We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #149 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First off let me say the rooms are on the small side, that said the location is spot on ESB on the door step every thing in walking distance .Subway two streets away,plenty of eating and drinking options close by. The staff here really helpful and happy to assist in anything nothing seemed to much, rooms clean bed comfortable what more can one ask for.To all the staff at the Chandler thanks for making our stay just that bit more !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flannersWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear lannersWatford:

It should be us thanking you for staying with us! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay I will make sure to pass along your appreciation to the staff.

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

everything was good.
for all i needed was a confortable room to get some rest over a working weekend. assistants were ready to help and room was silent, clean and sufficed my expectations. i hope i can come back some day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mauricio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great neighborhood. Excellent facility. quiet room, comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent bath, hot water, towels, robe, amenities and work out facility. Recently remodeled with newer fixtures and tiling. Very restful after a long day/night out in NYC. I will definitely book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a great hotel in a great location! Nice ambiance, great service, nice rooms. I didn't care for the pillows, but everything else was really nice. There are a lot of great breakfast places in the block right around the corner on Madison. There is also a lot of shopping in the area and a lot of good restaurant choices. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My second stay at Hotel Chandler was again fantastic. Comfortable room, convenient location, professional and efficient staff... This hotel is an excellent value! Will definitely stay at Hotel Chandler again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Picked this hotel for its good Manhattan location close to subways, attractions and excellent variety of reasonably-priced neighborhood restaurants. Hotel was clean and had friendly staff. We were given a "free" double-upgrade Queen room in a new wing but our room was not spacious and it was poorly planned. When resting in bed, we had to look sideways to watch the wall mounted TV - they could have reversed the cabinet layout to eliminate this. Glass shower stall door was falling off its hinges. Room doors make loud slamming noise. The hotel restaurant prices high - did not use. We felt the hotel was relatively costly but chose it for location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Daniel B:

Thank you for your recent feedback and review. We appreciate your loyalty to Hotel Chandler and have made the appropriate notes in your profile for future stays. The shower door has been fixed, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We have several different room configurations and in the particular room you stayed in only have 3 rooms that are designed in that manner. We appreciate all the feedback as this helps us identify problems and allows us to make the necessary changes to rectify them.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I loved this quaint centrally located Hotel. The Staff were very helpful and efficient. There to assist with my every need. The room was sufficient and comfortable. I look forward to staying at Hotel Chandker again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ilona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#147 of 470 in New York City
3,002 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
614 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 470 in New York City
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 470 in New York City
3,840 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#252 of 470 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £135 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing