We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect - couldn't have asked for more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect - couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Between the excellent service (friendly staff, very accommodating), the great location (Bryant Park itself - perfect - plus great casual restaurants nearby for breakfast & lunch), and the really nice room (clean, airy, comfortable, with a spacious bathroom), this hotel was perfect for our stay. The staff were kind, competent, helpful, fun people. The hallways & elevators are hilariously dark, but the room itself was well-lit and lovely. Did I mention the spacious bathroom? And since the weather was sunny & warm, we spent several hours in Bryant Park just soaking up the city. We were in Manhattan to see a Broadway show and the hotel (and the park!) were like a haven from the madness of Times Square. Couldn't have asked for a better place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,667
    593
    119
    35
    27
See reviews for
512
1,730
185
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on a Friday and it was all around a great experience - enjoyed the free valet and cocktail hour very much (makes up what you would pay at a cheaper hotel, plus an ideal location ). The staff was uber friendly (Louis was great), and the room was very clean, modern decor, comfy bed and spacious! Awesome shower, quiet setting (and we were near the elevator) and loved the little perks like the chocolate, slippers and robes! We even cut it pretty close on the 24hrs free valet time and did not get charged extra (very glad about that since it was probably a matter of minutes!) No complaints - The staff did make you feel like a valued guest, also a very helpful concierge !! Definitely worth the price and would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank angtur31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A hotel that is centrally located in the heart of NYC offering the NYC Public Library, a beautiful park like setting and outstanding restaurants is a dream come true. From getting around to attend meeting, take in Theatre and house one of the loveliest and well balanced gourmet class restaurants in NYC all exceptionally prices and accessible is outstanding

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel could not have a better location in midtown. Bryant Park is a lovely jewel in the middle of NYC. The public library is close and you are minutes away from Times Square.

I checked in and fell in love with the open, spacious and light filled King Suite which is extremely large for hotels rooms in the city. The room has a dining, living and bedroom areas and is on the corner of the building and ringed with windows. Clean and modern furnishings coupled with a gorgeous view and stupendously luxuriously large and beautiful bath made for a definite "wow" factor. We had room service the following morning which was delicious and delivered promptly at the time we asked and the front desk staff and concierge could not have been more welcoming in a discreet and supportive way.

The bed was turned down and shades drawn each night when I returned to the room each night and the room tidied up which made me welcome the return. My room had a "white noise" device which was also turned on each night and not needed. I will definitely stay here again when I travel to NYC.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you want to avoid the street noise and ask for the King Suite to get a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BStreetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Where do i start. We stayed at the hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary, for 7 days.
It was our first trip to New York, and coincided with Fleet Week and the Memorial Day weekend.
The trip took some time to arrange but i received loads of help from the Hotel.. Big shout out to Sarah who came up with lots of advice and helped arrange restaurant bookings , taxis, and limo services.
The Hotel gave us a great upgrade to the Hood Suite on the 23rd floor
, with a magnificent view of the Empire State Building…perfect start and end to each day.
The room is great, sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and shower were amazing. As part of the deal we had continental breakfast in the room. Super croissants, toast, fruits, juices and coffee.
Pretty cool sitting on the balcony watching the ESB or looking down on Bryant Park and eating breakfast.
The basement bar is really something to try…some people have commented that its too dark or policed by very big bouncers. Just give it a go, enjoy the music and people watch.
All the hotel team are courteous , and always happy to help, including the bouncers.

Its not cheap, in my view you get what you pay for. At the Bryant you get a superb experience, fabulous team, great food, and great location worth every penny..or should i say dollar.
And no, i haven't been paid to write this.
Location is great, i love the park itself, so much going on , but remains an oasis of clam.
Easy to get other parts of Manhatten.
Bottom line, save your pennies and go and stay.

Big thanks again to the Bryant Park Hotel team who made our anniversary something very special.

Room Tip: Only two rooms on the 23rd floor, if you have the cash go for it. All suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoryandGrainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. Stayed on 17th floor so noise was minimal. Summer Solstice was being celebrated Saturday when we were there so music was going all day long. We woke up to the music of a symphony orchestra playing in the park across the street. How wonderful! Get a park view room. You forget you are just a block away from the madness of Times Square.

Bar downstairs attracted nice clientele after works. At night it was really lively. Thursday night is dedicated to gays, FYI.

Location. The weather was beautiful so we walked everywhere. Central Park. The Met. MoMA. Fifth Avenue Shopping. Nice place to sit in the park for a drink and food. Great oasis right at the doorstep.

Super friendly and helpful staff and concierge service.

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Park View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank osbornat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Service was very friendly, prompt, and helpful at all levels. The room was a decent size by NY standards, but the bathroom was spacious and accommodated two persons nicely. Great "niche" hotel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0sb0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
So glad you had a great stay and thank you for giving us a 5! We want nothing more than to hear that you were so happy that you will return again. I am so fortunate to have a wonderful staff that truly cares about our guests. We can’t wait to welcome you back. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,707 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. Get a glimpse into the Cellar Bar, home to a number of fashion week parties and well known celebrity haunt. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet and Open Bar for all hotel guests, Mon - Fri from 5 -6pm. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing