We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great location wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very nice hotel rooms. Not very big but very clean and the staff that worked there were super helpful and very friendly. The location of the hotel is great. You are close enough to walk to several area attractions but far enough from Times Square to really enjoy the city. The employees of the hotel were very accommodating and always greeted you with a smile. The price for the hotel was well worth what we paid. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Luv2Travel2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    1,031
    267
    98
    51
See reviews for
572
1,354
215
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed 5 nights over Thanksgiving holidays. Pleasant hotel. Rooms are good and everything laid on. Bathroom was compact though.

Nice touches, Molton Brown products in bathroom and tea coffee in the lobby.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Gym small but useable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very nice hotel, rooms are not very big, but nice, cosy and very clean. Service extremely friendly and supportive. Very good value for money. Great loacations at the heart of Manhattan close to subwaystation.

Room Tip: Besides the suite there is no room with a great view. So you do not need to ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was fantastic and within walking distance of many famous New York attractions including the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Union Square. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was quite small but that's what you get in New York.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel so can't comment on the bar or restaurant but it was a comfortable place to come back to after a long day and night exploring.

On our last day we realised that at the back of the reception area there were comfortable seating areas with big TVs which would be good if you're travelling as a group and want to spend time together in the hotel but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I are former NYers who were back for a holiday visit with our family. I got a very good rate for a one-week stay on http://Hotels.com and, based on our experience, we would definitely stay here again.

The Chandler is a small, boutique hotel, just off 5th Avenue. The location is wonderful, with Turtle Bay just a couple blocks away, and excellent shopping on 5th Avenue. It's a shot walk to Grand Central and the 6 train is just two blocks away.

The room is a bit smallish, but very comfortable. I slept very soundly on their bed, which I thought was excellent. The room was spotless, and well appointed. As an example, the towels are thick and absorbent, and the linens soft. And I'd like to stress, clean!

The Internet access was excellent. We had my computer, iPhone, iPad and my wife's iPhone and iPad all connected and we had excellent bandwidth. So-o important today! There were also plenty of outlets for charging our devices!

If I had any complaint, it was a bit hard to get the room heated/cooled to the right temperature. We got here during a very cold stretch of weather and found that we actually had to use the AC rather than the heat to get the room comfortable.

The only other comment would be that the room safe was too small for a 15" MacBook Pro, so we left it out during the day rather than putting it in the safe. We didn't experience a problem with any of our belongings during our stay, but it's always better to lock this stuff away if you can. For the record, a 13" computer would have fit just fine.

The staff is very courteous and inviting and makes you feel like a guest from the minute you step into the lobby. This really is an excellent hotel, and I'd like to be a guest here in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocaboy2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Only some days ago I stayed for second time at the Hotel Chandler in Midtown, Manhattan. My experience at this hotel was perfect, excelent service and facilities. The new restaurant Juni it is outstanding. The Staff is very professional and friendly, they always remember your name, what a nice touch. The Library is very quiet and intimate. Wifi service worked very well at any time.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice with excellent beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onecircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otter Tail Lake Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I visited the Hotel Chandler as I was in town for 3 days of work. We stayed 5 nights total as we had never been to NYC and were looking to see the sights. We had a great time!

As soon as we checked in, we went to our room and were greated within the hour by the bellman wondering if we found everything ok. Great Service and everything was in order.

The room was not that large, but plenty for the 2 of us and this is mid-town Manhatten. The doormen were always will to help and were extremely friendly. My wife enjoyed the lobby coffee, but wish there was a coffee maker in the room for early morning.

We didn't use room service or the bar resturant, but it looked very good. We were just always out and about. My work was at Penn Station / Madison Square Garden and the walk was 3 long blocks and a great way to start each morning. We were 2 blocks from the Empire State building. 4 or 5 from Times Square. We enjoyed using the metro Pass ($32 / Week) for bus and subway. You couldn't beat how easy it was to get around manhatten from the Chandler, yet tucked away for quite when your night was over.

We may be going back to NYC and would definately stay at the Chandler again.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view, but was quiet (6th Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear YourReosrt:

Thank you for your recent excellent review! As you said we are indeed in a great location to access all that NYC has to offer. I am happy you were able to navigate around town and enjoy the comfort of your room upon returning each evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing