We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Our company pushes this hotel since it is a very reasonably priced Manhattan hotel and to my surprise it is terrific. The hotel has nearly brand new appointments with flat panel tv's, king sized beds, alarm clocks with iPod connection, etc. Staff are nice enough, especially by NYC standards.
It's not located in Times Square but what you sacrifice in location you'll appreciate in your wallet. I've stayed at other properities in NYC (Grand Hyatt, Doubletree on Lexington) and the rooms here are just as nice and you don't feel like you were taken to the cleaners in the process.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Small elevators
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarterD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    1,020
    262
    96
    51
See reviews for
561
1,341
212
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

I just returned from my trip to NYC with a friend and our mothers. The hotel was amazing, very beautiful! The people who work at the front desk were very polite and helpful. To be honest the whole staff was.. The doormen were extremly helpful with everything and very very polite. They helped us to get taxis, and basically anything else we had asked or we didnt ask for but they thought would be nice. They were a very nice bunch of boys. I honestly did not want to leave and they made the experience alot more fun. I wish I could have gotten to know them alittle better and to be able to stay in contact with them. All in all the hotel was beautiful way more then I expected, perfect location for everything.

  • Liked — The doormen
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

My daughter and I just returned from a weekend in NYC where we stayed at the Hotel Chandler. I was unsure of what to expect from this hotel, but was truly pleasantly surprised. Our room was upgraded to a king and was very clean and well maintained. The location was excellent and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We were able to walk to all of the attractions in midtown Manhattan from this hotel. We had a terrific weekend and would certainly return to and recommend the Hotel Chandler.

  • Liked — The location, the price and the cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Chandler from July 22nd-July 26th. The hotel was great. Great location in Manhattan for us. We were able to walk almost anywhere we wanted to go. We really liked the hotel for the location. A couple minutes to the Empire State building, and about a 5 minute walk to Macy's. Great locations around the hotel for breakfast too. Check out Caprice on 5th Avenue for breakfast. Yummy. The room was smaller than what we have been used to, but we were only in it to sleep and shower. It was nicely decorated, and very quiet. The hotel is a little worn around the edges, but overall really nice. The staff were very nice and very helpful as well. I would definitely stay again at the Chandler.

  • Liked — the location, just off 5th ave
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

I travel frequently for work and am in NYC at least once a month. I recently stayed at Hotel Chandler because my client had special rates there.

The staff was very nice --I'll give them points for customer service.

The MAJOR dilemma with this hotel was the bathroom. I kid you not, when I say that I could not get into the shower. I'm not a large person (5'4, 125lbs) and the opening between the glass shower door and the toilet was less than 5 inches. The door literally HITS the toilet and you have to climb OVER the toilet to get in. I spent 20 minutes trying to get in to take a shower after an all-day flight and was beyond frustrated. I can't imagine what would have happened if I was larger, or not as flexible.

When I did finally wedge myself in, I noticed that the shower head is smack dab in the middle of the shower--so you have to reach past it to turn on the water and are inevitably shocked by either HOT water, or FREEZING cold water. Also, there were no shelves or places to put shampoo or soap! I had to set my bar of soap on the tiles and the water pooled all around it (because the drain doesn’t work well).

**on my 2nd day staying at this hotel, I had to have mainenance come in and fix the shower door so that it opened in. They had to use brute force to push the door INTO the shower. I thought the glass would break.

The bed was decent. Room service menu left MUCH to be desired. They did nice turn-down service…but my door didn’t lock from within and it was flimsy. I had a room right next to the elevator and I could hear the “ding” of the bell each and every time someone stopped on my floor. I could also see the bright hall lights because my door ended an inch or two above the carpet.

All in all, I have stayed at MUCH better boutique hotels. This one is NOT worth it.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CACouple111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Chandler this past weekend, July 12th & 13th 2008. From the time we arrived everything was better than expected. We received a very warm welcome from the front desk and even received an upgrade to a Deluxe Queen.

The room furnishings were very nice and the bedding extra comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly large and nicely outfitted.

The staff was every bit as helpful as they could possibly be. We were on a tight schedule and they assisted with information about the theatre we were heading to.

The weekend was extra special thanks to our experience at The Hotel Chandler. We will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

  • Liked — the little extras not found at most hotels
  • Disliked — there was nothing that we didn't like about the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

I've just returned back to the UK from NYC I stayed at Hotel Chandler in April 2007 and returned this week as a birthday present for my partner. He was equally impressed with the hotel. The hotel and service is fantastic, such a nice hotel to stay at, the hotel is quiet, which is just what you need when you return from a busy day of sightseeing round Manhatten. Excellent location too, just two blocks from Empire State Building. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maltking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing