We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay in NY”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Enjoyable Stay in NY”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Hotel Chandler. The staff was friendly and helpful. I found the bed to be very comfortable. The location was convenient to both main subway lines. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LisaSteveLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,807
    1,037
    271
    100
    51
See reviews for
577
1,361
215
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our small but perfectly formed room had all the comforts we required, including a deliciously comfortable bed. The chocolates provided each night were a real bonus. The hotel is well situated, close to ESB and the Flatiron. We were able to walk to most of the places on our must-see list and found the staff helpful and friendly when advice was required. Recommended for a first visit- and one to keep in mind for return stays, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sareoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear sareoz:

Thank you for your recent review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider coming back for a return visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almacil
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Did not get what I paid for when making the reservation. In stead of a room with a city view and kingsize bed I got one with a view on the fire escape a Queen size bed , one chair, a small table and no space to store ones suitcases.
The room was deprived of sufficient daylight and too small to deserve the description given in the comfirmation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Jan C:

I am so disheartened to see your review. I have spoken to the front office manager to understand what went wrong and how you felt so disappointed in your accommodations. She relayed that you had two rooms booked and one was upgraded as per your SLH status but the premium room which you were in we were not able to on that first night. I also believe that the next day you did move to a suite which better suited your needs. I did see noted on your reservation the request for a king bed and I am sorry we were not able to accommodate this request upon check in. We have premium rooms with either a queen or king bed but do not guarantee the bed type as we only have 9 of these rooms in inventory. I also see that on SLH.com there is no image of the room and a very limited description of the premium room type and for that I accept full responsibility. I understand that once we were able to move you were happy with your accommodations and I am very sorry that your trip started off the way it did.

Thank you for taking the time to bring to light your situation so that we can make the necessary changes to avoid other guests experiencing the same disappointment.

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnectady
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel was great. Front desk was so nice, out bellman Cristian was amazing, nice, polite, showed us our room, brought up luggage and answered all of our questions. Thanks again for a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in good location in midtown Manhattan. Close to Empire State bldg. Clean, excellent service. Nice little touches such as turn down service and blinds drawn after a long day of sightseeing make this hotel a great pick for the money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Buddman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Buddman69:

Thank you for your recent review! I am happy you appreciated the details such turn down! We trust you had a safe trip home and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel was conveniently located for us as we were close to the Park, Empire State Bldg. and downtown generally. We visited Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island, ate wonderful food, walked, enjoyed, shopped, ate!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great stay and great location, perfectly in the middle of Manhattan close to the best place to see. Friendly hotel. Continental breakfast was very nice and the quality very high. Room was large enough. Short in bathroom space.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vittorioarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear vittorioarena:

Thank you for your recent review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience Juni for breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing