We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #131 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Most Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 5 January 2006

After visiting new york in january 2005 and being shocked by another hotel's quality, i was expecting the worst from Hotel Chandler when i booked it. What a surprise, this little gem of a hotel is located excellently. It is clean and modern, with lovely well equipped bathrooms and good sized rooms by new york standards. The service is brilliant and the staff were both charming and ever ready to help. A definite must to return to, Hotel Chandler proved to be a delightful stay - even coming from someone who always finds a need to change hotel rooms like myself - this was the first time my boyfriend and i did not feel the need to change rooms and did not feel unimpressed with the service and value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,826
    1,047
    277
    103
    53
See reviews for
587
1,374
219
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2005

I got this hotel for $125 a night, and was a bit worried given a few bad ratings on this website. All I can say is that the hotel is an excellent value for $125 a night: tasteful (but small -- this is New York, after all) rooms, nice bedding, free high-speed internet, great shower, nicely-done coffee/tea area available all day. Great value, and great location: short walk to Penn Station, shorter walk to Lexington Ave subway. Would definitely recommend.

I find the few ratings of "terrible" to be baffling.

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 November 2005

Having just returned from New York I feel that I must write my opinion of the hotel as I chose it because of its great reviews - what a mistake that turned out to be.
The only great thing about the hotel is the location. The rest left a lot to be desired.

The rooms are small, the gym is even smaller and the sauna a joke with no facilities to change or shower.

The buffet in the breakfast room is a disappointment; all the plates were covered and not to be removed (!) expect when you helped yourself to the food. A very odd way of presenting a buffet - I certainly have not seen anything like it elsewhere in the world.

The room was not properly cleaned - far from it and the bin was not emptied.The glasses used for a drink on the 2nd night were still left on the shelf 3 days later just to mention one thing about the poor house keeping. Apart from that the heating did not work in one room and I moved rooms; another inconvenience...

I can accept that management leaves a letter in the room informing me that no room service is available because of Thanksgiving and that the hotel could not get hold of someone to attend to the problem with the heating because of the holiday, but I cannot accept all of the above nor can I accept rude staff.

The staff - especially the socalled manager on duty Ericka - was far from helpful. She in particular was rude!!! One by one the stars should be removed from this hotel and the rates lowered considerably.

Never again!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2005

Great location, friendly and extremely helpful staff. Great breakfast every morning to start the day. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and work colleagues. Hoping to return to NYC next year, so would definitely choose this hotel again. Doormen very helpful and friendly, especially Richard!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andrea186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 November 2005

Have just returned from a short trip to New York. It was my second visit and i chose it for the area. I stayed in The Wolcott further along the street three years ago and wanted to experience something new.
The hotel was great, and the staff helpful and friendly. Don't be frightened to ask them anything. My sister and i had a twin room.The beds were comfortable and we loved lounging in the bath robes and sipping wine. I loved the shower and aveda products.
The surrounding area is fine, yes there is some building work, but to turn the corner every morning and see the Empire State building was magical. It is a few blocks from Time square, but the joy was walking the streets and soaking up the atmosphere. We even managed not to get run over. I don't understand all the negative comments...In the end, you just want somewhere clean and friendly to sleep . Take your walking boots and enjoy.... I will be returning and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 October 2005

I was scheduled into the Chandler for a 2 week training of some new employees to take over my job with the US Postal Service. So by the very nature of the trip, my opinion would be that the whole thing "sucked". I also figured because someone with the Postal Service arranged it, it would further be a disappointment.
However, I was completely pleased with the accomodations, (I would of course have enjoyed more room) but the room was clean, neat, the bed comfortable,the tv and the shower worked and there were no unwanted "critters" running around.
My wife came in for several days and she agreed that the staff was polite, friendly and ready to serve you.
The only dislike I had was having to buy water, but that was everywhere in NY.
My policy with lodging anywhere is DSTSS (don't sweat the small stuff). The odds are your own home is not as clean as a hotel room (at least mine isn't). Most will do anything they can to help you and if you happened to have had a bad day, maybe they had one also.
Give them the benefit of the doubt..........

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 October 2005

I booked a one-night stay at the Hotel Chandler through hotels, based solely on price. After reading the reviews here, I was prepared for something below average, but was entirely pleased with our stay. The negative reviews - as are so often on this or any other travel site - are almost 100% the result of travelers not planning ahead or not informing themselves about the destination. OF COURSE your window is going to look down into an alley, it's NYC. OF COURSE a hotel isn't going to refund your money becuase you booked the wrong date and didn't show up for your stay. Further, we didn't see one single roach and we didn't smell anything unpleasant at all. Compared to some of the terrible hotels I've stayed at in the city at a higher price, this place is a gem. Decent cost, clean and pleasing interior, good location and friendly staff. I will say that if you valet a car, be sure to call down well in advance of when you need it - 30 minutes or so - apparantly they park cars quite a ways away because we waited a long time for ours. Hotel Chandler is an absolutely acceptable NYC hotel - small room, clean, lovely bathroom, and concierge and valet service that you don't get at most hotels in the same price range.
Do not be scared off by reviews from travelers who have irrational expectations.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#151 of 468 in New York City
2,492 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 468 in New York City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,197 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#158 of 468 in New York City
889 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing