We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by a wonderful staff. Lobby, lounge and bar very clean. The room was wonderful and very upscale. I've done Ritz and this is hotel is extremely comparable. Near the Empire State Building. Not far from Times Square or any shopping ventures you want access to. Perfect location. No pool or Spa but that's not what I came for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEDJJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,811
    1,039
    272
    100
    51
See reviews for
577
1,365
216
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I only stayed for one night, but the hotel is extremely comfortable, the staff is extremely courteous and helpful, and the location is convenient to Penn Station. If and when I return to New York, I certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MRW162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudon
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My stay at this hotel was great. From the moment i stepped in, the staff was awesome. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location if you want to be close to the empire state building and fifth avenue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geovanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A hotel with a distinctive character. A great concierge arranged a perfect comedy show and jazz club tickets - all within a short walking distance. All staff seemed genuinely friendly. Loved the bathroom with a huge window with a view. Lounge with 24 hours free tea/coffe/wifi was excellent. Rooms are tiny though, and the conditioner is very loud.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Full satisfaction with service, size and equipment of room and bathroom (for 1 person), comfort of bed, cleanliness, hotel decoration, Nice to have a Bread and Butter across the street for casual eating and buying milk, water, etc
Location: very close to 5th avenue and Empire State building.. easy to reach everywhere. Of course, not a very charming neighbourhood.
Value for money high, but very good for NYC standards
Air conditioning and noise in room are the improvable things.
Temperature of common areas too low.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here in July on a warm Sunday night and everything was so nice. This is a small hotel, very stylish. The bed was comfortable and luxurious, the room was bright with large windows, but darkening shades and blinds worked great. Just around the corner from the Empire State Building, the location is perfect for touring uptown or downtown. We visited ESB in the evening. The next morning we had a great breakfast at the Bread & Butter deli at 31st St and 5th Avenue. This is the place for a quick, delicious meal with a wide selection of food types. Next, we took a cab down to the 911 Memorial, then walked down to Battery Park for relaxing on the bench and viewing boats and the Statue of Liberty in the distance. Then walked back north past Wall Street and on to China Town, Little Italy and SoHo for a nice mixture of eclectic culture. A little weary after all of this walking we took a cab to a nice park at Madison Ave and 24th St and rested from the heat in the glorious shade and nice breeze. Then it was a short walk back to the hotel where we picked up our car for the trip home. Note: We arrived the previous day at 4:00 pm and parked our car with the hotel. We had up to 4:00 pm the next day to take our car without being charged for another day of parking.

Room Tip: Our room was a Deluxe Queen on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had one evening in the Big Apple before traveling overseas. Based on other reviews, we chose Hotel Chandler, and were not disappointed. The front desk was courteous and professional, as was the entire crew from the staff who assisted with luggage to the concierge and last but not least the bartender.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nugemolaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing