We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Szechuan”

Legend Sichuan Restaurant
Ranked #5,517 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic Szechuan”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

One of my favorite places to go for Chinese food. I usually go with a friend and we always split the hot and spicy crispy prawns. Sometimes they ask if you want the shell on which we always do. No need to shell them, just eat the whole thing. Even the fried peppers are edible and delicious. This dish is fantastic. We usually order a vegetable like broccoli to go with and an appetizer like dan dan noodles. The last time we went I ordered the sour and hot sweet potato noodles which were amazing. The heat of the Szechuan peppers is a bit of an acquired taste and I'll admit to coughing a few times eating the noodles but it hurts so good! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Szechuan food in town”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My brother taught English in Chengdu China for two years. I went to visit him twice and had great food there. Legend totally reminds me of all the great food and taste I had experienced there. Their authentic Szechuan food might not be the conventional items you would see in a regular Chinese restaurant. But you should venture out to feel the mala ( numbing and spicy) flavor. And you will love it. Addiction promised.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
831 reviews
601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“As average as Chinese food can be”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Spent an evening at Legend for a business dinner. Let me start by stating that I would not go there unless I have to. The food was average quality Chinese food. The only dish I really enjoyed was sautéed mushrooms with asparagus. Otherwise not good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great great food.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is the newly opened Legend Restaurant on W 72nd St, between Amsterdam and Columbus. The food is really great. We like spicy food. The Dan Dan Noodles and Pork wontons in hotail, Lamb with Cumin, the spicy tofu dish and the quinjon chicken were excellent. Lots of chillies which add there smoky charred flavor that you have to push out of the way.

We tried the same dishes at the Legend in Chelsea. It was disappointing. The vegetable with the cumin was tough stems of fennel and there were lots of them and difficult to eat. And the lamb and fennel did not complement each other, unlike the same dish on W72nd which had green and red sweet peppers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 53sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still my favorite Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I always enjoy myself everytime when I am dining in this restaurant, it does not matter with smaller or larger group. I brought my whole volleyball team to this restaurant last week after our match. It's past 8 pm and they were still happy to offer our happy hour price drinks, the food was delicious, all my friends were very happy with my choice (I ordered for everybody and we were doing the family style). I will strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wenonly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legend Sichuan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Legend Sichuan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing