We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ever present, never obtrusive”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
“Ever present, never obtrusive”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Illinoisans entering the city are naturally frazzled. The Hotel Chandler staff made us feel like we were at home.

The room was cozy and comfortable. Premium services were provided free.

Ample robes and towels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear J G W,

I am so happy to hear that Hotel Chandler was your home away from home during your time in New York. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to the City!

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,844
    1,055
    279
    106
    55
See reviews for
596
1,381
220
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Granted the rooms were small BUT for the quality and service you're getting, it's definitely your money's worth. I first thought the hotel was snobby since I didn't get any reply to my email prior to checking in, but all that changed as soon as we stepped in the hotel. The staff, particularly Front Desk and Concierge, made it a point to make sure that all our needs were met. Front desk was highly efficient. We had quite a lot of requests as well as items delivered to our hotel room, and didn't encounter any problems. In fact, the staff was very diligent on noting everything down and advising us on updates and deliveries. Great location near bus stops, subway, 24/7 dining places and mini marts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Madz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room bit cramped. More room space would have made it perfect value for money. Good staff. Excellent location. Felt safe. Free complimentary breakfast recommended. Would be happy to use the same hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mohana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mohana K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. I am happy you experienced breakfast at Juni and enjoyed our location in the heart of the city. I noticed you stayed in a Superior guest room. We went ahead and noted your file. If you are looking for more space we do recommend our Deluxe guest rooms as well as our Premium.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I planned a long weekend in NYC as a gift and I started hunting for good deals in boutique hotels. I came upon the Hotel Chandler and it appeared to fit the criteria: good price, good location, clean, well-appointed rooms. It was better than I expected. The staff was attentive, pleasant, knowledgeable, and very professional. Our room was the expected sized for a converted property, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was modern and the shower was WONDERFUL. There was no spa or pool, but there was a small fitness area. The location was great (W. 31st between 5th and 6th). am hooked on the Hotel Chandler.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location. Staff were helpful and friendly and "eventually" found a solution with another room, but at the end of the day, a business hotel with no wi-fi is as much use as a chocolate teapot. I couldn't recommend for business - nice place for a tourist or weekend break though.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrsMacmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear MrsMacmillan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Unfortunately there was a day this past month during which our internet did go down. We resolved the issue as quickly as possible and had our engineers and our IT team working until it was fixed. Our complimentary Wi-Fi generally works very well.

I do apologize for the inconvenience and would hope you would consider us again upon your return to New York. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel Chandler is convenient to New York Penn Station but without all the noise of the hotels near Madison Square Garden. The Hotel was perfect for my quick business trip. The rooms, like most of the hotels in NYC, were not large but were very comfortable. It had all the amenities I would want. Staff were welcoming and eager to please. The only drawback for my room was the lack of much of a view from the window.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Toxaway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great hotel, comfortable bed, great towels, super location. Friendly staff. Not at all crowded, right sized. My wife liked the linens. We did not get to try the restaurant or bar but they were handsome spaces.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Thom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 466 in New York City
2,592 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#129 of 466 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 466 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 466 in New York City
2,253 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 466 in New York City
916 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 466 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing