We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
“Comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed for a week at Hotel Chandler, and couldn't be happier! My room was very comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. After a long day of working and walking in the city, it was a relaxing respite that I looked forward to each evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    1,023
    263
    96
    51
See reviews for
564
1,342
212
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived early from our flight and Owen was able to accommodate to an early check in and high floor. They also allowed for a late check out at 3pm. We stayed in room 1032. We mentioned our association and membership to SLH.com, although we used points and booked through expedia they allowed for an upgrade to a city view. Very friendly and warm front of staff. The rooms are smaller but lots of attention to space for storage, plus we only stayed the long weekend and had carry-on bags. The washroom is tiny but manageable but when you're in the city that never sleeps, comfort is key. We slept very well in their Queen size bed. The location was great for us to visit EATALY and close by subway access. I like the location since it's away from hustle and bustle, quieter neighbourhood. We prefer to stay in boutique hotels for service and special amenities, turn down service and I really like the access to hot beverages - herbal tea (an assortment herbal and non) and coffee offered 24 hours. Makes life easier so you're not rushing finding something and can hit the ground touring. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxeTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear LuxeTraveller88:

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am very happy to hear we were able to accommodate an early check in for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent a night at the hotel this past weekend. superb staff greeted us taking our car and getting us in to our room-- Room was as requested with king bed and with a view of the street. It was a bit larger than the room we had the last time we stayed. Staff very helpful and attentive. the hotel has a bar and a restaurant which we did not go to although both seemed to be busy. Only stayed one night and location is perfect -- on a quieter street between Madison and 5th-- easy walking all over town parking is at the usual NY prices-- coffee and tea in the lobby and a small but nice sitting area with newspapers and tv--the room was typical for a small hotel in the city ( that's my gripe although I know others like it this way) I like to spread out which doesn't happen in places like this--knew it ahead of time so no surprise..bed very comfortable bathroom was huge and shower was great. nice amenities as well in the bathroom.. only other down side might be the fact that the heat system was a bit noisy but not too intrusive. clean neat and impressive

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a larger room there appear to be two sizes and always ask for the larger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JW214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Living In Bermuda
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A lovely, small, boutique hotel in convenient location to get to theatre or Soho, etc. Very nicely furnished/appointed. Competent, friendly staff. Tho' the deluxe king was a tad small (altho' not necessarily by NYC standards), given the price we paid @$650 incl. tax for 3 nights, I have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank smusicant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were glad to have selected this boutique property located in the Flatiron District. Situated on the quiet side sheet off Fifth Avenue, this place was a great find. Even though Hotel Chandler is located in a 1905 Beaux Arts building, their amenities were contemporary that included complimentary hi-speed Wi Fi access and coffee and tea service in the lobby. A recent renovation to all floors transported this historic building into the 21st century.

Personalized service is HC's specialty from the moment you arrive. Kate Martin, HC's General Manager, should be proud of her entire team....they all speak the same language in guest hospitality. (A special reach out goes to Charlie Loor, their Chief Concierge who made our birthday weekend special).

Timeless comfort and style await you here. Yup, this place is a secret gem.

PS Go online for the best hotel package offerings (hotel chandler.com)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Adventure Diva:

What a wonderful review and compliment to my entire team! We strive to go above and beyond and we strive to exceed our guests expectations. Exemplary service is the key to our success and I am thrilled to know that we achieved this!

My sincerest appreciation for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Fantastic staff, very comfortable and charming boutique hotel with great dining and a knowledgeable mixologist manning the bar. Small but good fitness room. Weaknesses: noisy air conditioning and no sauna. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thorsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Beautiful building with amazing decor. The room was comfortable and cozy offering enough room for us. The staff was welcoming and knowledgeable about the local restaurants and best places to get what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing