We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous! Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Chandler. When deciding to go to New York we had no hesitation in booking at the Chandler again....and we were not disappointed! The staff are friendly, the decor is lovely and it is in a convenient location close to the Empire State building. I love the 'turning down' service where they leave a chocolate on your pillow before bed in the evening and turn down the covers. It's the personal touch that really counts.

Another great feature is that you can have coffee from the lobby 24/7. The beds are comfy, bathrooms modern and very clean. Book at the Chandler, you won't be disappointed! NYC at its best!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungerfordSharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    1,031
    267
    98
    51
See reviews for
572
1,354
215
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The newly renovated Chandler, was disappointing, there is so much competition in NYC. They don't tell you when you book that they have a very limited kitchen and the services they provid are not equal to their stars or pricing. The staff are nice, not very sophisticated, and could use some training

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjaytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Having a weekend layover in NYC I decided to treat myself to a nice hotel and shopping. A search uprevealed the Chandler and with reasonable prices for NY we gave it a shot. YAAAAY! Good choice! The hotel is simply a gem and I probably shouldnt tell everyone about it as they may raise their prices.

Its perfectly located for walking in NY. We walked to Madison Sq. Gdn, the Village, the Empire State bldg and others. There are tons of restaueants very close and the area was safe enough for me to be out alone at night and not feel threatened.

The hotel itself is very well appointed. The standard room was a little smaller than we wanted so we upgraded to a suite still under the price of most standard rooms in the city and very, very nice with a good size bedroom, living area and bathroom considering we were in the heart of the city. It was well decorated, nice large sofa (my baby's over 6 ft and was comfy on it), modern with just the right amount of class to be tasteful but not stuffy. I saw guests of all ages, social standing and background who also appreciated the value and style at the Chandler.

I had a really late check in and received a personal email welcoming me and letting me know my room would be held. My emails were responded to in a timely manner and as I'm traveling and thats my only means of communication most of the time, it made my experience that much more enjoyable. A very professional and welcome touch.

The staff was exceptional. Always polite, knowledgeable, friendly and supportive...especialy the gentlemen late at night. I honestly didnt get the same "warm and fuzzy" from the ladies during the day but that could be my own preoccupation.

All said, I'll be back to the Chandler. Next week in fact. It's become a fast favorite. Go there, enjoy your stay, and enjoy the money you'll save and experience you'll have at the Chandler.

Room Tip: See the room before you lock it in and dont be afraid to ask for an upgrade. +$100 was still a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChikkiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and myself stayed for 4 nights at this hotel the end of April 2012. It was located within walking distance of most of the main tourist attractions. The rooms were spacious and very clean.The staff were friendly and very helpful. We were very impressed and would highly recommend it. S. Bowman Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

What a great hotel staff and service were brilliant and made the stay here first class.
will stay here again when on business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexMark1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Overall Impression: My wife and I would recommend staying at the Hotel Chandler and we would stay here again when returning to New York. Based upon our experience (we have stayed in NYC on vacation about 25 times) the Hotel Chandler can be considered a nice choice for a first time visitor to the city (price, location, hotel quality, staff, etc). The Hotel Chandler is a nice, clean, recently renovated hotel that sits in a good midtown location - several blocks from both the Empire State Building and Penn Station. The hotel staff members are very friendly & appear to go out of their way to please the guests. Please continuing reading for more details on our stay.

The Hotel: We tend to stay in 4 & 5 star hotels that are historic, traditionally decorated (late 19th or early 20th century), and are located in the City Center/urban core. While not traditionally decorated, the Hotel Chandler met our overall expectations. The facade of the hotel was traditional and the hotel itself was well equipped with typical 4 star amenities such as a free Wi-Fi, contemporary bar, concierge, & fitness center.

The Room: We booked a Deluxe Room directly through the hotel website (http://www.hotelchandler.com/). Upon check-in we were assigned room 932. The room looked just like the pictures & description listed on the hotel website. The room was small - but typical in size for NYC standards. The room faced the rear of the hotel so the view wasn't spectacular but because we were on the 9th floor the room had a lot of natural light (the room included black out shades for sleeping). The room & bathroom were clean (carpet in the bedroom and tiles throughout the bathroom). The Queen sized bed was very comfortable and the room had a chair, desk, small table, two wardrobes, flat screen HD TV, a mini-bar, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, umbrella, etc. The bathroom offered complimentary toiletries and the 'rainfall' shower made for a great showering experience! The only drawback to the room was that we could clearly hear the water running through the pipes whenever our neighbors turned on their sink/shower (no big deal for us - just wanted to let you know in case this is an issue for you).

The Staff: Due to our short weekend stay, we really didn’t interact with the staff other than during the check-in/check-out processes (and when passing the staff within the hotel). When we did interact with the staff, however, they were extremely friendly & went out of their way to make us feel welcome (kudos to the Management team for their staff recruiting/training capabilities).

Arriving: We arrived in New York via John F Kennedy International Airport (JFK) from Madrid. Finding baggage claim in the terminal was quick and easy (the same holds true for Immigration & Customs). From the terminal, we took the train (AirTrain to LIRR) to the hotel. Once we claimed our bags, we followed the signs in the terminal to the AirTrain. We took the AirTrain from the terminal to Jamaica station (about a 15 minute trip) and upon exiting the AirTrain (at Jamaica station) we purchased an AirTrain/LIRR combination ticket for $11.25 ($5.00 for the AirTrain portion and $6.25 for the non-peak LIRR portion). Purchasing the tickets can be a bit confusing - just as one of the transit works for assistance if you need help. Next, we headed downstairs to the LIRR and waited a couple of minutes for the train to Penn Station to arrive. Penn Station was two or three stops (and less than 30 minutes) from Jamaica Station. Once in Penn Station, we walked several blocks to the hotel (the hotel is located on 31st Street between Madison Avenue & 5th Avenue). The total trip from JFK to the hotel took about an hour.

Departing: The standard hotel checkout time is noon but we requested (and were granted!) a slightly later checkout time (1:00 PM). We were departing the city via Amtrak from Penn Station (to Washington, DC) - so we simply packed our bags, checked-out, and walked 15 minutes to Penn Station.

Tips: There are too many things to do in New York for us to list, so here are a couple of tidbits to consider. If you have a chance, visit Stone Street in the Financial District as it has some nice pubs with an Old World feel. In addition, enjoy your morning coffee at either the Financier (http://www.financierpastries.com/locations.cfm) or at Stumptown Coffee Roasters (http://stumptowncoffee.com/). Most of all enjoy your stay in the Big Apple!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I really liked this hotel for a quick trip. Small room but clean and comfortable. Got a great rate and great location. Staff friendly and professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jointfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing