We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel. My husband and I spent 3 nights between Christmas and New Year's day. From the moment we walked in, we felt so welcomed. The front desk staff was the nicest and most professional that I have encountered in all of my travels anywhere! We were upgraded without asking and our room was modern and had all amenities. It was a surprise to walk in and see just how big our room was, given that so many hotel rooms in New York are the size of a postage stamp. The room was immaculate. Our updated bathroom was spacious and the shower and deep tub were absolutely wonderful. Visit the Cellar Bar in the basement - great cocktails and wonderful staff there too. A huge thanks to Nicole Anglesey and Nikky at the front desk for making phone calls, offering to call the hotel doctor, and finding a cheaper alternative for me to get treated at a local drug store when I became sick on this trip. Thanks also to Sarah for the wonderful restaurant recommendations. If you like to ice skate and don't want to wait in line for hours, this hotel has the perfect location - directly across from the Bryant Park rink. I got up early one morning, walked across the street, and was on the ice in 15 minutes. The location of the hotel is perfect for anything that you'd want to do in NYC - within walking distance to Times Square, Empire State Bldg., shops on Madison Ave. etc. We loved, loved, loved this hotel and would definitely stay here on repeat trips to NYC. Thanks to all the staff (most especially Nicole) at The Bryant Park Hotel for making our trip to NYC just fabulous!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,962 - 1,968 of 3,744 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

I just spent 3 nights with a small family group at Bryant Park Hotel . . . it could not have been more pleasant, high-grade, or professional - without being stuffy or in any way pretentious. Which is to say that the staff was fantastic, the modern rooms were stylish, comfy, and immaculate . . . and the midtown location opposite the charming Bryant Park with it's winter skating rink and market stalls was ideal.

We were 4 people, 3 generations from 20 to 90, and shared one of their 'Bryant Park Suites' (sitting room and 1 bedroom, perfect for a group) and a nearby standard queen room.

Morning breakfast room service was perfect: i.e. on time, the choices good and the food delicious, and even the coffee was great and piping hot.

The rooms are understated and modern - i.e. with wood floors, no carpeting, stylish contemporary furniture, all without being cold.

Lovely bed linens, and generally ideal attention to detail throughout.

The bathrooms are drop-dead gorgeous - I even emailed the manager to find out who made the amazing faucets and plumbing fixtures as I am doing a bathroom remodel at home and would love to copy them. I had literally the best showers there in my 50+ years of travel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW_Traveler_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This small, quaint, hotel has provided exceptional service each and every stay. The staff is one of the most friendly and professional ever encountered in NYC. This is our fourth visit to this hotel during the week between Christmas and New Year's day. As repeat customers, we were surprised with an upgrade to a junior suite upon "check-in." This special touch meant volumes to us as return guests and in particular as this stay was a Christmas/Birthday present from my spouse. The location, overlooking Bryant Park is phenomenal. In addition, Times square, Grand Central and Penn Station, as well as, all of the "must see" Midtown Manhattan venues are within walking distance. Guests can enjoy a complimentary "happy hour" in the hotel's lounge/nightclub during the week and be sure to reserve a table for dinner in their "second to none" Japanese fusion. restaurant..."Koi." Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoopdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

on december 28, 2013 we went to the hotel my daughter's got this as a birthday present for me
we walked in and was greeted by Nikki the sweet person ever. Nikki was kind and caring she got our room ready as soon as she could she heard it was my birthday and upgrade us to a beautiful jr. Suite and then surprise me with 2 cupcakes and a balloon i can't wait to go back there "This is The Greatest Hotel in New York"Thank you Nikki for everything !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethrooneyrizzacasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nothing but great things to say. Staff was some if the most genuine I have ever experienced Welcomed me back by name when I came back to he hotel after a night out. Nice size rooms, Great shower pressure. Prime location. Nice music set ups in room. No art on wall but that's ok!
I can't. Wait to stay again. Chris.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel prior to Christmas for some shopping and sightseeing. For this purpose the hotel is perfectly located in between 5th Avenue and Times Square.

Service
Exceptional. It's hard finding hotels where the personell is still friendly during stressful hours. This being a "small" hotel, it seems there's more time for every guest. Something we noticed. Bed service with chocolates was a nice little touch and every wish was catered for.

Price
Not cheap, we did however order plenty in advance to get a good price though and honestly it was worth every dollar! Still - for full score here - just that little extra was missing.

Beds
AWESOME - as always in good american hotels. But these beds are clean as well and just having the right firmness.

Cleanliness
Perfect and we can be picky in this area!

Location
Great for shopping and sightseeing in the shopping district around Times Square and 5th Avenue. Not that great for airport transportation as we learned on the return trip. It's in the middle of everything and traffic in NYC can be horrible. Just make sure you plan enough time. The advised time the reception gave us was just barely enought due to a a 1h traffic jam at the Lincoln tunnel out of Manhattan.

Rooms
We had a deluxe room with park view. Probably on the small side, but a with nice a big bathroom and more than enough space for us. We did miss a place to store our clothes however - the closet was also on the small side. Our room had big windows and was almost a bit cold. We could have had an extra heater we were told, just keep that in mind if you find yourself being a bit cold. "Every wish is catered for" - (we didn't try it, but I don't doubt it)

All in all - a very pleasurable experience and I'd go here again!
Ah - there's a one hour open bar early evening Mon-Fri for Hotel Guests. We didn't have time for it, but the bar looked great and free drinks to kick of the evening can't be wrong.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the park, that side was really quiet at night for us at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel for 5 days just before Christmas – and loved it! This was our 4th visit to New York but our first stay at this hotel and we will definitely return.

We had emailed prior to our visit asking for a view of the Park, due to the Holiday Market / ice skating. We received a courteous reply and, at check in, Michael on reception had a note of it on his system. There were no park view rooms available to check in immediately but we could have a suite for an additional $50 per night. This was an amazing corner room on the 22nd floor, with a side view of the park out of one window and the top of the Empire State Building out of another. It had a separate living area and a huge bathroom.

When we checked in Michael asked if we were celebrating anything. We explained it was a trip for both of our 40th birthdays, although one was a few months ago and one in a few months time. The first night when we came back to our room we had been given a bottle of sparkling wine and a ‘Happy Birthday’ balloon. Initially I was a bit worried as I thought we hadn’t explained ourselves very well and obtained a gift under false pretences – but the card inside said ‘Happy (in-between) Birthdays’ so Michael had it just right! It was the perfect start to a perfect stay….

The bed was really comfortable, the room was kept spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff. I didn’t get many names, but the door staff were always friendly and cheerful, as were the reception staff. When we left Miguel stored our bags and then arranged for a car to take us to the station as it was pouring down.

All in all a wonderful stay – and see you next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,140 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £208 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing