We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel is perfectly located in front of Bryant Park. The rooms are spacious, with hardwood floor (yay no carpet!), contemporary, well maintained and very comfortable. I went with my family (2 kids, 5 and 8, and my husband) and everyone enjoyed it greatly. The staff is absolutely aware of what service is all about. There isn't anything more important when away from home, than to feel welcomed and pampered. This hotel is about people being like people and treating their guests idem. Room service 24 hrs, wonderful tub (Molton Brown products), good food, honest service and smiles. So this is the type of hotel where even if you come with your kids you don't feel like you have to put up with the typical "children friendly" hotel (which translates to the worst of the worst that you can get). A hotel where you will be gracefully treated like an adult and your kids (if they come with you) will be cheerfully and respectfully treated like kids (not idiots). The manager and staff really went out of their way to be nice. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,781
    617
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
535
1,800
198
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We just returned from a weekend at the Bryant Park and we didn't want to leave! From the perfect room (which Darren and Robert were most kind to upgrade) to the fabulous bathroom, (best shower ever, great products, towels, bathrobes) to the best location, Bryant Park staff provides service par excellence. They are friendly, curteous, knowledgeable and accomodating. You have the question? They have the answer. We'll return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The only thing better than the Bryant Park Hotel's location is their superb level of service. Their moto should be, "ask and you shall receive".
From friendly & attentive people at check-in, to the concierge going out of their way to help.
When turn down service came around, they always left a note, telling us to call them back as we had the "do not disburb" sign on. We did, and voila!!!
Great clean spacious rooms, fantastic ambiance, top notch service from employees who went out of their way to help, to great location. This is our second stay with them, and we're sure to go back.
Oh, and we received a free room upgrade, to a junior suite. It was 3 nites of bliss.
BONUS. Free valet parking for Friday & Saturday nites. Need I go on???

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny_Boy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Thank you for your review and for recognizing all the little touches. I couldn't wait to share your review with our Concierge, Front Desk and Housekeeping. They all work so hard and it is nice to see their hard work pay off. I am also glad to see you took advantage of the free weekend parking, we plan on offering it for a while, at least throughout the summer. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance, thank you for staying with us. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great, great location. It is right next to Bryant Park and smack in the middle of Midtown. Check-in was effortless. Staff are pretty young things and very helpful. We had the Superior Queen. Huge room with two windows (with views of other buildings), blonde wood flooring, massive bathroom. Loved the Molten Brown products, especially the big bar of oat soap. Only gripe: Wifi wasn't free. It was $10 for the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you liked our location and that the staff was so attentive. The next time you come remember to ask us about other Molten Brown products. Some of the scents are very delicious. I hope you visit us again soon. Darren Sumner dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

There are so many positives about this hotel - wonderful location near to all major sights, beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and bathrooms and friendly staff - and the small downsides are easily managed. Need to print some documents - there is no business centre but the front desk staff can help and there is a Kenkos three doors down. Need breakfast but don't want to pay the high cost - there are multiple delis around with very affordable options. A little noise from the great cellar bar - the ambient calming music cancels that out.

We stayed for four nights And felt immediately at home. We were able to walk to most sights uptown and downtown but it was also within a $10 taxi ride. We were well rested from the comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. In short - next time we come to New York we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_in_Oxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The location is great and the hotel was spotless. The staff were helpful and
courteous. I have stayed in many New York hotels and this was one of my
best experiences. We will return at first opportunity to re-visit New York.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianahAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The location of this hotel on 40th is simply ideal, slap bang in the middle of Manhattan Island, just a stone's throw from almost everywhere you'd want to see.
The rooms are very classy. Beautifully simple decor and good facilities.
We've stayed in the US before but the level of service and fittings were so much higher than we expected, even for a hotel of this star rating.
What we liked the most was the balance of service and privacy, there to help never to intrude. Despite getting the room at a discount rate on the web, our hosts treated us with a level of courtesy, friendliness and respect that made for an amazing stay. From the doorman, to the manager, to the staff cleaning the rooms, their attitude made the difference.
We'd recommend a trip into their basement bar (which you can't hear at night by the way), again very stylish.
If we were to compare costs to rooms we've stayed in in London, Paris and San Fransisco, the prices here are very competetive and value for money cannot be questioned.

Room Tip: Higher floors at back have less air-con unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsley_S_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you so much! our employees work very hard and it is really nice to see them receive recognition, especially our housekeepers and doormen. Please let me know the next time you are planning a visit, I would like to personally thank you. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 466 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing