We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel - Excellent Peopl!”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel - Excellent Peopl!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was easy to find, and very nicely appointed. We stayed in an 8th floor corner suite for 2 days. The décor was great, the room was clean and spacious. All of the staff were immensely friendly and helpful for the length of our stay. Cabs, reservations, finding local services... etc. Everyone was top notch. Seemed to always have a wait for the elevator, but it wasn't a big deal.

Only gripes were in the bathroom The towel bar came off the wall the first time I went for a towel, and rather than repair it, the maids just propped it back together, so I was very delicate with it the next morning. A hairdryer holster in the wall would be nice, as well as some kind of shelf in the washroom. It was well lit, clean, and the supplied bath products were great , but there was nowhere for my wife to set anything down as she tried to get ready.

I would definitely return to Hotel Chandler for another stay.

Room Tip: The executive suite is plenty of room for two. You get some natural light on the higher floors. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,842
    1,053
    279
    106
    55
See reviews for
595
1,380
219
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall: good - perfect , good room, good beds, enough space in roomstaff, all perfect, clean, friendly, enough staff, efficient manager and front desk, breakfast too expensive, why not a breakfast - buffet?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wolf453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

8am this morning and concrete saws and jackhammers going at it in the street (a Saturday). Management delivered a letter stating to expect the same tomorrow, on SUNDAY. On Friday morning not much better.There is a new building going up across teh street so this will probably be a consideration for this hotel for many months to come. If you want to sleep past 6am ask for a room which is not on 31st Street.

Otherwise the Premium Room we have is a good value for NYC and staff have been reasonably attentive. However, we were declined breakfast for two this morning although we had paid for it in our room rate and only after going back to our room and preparing to go out did the manager at the front desk look this up and find they were in error.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamisteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Miamisteve1:

My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the weekend. Unfortunately the Department of Transportation only allow street closures and work done in the streets on the weekends. In order for work to be completed across the street they required a street closure hence why it occurred on the weekend. Unfortunately we were not notified ahead of time and on Saturday as you noted we did send a letter up to the rooms in the evening apologizing and also notifying about Sunday. I wish you had contacted us and we could have relocated your room away from the street.

I also understand that the confusion with breakfast was over the number of people eating and not necessarily if you were entitled to the complimentary breakfast. I am happy that we were able to resolve it and that you were able to enjoy breakfast on Sunday morning. We are addressing the issue with the restaurant manager as it was clear that two people were entitled to it.

Thank you for the feedback and I appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your concerns.

We hope we have an opportunity to serve you in the future,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was everything we expected. Very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint was the very slow elevators, which was made worse because we were on the 12th floor. So just bring a snack or something to read while you wait and it'll be fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at the chandler hotel. The staff was excellent, the rooms were comfortable and the location was perfect. The only thing i missed was a view, but the rest makes up for it by far. You could easily walk up to central park for a nice breakfast or lunch, or you coul stroll down to SoHo (or take the sub) for some shopping. I also recommend the 11th madison park resturant, which is 10 minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonaskp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jonaskp:

Thank you so much for your review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope next time you will try our restaurant Juni which is as good if not better than 11 Madison park! Our executive Chef Shaun Hergatt was awarded two Michelin stars at his last restaurant and we are anxiously awaiting this years ratings in the fall.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend at the Chandler. Location is great, close to Empire State, Flatiron, Madison Square Park. Subway is also close. Building is beautiful, rooms are cozy but clean and well equipped. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Enjoyable stay. Excellent cleanliness and prompt services at reasonably priced rates for the great location.
One problem was the loud noise late into the night on 31st. Hope that was not a constant scene.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tzu Fann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Tzu Fann S:

Thank you so much for your recent review and survey comments. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise and we have noted your profile to make sure on a future visit we would give you a room facing the back or side courtyard. This will ensure you are not disturbed by any street noise.

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
2,589 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
1,567 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,246 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 467 in New York City
915 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing