We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, even better Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, even better Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent the first three nights in NYC last week at a corporate apartment complex. Moved over to the Bryant Park on Saturday for two nights. Hotel was beautiful, Suite was perfect with a view of the ice skating in Bryant Park.

Front desk Staff the best we've seen in quite a while, especially Mr. John Castillo. He took care of everything we needed for this brief, romantic stay. There should be more like him. Another shout out to Erik, one of the Concierges.

Highly recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants to see the best of NYC's hospitality.

Room Tip: Request a Park View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeltheframer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,672
    596
    119
    35
    27
See reviews for
513
1,735
185
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This trip was a total splurge for us. The Bryant Park Hotel New York was impressive as the reviews suggest. The service was simply an orchestra directed seamlessly from the time we checked-in. We were on the 17rd floor and could still hear the noise of the city so consider a high room. The restaurant, Koi, served a tasty breakfast (no wait!).

Best of the best... this is just awesome.. Stayed for 3 days, it was just spectacular, got to see the Park and Lights from my room. Staff is fantastic and helpful. Curtis thank you for all your information. You were such a huge help with my tons of information.

My favorite aspect was the free wifi/gym access, incredible hotel gym. I have stayed in luxurious properties more expensive than Bryant Park that nickled and dimed for gym access and wifi. Finally, a hotel willing to include these services. Bravo!

Only complaint would be the lack of a lobby. (The lobby is quite small considering the size of the hotel.)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilion, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were very happy with our hotel experience: room, staff, location, overall comfort and the fact that it was quiet all the time. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious and quite comfortable. We liked the minimalistic approach to decorating. We will stay at this hotel when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris47944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

What was just going to be a day trip to Manhattan turned into a great two day trip after finding a wonderful rate on this hotel. After booking I was greeted by a polite and wonderful staff. As someone who works in the customer service industry I know great customer service when I see it. There is a difference between good customer service and genuine (grade A) hospitality. My travel partner and I where greeted with true genuine hospitality by a front desk representative by the name of John. I have never seen someone who truly went a step ahead with my requests. Even a simple question like "is there an ice machine on my floor?" turned into John immediately contacting someone who took care of bringing me more then I needed right to my room! He was amazing!! I would defiantly stay again. The room was comparable to a W which I've stayed at a few of them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

First visit to Bryant Park Hotel over Thanksgiving. Alert and helpful staff, without being intrusive. Handled one minor maintenance issue with room quickly and professionally. Location on Bryant Park is great for Midtown and Broadway excursions. Being on the park brings a bit of tranquility to the hustle of the city. Great when the skating rink and holiday market are operating. Staff service is top-notch.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms facing park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMooreabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our second visit within a couple of months and still just as fabulous as ever. They keep you wanting to return. Consistent service, consistent staff, consistent wonderfulness.

I would call this a boutique hotel. It isn't the Ritz nor the Plaza, but this is exactly why we choose to stay at Bryant Park. I guess it all depends what you are looking for when away from home. I don't like stuffy and pretentious. I like the size of the Lobby. I like the contemporary décor. I like you don't have to wait an inordinate period of time for elevators or for any sort of assistance, unlike the big chain hotels. We love the bar. It is very lively and filled with a great mix of New Yorkers and guests.

If you see my other review, there are more reasons we choose Bryant Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NSCharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location. Especially when the bryant park rink and shops are open for the holidays. But the lobby is teeny tiny, so are the hallways and elevators (and not decorated at all) and the rooms are spacious but just white walls... They need color and art work. We stayed in room 1904, which was one of the few rooms with a terrace overlooking Bryant park and that was AMAZING. But I have stayed at the Plaza, Mandarin, Setai, Ritz Carlton, etc. and this ranked just under those hotels in my opinion. But the price was great for the location. And room service was SO good! I'd stay again, just don't agree with the hype that it's THE best.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing