We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham
1 review
“City break”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Fantastic hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great location. The most comfortable beds I have experienced. Would highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel organised a car to meet us at the airport - great service, very reasonable price and the driver was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,856
    1,060
    282
    106
    56
See reviews for
605
1,391
222
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was very quiet and elegant. Rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Beds were very comfortable. Service was always friendly and very knowledgeable!! We will be back for sure next time we are in NY!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a brilliant few days here last week. The rooms aren't huge but you'll never get that in NY if you're on a budget. We had a room with two double beds and there was still enough room for our suitcases and shopping! Very conveniently located; virtually on 5th Avenue. The staff were all excellent and so helpful. Good bar (shuts early on a Sunday though), great deli right across the road and plenty of excellent restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The room had an iron and ironing hoard, hair dryer and all necessary toiletries provided, a safe, fridge and umbrellas also in the room. We loved our stay here and would without any doubt, go back. Great value for money, I highly recommend it. My only bugbear - very minor - is that you can't turn on the shower without getting wet (tap on the back wall), but that's just a minor quibble and hasn't put me off!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The chandler is a great central place to stay while in new York..20 steps away from 5 th avenue..mid town so easy access to lots of places..
Rooms lovley..the best bed i have ever slept in...bath is very wide and deep, pleanty of wardrobe space. There maybe no coffee facilities in the rooms, but 24 hrs a day there is fresh strong coffee in reception..has different teas also..and yes they may be plastic beakers, but large and can refill as many times as want during your stay, also has 3 sitting areas, one is beautiful, laid out like a living room with TV ,sofas, arm chairs, coffee tables and daily newspapers..
Staff very attentive and pleasent.nothing to much bother..Hotel also has reasturant, gym and bar but we did not use.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and is done out in a lovely boutique comfortable manner...we very much would use this hotel if going to NY again...

Room Tip: We stayed in 331 and 831...party of 4 women..room has large separate beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainebrettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel Chandler is a really good find - it is well located being close to all central sights and places to visit. The staff are friendly. The rooms are on a smaller side, but cosy. We have had some plumbing issues, which the front desk manager helped us to resolve. It would have been nice to be able to have breakfast included into the cost, as $25 a person is a bit much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfleet
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel I situated ideally to walk to the major central spots with easy subway links in walking distance as well.
The room and facilities were luxurious and all of the staff I dealt with were welcoming, proactive and most helpful.
Now I would not stay anywhere else in Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike_Lichten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mike_Lichten:

I am so happy to hear that we will be your first choice when visiting NYC!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Wonderful staff from top to bottom - greeting, assisting with luggage, obtaining a taxi, everything! Comfortable room; larger than most NY hotel rooms; attractive; Empire State Building; Crumbs; Brendan's; all close by - great location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 467 in New York City
2,670 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#39 of 467 in New York City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing