We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a repeat visit to the Hotel Chandler, post renovations. The new lobby is attractive and the coffee bar a welcome spot. Juni Restaurant is very good, tad pricey for breakfast, but serves delicious pancakes!! Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and professional. No complaints when we requested a taxi in the pouring rain -- door man headed out to Madison to hail one!! We stayed in a Chandler suite, found it roomy, well appointed and quiet. The living room was over the street, bedroom to the back; higher up floors are immune to most street sounds. Two quirks, there was a large blueberry stain on what appeared to be a freshly laundered bath robe and once you have turned on the shower, it is difficult to adjust the water temperature from outside the tub area. You have to reach around the fixed glass partition. When I mentioned we were celebrating a special event, complimentary chocolates were sent to our room!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    1,047
    277
    103
    54
See reviews for
588
1,374
219
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location, nice lobby, clean well designed small room, small gym but met my needs. Wonderful staff. Very comfortable bed. Coffee/tea in lobby all day - nice. Easy access to a couple subway stops. Excellent restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoePuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We asked the staff if street parking was okay & staff went outside to check street signs and assured us it was fine all weekend but discovered they towed our car the next morning! Staff took no responsibility but simply informed us it was towed and they didn't know why but did not go out of their way to do something about it. Defintely a bummer on the trip, as long as you dont have a car, hotel is perfect location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JenVaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear JenVaz:

I am very sorry that your car was towed while staying with us. We do not recommend for any guest to park on the street and ultimately can not take responsibility for you being parked in a location that was marked no parking. We do offer valet parking 24hrs a day for guests and take full responsibility for your car once it has been handed over to us. I am however upset that you felt that the staff were not helpful or concerned regarding the incident. I will be addressing your concerns with the staff that were working.
I appreciate your feedback,
Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been traveling for 30 years and have never experienced the level of customer service we experienced at the Hotel Chandler. They are genuine and sincere in their approach. Everyone was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebbieB3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

An Excellent location and truly four star service and facilities. Aboutique hotel with discreet and efficient staff. We will use this hotel again and are happy to recommend it to discerning travellers.




  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Paulinecurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Hotel Chandler for three nights this past weekend. I do not have enough wonderful things to say about the experience! It was our first time to New York City so we didn't know our way around at all. The Hotel Chandler was in the best location! Just a few blocks south of the Empire State Building, and a few blocks north of the Flatiron building. Best location. It was an easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, Broadway etc. or accessible to all sorts of transit options if walking isn't your cup of tea! :)

The staff at the hotel were wonderful. They made sure we had everything we needed once we got up to our room, helped us with dinner reservations, and called cabs for us on rainy nights. Everyone was kind and welcoming! They also upgraded us to a deluxe room upon check-in because it was our anniversary! You could hear traffic sounds etc. from the room - but it's New York City - you're going to hear traffic wherever you are!

Our room was perfect. We had a queen bed (very comfortable!), and an adorable bathroom with a rain shower and two white robes. The room was clean and the perfect size for two people. The hotel wifi system was also great.

I literally do not have one negative thing to say about this hotel. My fiance and I loved it - and would recommend it to anyone and everyone! Next time we visit NYC - we'll stay here again for sure!!!

Room Tip: As it is a boutique hotel, the rooms tend to run on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAYNASM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Not sure how much it cost, because daughter gave us the reservations for a present. Great place. Lots of staff waiting to help. Got a call after checking in and going to the room to make sure we were happy. We were. Very clean. Looks newly renovated. Rooms not big but not too small either. Turn down service. What's not to like. Location is good too. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,494 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#35 of 468 in New York City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,200 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing