. The staff at Hotel Chandler were very helpful - we checked in quite early in the day and they asked us if we preferred a streetview or quiet room. We went for the quiet room - it was very quiet! The room was great (somewhat small but expected for NYC). The bathroom shower was AMAZING!
Turn down service each night with a chocolate on the pillow too. There were renovations going on at the hotel while we were there - the main lobby was being worked on. The areas that were complete looked great. We didn't find any inconvenience with the renovations and it was great that they offered a free continental breakfast and free wine and cheese/crackers in the evening - unlikely to find this anywhere else in NYC! I would definitely go back to Hotel Chandler in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Chandler was a dream. Though the lobby is under renovation, the staff was beyond accommodating and gracious, offering upgrades and friendly service. I was traveling with my elderly, disabled mother, whom they treated with care and respect. The rooms were immaculate, large (by NY standards), and extremely comfortable. The Hotel Chandler is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#135 of 471 in New York City
11,350 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,931 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £148 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chandler 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing