We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #134 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel staff very nice and friendly, good sized bedroom and bathroom for NYC and overall good value for money. Would definitely return for business or leisure trips. Small things made a big difference e.g. complimentary coffee to go available in reception which was great when in a hurry first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Alan M,

Thank you for recent review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the 24-hour fresh coffee and tea in the lobby. We think our details are what make each stay an experience to remember. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,789 - 1,795 of 3,463 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very good, quiet and well located hotel. Friendly, efficient staff and very comfortable rooms. Good value for money. Shame that there was wasn't a buffet for breakfast - limited choice. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip to NYC and loved this hotel. The location was perfect - just around the corner from the Empire State Building. Rooms were a bit small but with NYC it was expected(if I was traveling with family - we'd probably need 2 rooms). The service was great. I arrived early and they did not have a room ready. The front desk said they would call when a room was ready - which they did. Overall - this was a great place to stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedfordSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear BedfordSoccerMom,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, we are very lucky to be located in the heart of Manhattan. We pride ourselves on great customer service therefore it is nice to hear that the Front Desk agents were able to get you in to your room early .We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fell short of my expectations. Don't waste your money staying here. Small uncomfortable room and staff that doesn't accommodate simple needs of the guests. Stay elsewhere for this kind of money. Doormen and morning housekeeper on 4th were fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Gina G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I am therefore disappointed to hear that your needs were not fully satisfied. After further review of your stay with us I did see that you reported an issue with your AC Unit and that therefore the engineers did monitor the unit to ensure it was working properly. If there were any issues that were not brought to our attention I would be more than happy to discuss them further. Please feel free to contact me personally and I hope you will consider us during your next visit to New York.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ok - so my view was of a fire escape, BUT as a result I heard NONE of the city noise and got one of the best nights sleep I have ever had in NY City. The staff is extremely friendly. Nicolie at the front desk was very helpful, and the bartender always poured the perfect head on the beer. Central location makes it convenient to just about everywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Robert T,

I could not be happier to hear that you had great night’s sleep at Hotel Chandler! Our staff is always happy to hear that their service was appreciated and Nicole will be happy to hear your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is one of NYC's best kept secrets. I was not happy with the first room I was shown, and asked the hotel to change my room so I could at least have a view of the street, not an alley. The front desk manager was happy to grant my request, but as it was an upgrade, it would cost extra. I decided to pay the extra $30, but when he escorted me up to the room, clearly someone had been smoking in it, so right away, he just gave me the room at no extra cost and had housekeeping clean the room to remove the smell of smoke. Thank you to George Bartzopoulos. Great job. Only suggestion I have is to please broaden the wine list with more selections at better prices -- it is a tad steep for what is being offered. Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisanng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

From the street, it looks very simple, but once you get in it's very elegant and unique. Nice smell in the corridor and in the rooms. The room was very pretty and comfortable. Complimentary WiFi. Helpful staff. And most important, the bed was awesome!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Orly_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
586 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 469 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 469 in New York City
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,797 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#230 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £138 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing