We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and secure with charm. Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #149 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed a weekend here on the way home from Canada to the UK. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable, well-appointed room (no.1032, a Deluxe Queen, on the 10th floor so nice and quiet). Good bathroom (shower only) with all the necessaries. There is a small lounge off the lobby with TV and some excellent books on the City. Very well located in midtown just a few blocks from the Empire State. Overall an excellent base in NYC at a reasonable price. Not a flashy hotel but it has its own immaculate charm. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet go for a higher floor room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0rbr8ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,342 - 2,348 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Having stayed at the Hotel Chandler for 3 nights last week I have to say what a nice hotel it is. Very clean everywhere. Courteous staff who are only too happy to help with ordering taxis, opening doors etc. My husbands only gripe was that with it being 4* he expected tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There was a mini bar and sweets (very expensive) but thats all. There was however FREE tea, coffee * lemon water in the hotel foyer.
The locations good too. 5 minutes to the Empire State Building. All in all we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a superior queen room which was small BUT certainly big enough. The bathroom was large and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenerifelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Any review entitled LOVELY HOTEL makes my day!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, complimentary coffee and tea service and the now fully completed remodeling of the lobby, library, breakfast lounge, bar and guest rooms. We shall be opening a new restaurant towards the beginning of next year. I will keep you posted!

Kind regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I went to NYC for a business trip. Our work is internet based so when we booked our tickets we called the hotel to ask if they have wifi. The person answering the phone said they did. Well we arrived after a long flight and after the front desk staff charged our credit card, he said- 'Here's your room key. This is the internet login and password. But there's a problem- It does not work. '
My husband explained that we needed internet for work and asked how long it would take to fix the problem. He replied-' Its your luck. If you can connect, good for you. else we cant help you.' Well we did try our luck, but the internet was not working. So we decided to check out immediately. The front desk staff refused to refund our money for the 1st night since according to him, non availability of internet is not a reason for refund.And this was after we called the hotel to confirm about the internet availability and told them how important it was to us. We finally had to talk to the manager. The manager was helpful and understood the situation and refunded all our money.
Apart from this annoying incident, the hotel lobby and room looked pretty nice.The bell boys were very eager and helpful.
But the elevators were creepily small and looked dangerous.
I would suggest confirming whether they have internet before driving down and paying to save yourself the hassle.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank AprilMayJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the slow internet speed we experienced on September 9 for one day, this was a city wide problem and has never happened before at Hotel Chandler. Our WiFi is complimentary in all guestrooms and public spaces.

I am pleased were able to waive the early departure fee as we fully understood your issue.

Kind regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the Chandler for a week when we visited NY a wee while ago. The hotel is very conveniently located and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were small as expected but comfortable. The air-conditioner was noisy and the bathroom was cramped and needed refurbishment. We had a plumbing issue which took a while to get sorted.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is renovated it's just around the corner from the Empire State building. The rooms very small but impecable.
I would recommed this hotel the street is very quiet and the service is great! I just did not like the queen deluxe room because of it's size very tiny. They offer continental breakfast for 15 dlls.

Room Tip: I would recommed to get a king instead of a queen deluxe wich is way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Our experience at the Hotel Chandler was well worth the money. The room (while on the small side) was VERY clean. The staff always had a smile & the service -OUTSTANDING. I would defenitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hotel Chandler is conveniently located in midtown and an excellent choice for first time visitors to NYC. Uptown & downtown are easily reached (by metro or by foot if you like walking) and funky Korea town and the Empire state building are just around the corner. Our reservation did not include breakfast - the hotel also does not have a kitchen so expect hefty prices for room service in case you fancy ordering. Everything comes from outside. That said, it's New York City and food is of course everywhere! The hotel room was quite small but chique. Hotel staff are kind. Special note to the cleaning staff, our room was serviced twice a day and always in tip top shape. All in all, a good option for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#147 of 470 in New York City
3,006 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
614 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 470 in New York City
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#43 of 470 in New York City
3,843 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#249 of 470 in New York City
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £135 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing