We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I brought my daughter to new York for a girls weekend. We chose Hotel Chandler because of the reviews. The hotel is a bit off the beaten path but only a $10 cab ride to just about anywhere in Manhattan. Definitely walking distance to many great shopping and entertainment options. The hotel was recently renovated. The staff was outstanding. They truely go above and beyond. The rooms are on the small side but that's not new for NYC. We had a great time and I would stay there again. I felt like we got a lot for our money. Most impressive was the staff and how they made you feel like they were welcoming you home every time you came through the door.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davelle1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    1,031
    267
    98
    51
See reviews for
572
1,354
215
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Have stayed in a few hotels in New York over the years for business and pleasure, we chose this one as it was reasonably priced in a good location.

Hotel was great value for money. Service was fine and room was in line with expectations. Bathroom was very clean and modern with nice toiletries. They served wine and cheese each evening which was nice and there was also free breakfast (v limited selection but hey it was free!).

Only real negative was that the room was a bit small and not that light/bright but hey what do you expect for that price in New York. I've stayed in bigger nicer rooms but payed a bigger price! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qwertyPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I was not happy with my company's new travel policy not allowing me to stay in my standard Marriott or Hilton Hotel. Instead I had to stay in a small boutique hotel - the Hotel Chandler. The rooms are a bit tired and the plumbing could use an upgrade but the lobby was just redone and nice. The reason that this received 5 stars is simply because of the excellent service that I received. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Easily 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: The single room is quite small so I would opt for one with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Your review reads like poetry and is certainly music to my ears! Thank you so much. I truly appreciate that you feel we provide the 'Best Service in New York'. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very luxurious hotel, is almost as real as what you can see on the pictures... Great service and conveniently located and everything walking distance, I mean, it is NY. Rooms are unfortunately a bit too small.

Room Tip: I probably stay only in this hotel if nothing else is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josco26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This one has it all: decent rooms, good services and friendly helpful staff. Best choice in the neighborhod I have found. The bed was great and i like the style. I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTravelWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
I also like the style of your review, it is wonderful to be your favorite hotel! We try our best to please and do everything it takes to make our guests happy. After all, so many of you travel a long way and spend a lot of money to experience New York!

I do hope to meet you next time!

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel was really good, in a great location. Two blocks from Madison sq. garden and a block from the empire state building.
They parked our car for us and the staff was really friendly.
I would go back again and plan on it as soon. I would recommend this hotel it was priced right per night for a couple .. I thought the nightly price was just right!
Avalon,NJ

Room Tip: A nice convienent spot at a gret price plus a really nice and helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Someone_somewhere12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights recently and can only recommend it to anyone searching for a central location, well maintained, clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Our room, even though we upgraded to queen/king was small but had everything we needed in it- including iron, ironing board and hairdryer. It was clean and pleasant with a good shower cubicle and excellent magnified mirror at the sink (good for applying make up for those whose eyesight is not to great). In addition all toiletries were kept well replenished. There was some maintenance going on in the hotel and although it didn't interfere with us in any way the hotel provided complimentary services such as a free breakfast (coffee, tea, buns and fruit) and wine and cheese for a few hours from 5pm. As it was our first time in New York it was great to have staff at the hotel who were able to advise on how best to get around. The hotel provided us with an adapter for the electricity (when I forgot ours) and the doormen were also very helpful and pleasant. All in all I could find no fault with the accommodation or service provided. If I was to make any suggestions it would be to recommend a kettle in the rooms and obviously when the maintenance is finished a bar to chill out in at the end of a busy day. Finally when testing the fire alarm, to make sure that residents are notified. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed a nice long week stay with us at Hotel Chandler and I truly appreciate your positive comments about our staff, they are the heartbeat of the hotel.
The remodeling is now 99% completed and our bar will be opening very soon, providing a cosy place to relax at the end of a busy day's sightseeing.

Hope we see you again soon!

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing