We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Green Mountains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

First time at the Chandler, stayed two nights, and had a great, great time. Room was small, which was expected for this price in NYC and absolutely *fine*---I honestly don't know what some people expect in Manhattan...---very comfortable, and very clean. (I had checked bedbugregistry.com before going -- they got a clean bill on there!) Bathroom was excellent, great shower and water pressure and Aveda goodies for amenities. Best part was that the staff could NOT have been lovelier or more helpful. Genuinely great, nice people. I had been hoping this might be the case---two years ago, I had reservations at the Chandler and had to cancel. No hotel staffer has ever been so nice about a cancellation before or since! If rates stay the same, I'll definitely be there again next time in the city.

Room Tip: No idea what views are available, but our room (sixth floor, facing back/roof of a nearby building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmelo_vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,856
    1,060
    282
    106
    56
See reviews for
605
1,391
222
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great hotel, excellent service, great staff, hotel was undergoing renovations to lobby with little or no effect on guests, to compensate hotel were giving complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese each evening for a few hours, very kind and enjoyable.
Rooms small but very comfortable, bathrooms excellent, all in all a very well located and comfortable hotel, we shall return .
Michele Ireland

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have just checked out of the Chandler and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 6 day stay. The service we received was fantastic, room was a good size and very clean. Even though the hotel is going through some renovations this didnt impact on our stay..in fact offering the complimentary breakfast and the wine and cheese nights becuase of the renovations was greatly appreciated and we met new friends at these gatherings. Hotel is in a great location, about 400 metres from Empire State Building. Will be recommending for other Aussies to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Chandler. It was in a great location and the service was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we didn't mind the renovations. We visit NYC 4 times a year on business and we would certainly stay there again providing the rates do not increase signifcantly after reno is complete.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Immaculate and beautiful rooms, friendly staff, extremely convenient location — all in all a perfect stay. The hotel parked our car at a reasonable rate and we left it parked for the duration of our visit. I really have nothing bad to say about the hotel. We had a great stay in the city at the Chandler.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LanaBananaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We appreciate your business and the fact that you took the time to post a review! Thank you. We know there is a wide range of options out there and are grateful for each and every one of you who selects Hotel Chandler!

We hope to see you again!

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a quiet but quaint boutique hotel centrally located in Manhattan (31st & Broadway). The value for the money was excellent and the room not too too small. They offer a very basic complimentary continental breakfast in the morning and a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon/early eve. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The downsides--there was no view at all; we just had a brick wall a few feet away with another window in it. This probably made it actually quieter, but you could hear EVERYTHING in the hallway, and we were right near the elevator so doors closing, luggage rolling, voices, and the elevator bell ringing were all intrusive. Overall, I'd definitely say it was good and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank b-squared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
You started your review with a lovely title and ended it with what makes it all worthwile - that you will be back!

Thank you so very much.

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I brought my daughter to new York for a girls weekend. We chose Hotel Chandler because of the reviews. The hotel is a bit off the beaten path but only a $10 cab ride to just about anywhere in Manhattan. Definitely walking distance to many great shopping and entertainment options. The hotel was recently renovated. The staff was outstanding. They truely go above and beyond. The rooms are on the small side but that's not new for NYC. We had a great time and I would stay there again. I felt like we got a lot for our money. Most impressive was the staff and how they made you feel like they were welcoming you home every time you came through the door.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davelle1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 467 in New York City
2,666 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing