We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Bite of the Big Apple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good Bite of the Big Apple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Some of the mixed reviews I read ALMOST made me pass up this tidy little hotel nestled on the relatively quiet 31st Street between 5th & Madison Aves in Midtown, but I'm glad that I trusted my instinct to try a superior king room using the hotel's online booking system. The hotel's special sale rate couldn't be beat for my 4-night stay and the room was a deal for the size and convenient location. (I compared the rate to more online hotel discounters than I care to admit as I'm a super sleuth for best rates!).

It was a business trip to work a trade show at Javits Center, but I knew I'd have a little freetime in the evenings. The hotel location is within easy walking distance to decent dinner options just a few blocks south on Park Ave. It was brisk but pleasant 11 min walk to meet co-workers at Whole Foods on 7th & 23rd most mornings to buy food and coffee for the day while we worked. Local deli and snack places are plentiful around the hotel for cheap quick breakfast on the go.

Based on the helpful tips from previous guests, i requested the highest floor away from the elevator for quieter accommodations. However, I checked-in late and ended up in room 1028 almost directly across from the elevators. Yes you can hear the soft bing as it stops on adjacent floors and the doors open & close, but not enough to prevent me from sleeping soundly at night. Bathroom was small...wish it provided some shelf space, but closed toilet lid worked in a pinch. Wonderful center rain shower head (no tub) did leak a little water on the tiled floor. Room space was certainly enough for the rate with 2 little lounge chairs and table next to bay window area that faced brick wall and plenty of drawers and 2 closets for hanging clothes. I liked having mini bar fridge with enough space to put my own water inside to keep cold.

Really enjoyed the nightly free cozy wine and cheese lounge during renovations now finishing in the entryway. Very MINOR distraction which I may not have even noticed had I not read reviews prior to my stay. Overall staff was attentive and friendly enough for my needs and I would come back for a repeat visit. Room was clean and always neat upon my return each night, safe in room was large enough for my iPad and more.

Room Tip: Use hotel website to book best rates. Check in early mid-afternoon for better chance of having spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quichelorene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    1,020
    262
    96
    51
See reviews for
561
1,341
212
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This adorable boutique hotel was a wonderful choice for mid-town Manhattan. Hotel lobby looks completely remodeled. Beyond the front desk were two "quiet rooms" w/ comfy sofas and a fireplace. Lobby construction was just finishing up...because of the inconvenience they offered a light breakfast, coffee and teas throughout the day and evening wine and cheese as complimentary. Front desk staff (multi-lingual) was friendly and helpful w/ hotel and transportation questions. The room, very clean, was very inviting with tasteful decor, appropriate size for New York city. (The umbrella in the draw was a nice surprise!) The tiny bathroom had wonder shower pressure and water temperature. Only negative...the plumbing in nearby rooms was very loud when people were showering (may have been specific to our room or the fact this is remodeled older hotel)...but all things considered, this is a gem...keep it a secret...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Va8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Excellent location to visiting Manhattan just around the corner you will find the Empire state building. The Chandler is OK, nice room no to big but I think it is a Manhattan standard. good bed maybe to soft for my european back and evething was very clean, every evening we had turndown of our room. Though there were small working in progress in the lobby, the room was quiet, for the trouble ( really nonexixtent) we were offered a small breakfast and a snack at 5 pm with wine and cheese. internet is free and fast enough. Take advice from the concierge for your dinner. I can not wait to come back. good job!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brehme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor. My husband and I stayed there this weekend. It was exactly as advertised. Very clean, very nice staff. The room was nicely appointed and adequate in size. For New York, it was a great price, too. The neighborhood is safe and had some nice restaurants nearby. The location is a little off the beaten path; in Murray Hill neighborhood. Subway is close by. Also, very close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, The Empire State Buidling and Macy's Herald Square. The hotel is cozy. They are still offering complimentary continental breakfast and wine and cheese, because they are still renovating the restaurant and lounges. All of the rooms have been redone, so there was no construction going on that was disturbing.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator on a higher level. The room was on the 10th floor and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlynsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the lovely amenities (fine toiletries, umbrella on loan in the room, tasty complimentary breakfast) to the immaculately clean room, the Chandler was a great choice for our weekend in NYC. Location off 5th Ave. was a short walk to theater district and Hell's Kitchen restaurants. We will definitely make this hotel our home base for future visits to the city.

Room Tip: Quiet on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyFanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Clean, cozy room - not spacious but fine for New York. Great high pressure overhead shower in the bathroom. No complaints.
What really stood out for me was the staff. I left my toothbrush at home - front desk sent one up within 2 mins of me calling. Concierge was helpful and friendly. Bell staff immediately helped with bags or called a cab if needed.
Impressive service at a reasonable price. And a good location too - just a couple of blocks from the Empire State.
I would stay here again and recommend Hotel Chandler to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusSW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a long weekend in Nrew York taking n some sights, cultural events and just generally soaking up the atmosphere. Second visit to this hotel - so I must like it! Just completing a refurb. My room was small - but this is new York - and had everything that I needed. Clean and stylish, can't ask for more. Staff are helpful and friendly. Just down from the empire state building I love the location. I enjoy walking in this city but subway stations are close. I'm sure I'll be back for a third visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb500Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing