We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #131 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the room”
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Booked here at short notice because the price was right (for NYC). Very impressed with the quality of the room - which was a mini-suite.

Will stay there next time.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,828
    1,047
    277
    103
    54
See reviews for
588
1,375
219
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

My teenage daughter & I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August, and it was great! This was my fifth trip to NYC, and Hotel Chandler is my favourite hotel so far (previously stayed at Hotel Edison, Vincci Avalon, Eastgate Tower, and Park South Hotel).

We had a queen room and, although it was smaller than some of my previous hotels, it was very well equipped, very clean and comfortable. There was a good sized wardrobe/drawers, a foldaway iron/board, desk/chair, table/chair, large flatscreen tv, ipod dock/radio/clock. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was average in size but spotlessly clean and stocked with wonderful Aveda toiletries. As I'm a light sleeper, I had requested a quiet room i.e. not overlooking the street, and we were given one overlooking a courtyard. It wasn't a pretty sight, but at least I wasn't going to be disturbed by tooting horns, sirens etc.

The reception staff and doormen were all extremely pleasant (have found some a bit scary at previous hotels!). There was free use of pc in the library and best of all imo (I'm a tea addict), complimentary tea/coffee 24hrs a day. Plus a complimentary glass of wine in the bar Mon-Thurs between 7pm-8pm.

The location is fantastic, close to Macy's, ESB, restaurants and various subway lines which take you all over the city.

There was nothing I didn't like about my stay (apart from some noisy neighbours in the corridor at night but that's not the hotel's fault), and I would definitely recommend a stay there. I also managed to get a really good discounted rate by booking through Quikbook approx 2 months in advance.

All in all, a very relaxing atmosphere and highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location, staff and comfort of room
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank foss4London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Hotel Chandler was my base for a couple of nights stay in New York for site seeing. Overall the stay was excellent, the staff where very good and facilities excellent.

My room was a king room which had a large 6 foot bed, flat screen TV and nice big bathroom. The room was no large however considering this was a New York hotel was still a good size. The room quality was very high standard and I felt very comfortable in the room.

The location of the hotel was very good for site seeing, a short walk to the empire state building and a 20 minute or so walk to time square.

The staff at the hotel where very helpful and more than happy to help me plan my trips around New York.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — Great quailty, great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I selected this hotel after reading reviews from other customers.
I was not disappointed as hotel and the service from the hotel staff was very excellent
There is a local diner called Tasty's which is round the corenr from the hotel and there is an excellent Thai restuarant opposite the hotel called Thai George. The only critising would be updating the bathroom in the room.
The free tea and coffee was very handy in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon and would totally recommend it.

Plus points
- the rooms are excellent and fairly spacious (in new york terms!). Our room was in amazing condition (plasma tv, ipod dock and speakers, everything spotless and new, etc...). The shower was massive but at the expense of the rest of the bathroom which was a bit cramped but that didn't matter at all;
- the staff are really helpful and friendly. Our flight out of JFK was at 530am and they were great at checking us out and organising a taxi, even at that time;
- its in a great location and is really central;
- the bar next door to it is good too.

Negatives - none!

  • Liked — The room and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CLB131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Stayed at the Hotel Chandler for 5 nights - 21-26 May 2008. No problems with check in even though it was 4 am! Room very clean, quite small, but big wardrobe and big bathroom (with beautiful Aveda toiletries!). Bed very comfortable. Location was fantastic - in a quieter area (which we wanted, not the hustle & bustle like Times Square!), but close to lots of attractions.
Staff very pleasant. Doormen gave us some tips on places to eat and a cool Irish Bar. The use of the computer & internet in the lounge was great, and I had a cup of tea most nights from the lounge, which was complimentary.
Loved New York and would definitely stay at Hotel Chandler again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melbourne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Our company pushes this hotel since it is a very reasonably priced Manhattan hotel and to my surprise it is terrific. The hotel has nearly brand new appointments with flat panel tv's, king sized beds, alarm clocks with iPod connection, etc. Staff are nice enough, especially by NYC standards.
It's not located in Times Square but what you sacrifice in location you'll appreciate in your wallet. I've stayed at other properities in NYC (Grand Hyatt, Doubletree on Lexington) and the rooms here are just as nice and you don't feel like you were taken to the cleaners in the process.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Small elevators
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarterD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#125 of 468 in New York City
1,554 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,502 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#37 of 468 in New York City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
2,203 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#158 of 468 in New York City
891 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing