We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Break Hotel & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect City Break Hotel & Location”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Bryant for 5 nights from the end of March and found the hotel to be perfect for a short city break. The staff are excellent, hotel very clean and modern and offers a great base to explore NYC with excellent subway links and a short walk from Times Square and other amenities.

The Cave bar downstairs offers free drinks for quests in the week for 1 hour 5-6pm and when its being used for events you go to the top floor with great views of Bryant Park and enjoy a range of alcoholic drinks. A great start to an evening we thought.

The only downside we found was facing the back of the hotel it was very noisy as you could hear all the generators outside all night. Whilst this wasn't a major problem for us once you were used to it, its worth noting for people who need complete silence at night!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting to NYC and would return again.

Room Tip: Room towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We really appreciate your amazing praises! Thank you for taking the time to share them with us especially regarding Housekeeping, they work so hard and it is really nice to see them get recognized. I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary drinks atop the hotel. My apologies for the sounds you heard from you room, we are actually replacing the windows with soundproof windows. I hope you come back soon; we would love to have you back! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    613
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
527
1,786
196
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at the hotel and I wasn't disappointed with my choice. It's not that cheap but for location and size of rooms, and above all excellent customer service, it's worth it! I'm surprised to read other more negative reviews as I am not easily impressed and I really can't say anything bad about my experience at the Bryant park hotel. Yes it can be noisy from the street but NYC is noisy! If you want a quiet and peaceful experience suggest another type of vacation is more suitable. And as for staff helpfulness, it's second to none providing of course you also play your part in respecting their room availability and cancellation policies - common sense really. Still highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jaybay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
What a great review! Thank you so much for your loyalty and for understanding what we are all about. Your candid comments are very much appreciated, I am sure I can speak on behalf of all NYC hotels, NYC offers a lot of energy and excitement and with that comes noise. We can’t wait to welcome you back, please let me know if I can ever be of assistance. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at the BPH for two nights last week on business. I was in a Junior Suite on the 5th floor with a fabulous view over the park. The room was quiet and spacious. My bathroom was very well appointed with bath, a luxurious walk-in shower and very well stocked with great robe, Moulton Brown amenities.

As a business traveller the desk served perfectly for work and the free WiFi is a blessing... hate hotels that stiff on that.

The event that we held in the basement bar was perfect. It all happened so smoothly on an organisational level and the staff were attentive and perfectly mannered to the guests whom we hosted there. The great fresh food was remarked on by all.

Thank you to the whole team for a great mid-town NYC experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWorldClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
So glad that your event was a success and that enjoyed the amenities and the staff. I couldn’t wait to share your review with everyone here at the Bryant Park Hotel. We would love to have you back, so come back soon! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was just staying at the Bryant Park Hotel on a business trip and was so pleased with everything! The staff are fantastic, the beds are so comfortable and for being right in the middle of Manhattan it was oddly quiet. I live in a wilderness setting away from any kind of hustle and bustle and loved that they had nature sounds in the room already going at turn down! I also loved the amenities in the bathroom. Great Molton Brown products.
The location is perfect for anything you want to do in Manhattan!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelForever1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
5 Stars! We are very grateful for your generosity! We really appreciate your mentioning that although we are in the middle of Manhattan we are more on the quiet side, but isn’t it nice to know that just a few blocks away is Times Square. Having the park across from us definitely helps make the neighborhood feel more tranquil. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I and 2 friends had the wonderful experience of staying for a weekend at the Bryant Park in mid March.The hotel is located in a perfect location with Bryant Park being right across the street for a morning cup of coffee,being close to Times Square to see a play, just a short ride to Central Park,, one half block to the NY Public Library and of course wonderful shopping in every direction! The staff were courteous, professional and attentive.The room was good sized and comfortable. I can't wait until we can go again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for giving us a 5 and for your thoughtful praises regarding the staff! I am also very happy to hear that you and your friends had a great stay and enjoyed the neighborhood. We would love to have you back. If I can ever be of assistance please call upon me. Enjoy! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Bryant Park Hotel. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very spacious. Great amenities in the bathroom, Molton Brown! Overall it has a great boutique hotel feel right in the centre of the city. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simo79CC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
5 stars! That puts huge smiles on our faces. I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay and will recommend us. I hope you come back soon.
dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We recently spent four nights at the Bryant Park hotel staying in a suite overlooking Bryant Park.

Pros;
The room was spacious, clean & very well maintained.
The staff, without exception, were brilliant - always ready to help & assist with a smile.
The location couldn't have been better for us. Immediately adjacent Bryant Park & The Library, and within walking distance to all the things we wanted to see.
The noise from the street was not intrusive - very different to some of the New York hotels we've stayed in previously.
Very professional security to check that only keyholders were allowed access to rooms.

Cons;
The hotel is set up for much younger people than us. The music in the lobby was loud & intrusive (fortunately only in the evenings ) which extended into the lifts at the same volume.
There was no seating area in the lobby where I could sit & read a newspaper whilst waiting for my wife to get ready!
Very dark corridors.

Overall a first class hotel, but unfortunately the emphasis on the younger set would preclude us from returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review on us, I am so glad that you felt safe and that our staff took such great care of you. We consider ourselves an adult hotel and your honest feedback is greatly appreciated. You gave the readers some great advice and may have even helped them make their choice of stay a bit easier. Thank you again! Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing