We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favourite NYC Hotel”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #149 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed recently at the Chandler for 6 days and absolutely loved it. The staff at Hotel Chandler are wonderful: warm, welcoming, and helpful. I really can't say enough about them, they were all great. While the room is a fairly typical size by New York standards, our bathroom was huge with a lovely giant shower. Our room was extremely clean and set up well and there was plenty of room for my husband, myself, and two large suitcases. The bed was fantastic, one of the most comfortable I have had in a hotel. We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet. The air conditioner was a bit noisy, but it didn't bother my sound-sleeping husband at all and when I (a light sleeper) popped in earplugs it was fine.There was also free wifi in our room which was great, and complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby. We loved the location, close to the 34 street Herald Square subway station which is a major stop. It is also close to the Flatiron District and all the wonderful restaurants there. Our booking entitled us to complimentary continental breakfast in the beautiful newly renovated breakfast room (I believe the usual cost is about $15). It was a very nice breakfast with muffins, bagels, toast, cereals, boiled eggs, meat, cheese, and fruit salad. We enjoyed it every day. We travel often to New York and have stayed in several different hotels there, but my husband has decreed that we will only stay in the Chandler from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,327 - 2,333 of 3,489 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

I loved this hotel. The rooms are big for being in NYC, the beds are comfortable, wi-fi is free and you get small Molton Brown bottles and comfortable towels and robes in the bathroom. Both the front desk personnel, the door and luggage personnel were very nice and helpful. We stayed for 3 + 2 nights (with a gap between) and we left our luggage in the meantime. From this location it is walking distance to large parts of Manhattan. I would love to stay at this hotel again. If I tried to find something negative, I'd say that it can be a bit noisy from the hallway, but I wasn't really disturbed by it.

I'd say that everything was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweden300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Wow! Considering all the options in the Big Apple, this is truly an honor that you love us! Thank you so much. We are getting closer to the completion of our new restaurant, Juni. I cannot wait to showcase it to our guests!

Kind regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Oct. Nice rooms in an old hotel near 5th Ave & 31st St. Great service, friendly and attentive staff. Hotel beds, showers were great. Bathrobes in the rooms. Free coffee. Continental breakfast for a fee. Hotel had a bar in the lobby which we didn't use. Wifi only in lobby, intermittent service in rooms. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Clean, close to subway, helpful and friendly staff. Beds comfortable, pillows just like home, robes provided were great after a shower..... There was construction outside... But always began at 8am, so who needs an alarm clock...:) some reviews said the elevators were slow... Not a problem... On vacation! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank SAM I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at the Chandler for 7 nights in the last week of September, and I have to say I can't think of a single negative - unless you count the lift being a bit slow! That shows you how superb we thought it was. Spotlessly clean, incredibly nice and friendly staff, really comfy bed, nice room, great shower, free tea and coffee in reception which was nice after a hard days sightseeing. Just a couple of minutes walk to 33rd street Subway station or the Empire State Building the other way. Different members of staff helped us with places to go, how to rent bikes and online airport check-in on our last morning (even after we'd already checked out of the hotel). They couldn't do enough for us and I can't recommend the Hotel Chandler highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manctofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

We truly appreciate the fact that you had no negatives to your stay, that is certainly our goal! We are also just a few months away from opening our beautiful new Restaurant, Juni. I think you will absolutely love the new space.

Kind regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Hotel was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Room very clean, bed extremely comfortable. High quality linen. Peaceful and quiet. Room very small but ok. Able to walk to attractions, e.g. Empire State Building, Maceys etc. A/C was a bit noisey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussies2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great hotel,spot on location,very helpful staff,very clean,free coffee and tea,mini bar and breakfast expensive but are nt they always ....plenty of diners on doorstep for breakfast. Loved every minute of New york and will return here next time we visit

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARKANPAULINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#140 of 471 in New York City
3,110 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 471 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 471 in New York City
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#138 of 471 in New York City
1,673 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#220 of 471 in New York City
237 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 471 in New York City
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £147 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chandler 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing