We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would happily return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, super clean and super cool room. Room was a bit small (like most NYC hotels) but the layout and furniture easily made up for that. We were really comfortable here. Great bathroom too. Room and furniture looked brand new. We really didn't want to check out. Location is tough to beat as well. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,558 - 2,564 of 3,699 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for only 2 nights, business/pleasure trip. The Hotel was fantastic from all points of view, location, extremely helpful staff (especially the concierge), modern light rooms, good quality Egyptian cotton bed linen, the architecture of the building, etc.. They have a bar in the cellar, where they offer complimentary drinks from 5-6pm, Champagne, cocktails, etc.....
Wi-Fi is complimentary and signal reception is very good. Didn’t sample the breakfast, but is served in their restaurant on the ground floor. I think they even have a gym.
When I go back to NY, I will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Junior Suite #1706, with fantastic views of the park and skyscrapers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This place was everything I could have wanted. I ventured into the city for my 30th birthday, since I hadn't been there in a while. I've stayed at many places, but I wanted to feel spoiled that weekend. Our room overlooked the beautiful Bryant Park. It was still pretty even though they were transitioning from the skating rink back to the green. We were just far enough away from the city street craziness, and the sound machine in the room was a total plus. The location is great. We don't mind walking anyway, but we felt so in the middle of everything, that nothing was really far. We stayed here two nights and from the get-go, Darren, he's the director I believe, was very welcoming and very helpful, letting us know about the room amenities and the guest services available to us, and I got a "happy birthday" from everyone in the lobby. I'm not sure how often they do it, but there was a happy hour for hotel guests the first night. Free drinks for the hour. Needless to say, we certainly took advantage of it. The room itself was very chic, clean, and maybe I was riding a high due to the occasion, but it was just very romantic. All of the staff was extremely kind...the doormen, the front desk, room service, turn-down service. Our privacy was respected and service was provided when requested. I even arrived back to my room after exploring the city to find a balloon, cupcakes and a card waiting for me. There were just some really nice touches that went the extra mile. My stay was absolutely everything I could have wanted it to be for a very special weekend, and it's a stay in the city that I'll remember for a really long time. I definitely want to try to get back here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Booked our stay for my 40th birthday at the Bryant Park Hotel through booking.com and got a great deal!

A lovely plate of cupcakes, a handwritten note and a balloon were in the room when we arrived. Our room on the 12th floor overlooked Bryant Park and we could see the New Year's eve "ball" from our window. The room was very clean (loved the hardwood floors), very comfy bed and our bathroom was wicked (tub bigger than our soaker tub at home and a huge shower with great water pressure and fab toiletries from Molton Brown)! Room was a bit noisy due to construction in Bryant Park but there was a noise-reducing machine that did a great job of drowning noise out (I still wore earplugs, but I'm a light sleeper).

The location couldn't have been better - Times Square, New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, Rockefeller Centre and Empire State building were all within walking distance. There is a subway station at the end of the block, and a great place for breakfast (Le Pain Quotidien) just down the block.

The front desk staff were all very helpful with directions, and the burly doormen did a great job of keeping riffraff out (you have to show your room key to them for access to the elevator). The elevators were a bit creepy - they were illuminated with a red bulb and we felt like a vampire might drop down for a feeding every time we took them, but they were fast and we never had to wait long for one.

We did not go to the restaurant, KOI. We did go for a drink late at night at the Cellar Bar and found it to be pretty uninviting; maybe the bartender was having a bad night, but he was pretty surly. There is a free happy hour between 5-6 but we didn't get a chance to check it out.

For a first time trip to New York, the Byrant Park Hotel is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1207 which had great views of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bratworst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our experience was wonderful. The staff was very attentive. The view from our room was amazing; it was a nice treat for a special occasion. Some things were "overpriced," but it is NYC! Room was very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: park view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just spent the weekend at the hotel for a girl's trip to the city. Location is great as we were going uptown to the Metropolitan museum and downtown for dinner. The staff was great. They were very professional and pleasant. I felt like we were their top priority. The room was very clean and quiet. There was very litle street noise and absolutely no noise from inside the hotel. It felt like we were the only ones there. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when traveling to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a MOD hotel but can be really pricey particularly when there's some event going on in the city. Rooms are on the small size and hardly a King bed to be had so they use mostly Queen size to give you more room. Bathrooms are very nice however they do something with the water which takes FOREVER to heat up! We even had to call the engineer to turn up the temperature and he said we just had to leave it run for 10-15 minutes! Haviong said this, the cellar bar is very interesting and as a guest you get a free coctail at Happy Hour, a nice touch.

Room Tip: An outside room gives a nice view of the park but an inside room is much, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,575 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £209 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing