We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New York All-Rounder”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice New York All-Rounder”
Reviewed 9 March 2009

So quite where the (few) negative comments about the Hotel Chandler come from is anyone's guessing, as this must be one of the few true hidden gems in NYC.

A superb compliment of staff, clean, tidy and well-decorated rooms, awesome location and a real attention-to-detail ethic make the Chandler a well-advised stay in New York.

We really couldn't have asked for more. Devoid of the sterile chain-tel atmosphere that blights many of it's similarly-equipped but hideouly overpriced competitors, the Chandler enjoys a true uniqueness you're going to struggle to source anywhere else in mid-town Manhattan.

A hotel that I, as a businessman, would have no problem recommending to both friends and clients alike.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristianbarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,856
    1,060
    282
    106
    56
See reviews for
605
1,391
222
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

November 08. Stayed 4 nights . Really nice hotel, rooms clean and well equipped. Staff helpful, great bar which had a recession happy hour all drinks half price. The location was fantastic short stroll to Macy's and the Empire state building. Staff advised us to use the underground to get around which we did and we felt completely safe and gave us some good recommendations of places to eat, go to Houstons it.'s not far from Bloomingdales well worth a visit. Will stay at this hotel again thankyou to those people on tripadvisor who recommended it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevemarg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I recently spent 6 wonderful days in New York and the Hotel Chandler only served to enhance the trip. From the check in staff to the bellmen and chambermaids, the service was faultless. As a former Hotel Manager I might be fussier than most, but I had no cause for complaint. The entire Hotel was spotless, the staff polite, friendly, and very helpful. Its the little things that make the difference and the Chandler goes the extra yard with things like the mints on the pillows and complimentary newspapers. One minor quibble would be the size of the bathrooms. A bit small but mine was equipped with the most powerful shower I've ever used. A Hotel well worth considering for your stay!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigPauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2009

From the moment we got there, the staff greated us cheerfully and was very helpfull. The rooms were very nice and trendy. It had everything we needed as well as great room service. One thing that i always use being a woman, is the blow dryer. Some hotels have awful ones but this one has the good ones that actually dry up your hair. Also, If you need a good night's sleep, you will get it there with those comfortable beds!

Asides from all that, you are walking distance to many restaurants, attractions and shopping.

I would definately stay there again and recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaMacancela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

4 night stay with a mid-winter special rate and nothing but praise.

Great location in terms of walking or hopping a subway. Staff were helpful and courteous. Room was small, but they tell you that, and besides, when I'm in New York I don't plan to spend long periods of time in my room.

Special rate was much better than rack rate which certainly made this more desirable

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We have just got back from a 5 day Valentine's break. I found Hotel Chandler on the web and checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived late on the Wednesday night, very tired from travelling, but it was a lovely surprise when we got there. The staff we're very friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely. The bed was the best bed I have ever had in a hotel, just like home from home. The next day we walked out of the hotel, and to the end of the road which wasn't far, and there was the Empire State Building in all it's glory! It was a great area, safe, clean and not too noisey and close to everything really. I ordered some wine and chocolate dipped strawberries for Valentine's day to be delivered in the afternoon, so when we got back it was a lovely surprise for my husband. They seemed to get everything just right, even the included breakfast was sufficient.
I would recommend this hotel over and over, and if ever we go back to New York, this will be on the top of my list!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

My girlfriend and I just stayed here for the weekend and were very pleased with everything. The location was great (able to walk to Central Park in about 20 minutes), and the price was more than reasonable. We stayed in one of the junior suites and found the space in the room to be ample. I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bathroom was a little small
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IUMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 467 in New York City
2,671 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#39 of 467 in New York City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing