We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #137 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I love where this hotel is situated. Close to the metro stations and within reach of anything you might need. Breakfast places nearby. A pharmacy and drug store. There are eating choices on the cheaper side when you are just wanting a quick dinner. And taking a taxi from here to most areas is not ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are fortunate to be located in the heart of Manhattan making it easy to take the subway, take a cab, or walk to many different destinations! I am glad you enjoyed your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 3,465 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was clearly the most enjoyable hotel experience I have had in Manhattan. The restaurant is excellent. The staff was very courteous and warm. The only potential downside is that the rooms are small, which I do not mind and experienced frequently in NY.

Thank You!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Philipp S,

I am happy to hear that your experience at Hotel Chandler was the best you have had in Manhattan and that you enjoyed Juni restaurant. We have different categories of rooms, some that offer larger square footage. We would be more than happy to discuss the options with you upon your next booking.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hotel Chandler was very nice and we would definitely stay there again. The staff was friendly and attended to our needs which were few. The restaurant staff was very friendly and attentive as well. We purchased the inclusive breakfast package and really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience at the hotel - Room and staff was perfect - great location, i will certainly come back! We stayed in the newer room and we really like the style and decoration - I forgot my cell phone charger and i was provided one by the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gilles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Gilles S,

Thank you for leaving your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently added Premium Guest Rooms, they provide more space while keeping the style of our traditional rooms. I’m delighted to hear you received excellent service and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to the City.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent one night stay at the Chandler. Although nothing stood out as 5 star top notch in the way of accomodation or amenities, all the boxes are ticked and quality and attention to detail are obvious. Good value for money. The service however, was 5 star all the way. Friendly, helpful to the extreme and if anything, over eager! I would like to single out Walter Rabello, the night manager, who went out of his way to help me solve a problem unrelated to my stay in the hotel. He gave generously of his time and I will be returning to the Chandler thanks to him.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hedger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Hedger123,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It pleases me to hear that you received such excellent service and Walter will be honored to hear your appreciation. He, along with the rest of our staff, is a large part of what makes Hotel Chandler such a special property. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Manhattan.

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked a king size room. Had an amazing time. The street view was great. Only draw back was the 6:00 AM jackhammer across the street. Can't blame the hotel on that one.

The room was beautiful, and the bed was nice and comfortable. There was a decent sitting area, with a desk. There were 2 cordless phones in the room, but we had an issue with not being able to check messages. No problem, as the front desk allowed us to use their phone to check.

Only other "issue," and I hate calling it that, was the difficulty we had finding the hair dryer. There was one in the room, but it was in a drawer we wouldn't have thought to look in. In fact, the front desk clerk gave me 5 different drawers it could be in.

All in all, it was a WONDERFUL stay. The staff was kind and courteous. The rooms and lobby were beautiful, and the location was amazing. Literally in the shadow of the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good price, good location, very friendly staff and decent enough facilities. Room was pleasant and had a very smart bathroom but the air con was so noisy you couldn't really sleep with it on, which was a pain, and the walls of the hotel are very thin so when other people are walking in the hallway by your room you can hear them. These are minor grumbles though as overall I really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charliefromworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Charliefromworthing,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel and apologize that your stay was not as quiet as you would have liked. Thank you for letting us know about the AC issue. We are looking into the room you stayed in so that we can take care of that for future guests. Even though our hotel tends to usually be a very quiet hotel with minimal noise issues I have made a note on your profile so that during any future stays you are blocked in a more quiet area. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
587 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 469 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#135 of 469 in New York City
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,799 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#233 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £136 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing