We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently went to New York for the first time while the kids were at camp. We wanted a hotel that was very central and close to everything and we wanted something affordable. The Bryant Park hotel was spectacular. It is across from a beautiful park which has movies, amateur plays, music and other activities happening all the time. It also has a great restaurant. The hotel is very close to Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue and you an access buses and subways right out the front door. The rooms are small but very modern , clean and very comfortable. They have a club in the basement which can be a good place to go for a drink. They have happy hour for guests for an hour Monday to Friday for free. The service at the hotel was excellent. Nikki and Sarah gave us a lot of great information about New York , where to eat and things to do. Everybody always says good morning and was very accommodating. It is a medium size hotel downtown New York that feels like you are at small town family ran business. I would definitely stay there again when I go back to New York.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank chantalnewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

How exciting, your first trip to NY and you chose us! Thank you so much and I am so happy to hear that you left NY with such a great impression. You made us feel like we really had a part in helping create some wonderful memories for you. Your praises regarding Nikki and Sarah are amazing, we are so fortunate to have them both working with us and they will be so thrilled to see their names mentioned. I hope you come back soon. Darren dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 3,824 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary at the BPH and we loved it there. It was great and the BPH is now our vacation spot and get away for at lest once every year. The service at the BPH was unbeatable and Stephen at the front door, was the best of all.

Thanks
Dan and Liz Mahoney

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Bryant Park, it will have minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We greatly appreciate your 5 star rating and for all of your compliments. I couldn’t wait to show Stephen your review; it put a huge smile on his face. I am so glad to hear that we are now your home away from home. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to welcoming you both back. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We traveled to NYC in July, 2014 for our 20th anniversary and loved every minute. The happy hour downstairs and the evening turndown service were standouts for us. The Bryant Park area is wonderful and walkable to all of midtown and the park. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Happy 20th Anniversary and thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay especially the Cellar Bar and the Turn Down Service. Our Housekeeping Department and Bar staff work so hard and it is means a lot to them to be recognized. We can’t wait to welcome you back. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is my second review of the Bryant Park, and this time, this hotel gets top rating. We were there 5 nights and everything was absolutely perfect. The hotel is modern, and lovely, clean, well maintained and well managed. Location is absolutely great and having the Bryant Park outside the door is amazing, giving you lunch and dinner options at this beautiful park. Also, the possibility of buying a sanwich and using some of the tables there, right across your room. The hotel service is very good altogether: at the counter in the entrance, as is the cleaning, package handling, room service and door people. Everybody polite and helpful. Now the especifics: for us travellers who do online shopping and receive packages, GREAT service. For us travellers that love clean spacious and semi-luxurious bathrooms and are spoiled on amenities, here is your place. For us travellers who love returning to NY and enjoying a drink in the evening, you have the Cellar in the hotel. For great dining (and I mean REALLY great) the KOI in the hotel. For hanging around NY city late at night and returning confortably and safe, walking late in 5th Av, going to plays in Times Square, this location is fabulous.
Special thanks to Darren, the nice room, the welcome details and the great reception as returning customers. Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower floors facing back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

WOW! What an amazing review, so thorough and gracious. Thank you for your loyalty with us and for your amazing compliments. I can’t thank you enough for recognizing me as well as my team. It sounds like we all came together and helped create some wonderful memories for you. When is your third stay? If I can help with your booking in any way please let me know. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and see you soon! Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel recently and were very pleased. The hotel staff and service were outstanding. Nicki, Sarah and Eric were especially helpful, but the entire staff went out of their way to help with any need or question. Room service was quick and good. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed, especially by NYC standards. The bathroom was a very nice size and also clean and well stocked. The hotel is in a great location. They even left a sweet treat, note and balloon for my high school graduate! We could not have been more pleased and will definitely stay at the Bryant Park again!
p.s. The staff arranged airport transfer and it was outstanding too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Elizabeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you so much for giving us a 5, it really means a lot to us. You must be very proud of your high school graduate and I am thrilled that we had a part in the celebration. Your praises regarding Nikki, Sarah, Eric, Private Dining and Housekeeping were very much appreciated. It was so nice of you to take the time to share your experience and I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I've stayed in multiple hotels in NYC and this hotel is now my favorite. Even though it was a very stylish hotel, we went ahead and stayed here as a family with a 2 year old because of its perfect location right in front of Bryant Park. The staff there were so nice to us however, and amazingly, every single one of them! We felt so much at home and I wanted to tip them so much, I ran out of cash! The room was tastefully appointed and we especially liked the big bathtub and a separate shower with Morton Brown amenities. We had a room on the park side and it was relieving to see greens from the windows, which is not always the case in NYC hotels. It was surprisingly quiet too (except one Sunday night when they were showing outdoor movie at Bryant Park). Our only disappointment was that the room did not come with microwave or coffee maker, but that was not a big deal as there were so many great bakery and coffee places on the same street. Overall, while we picked the place of the location and the style, we were drawn by their super nice staff. Will definitely return there for our next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floor, park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gocardinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for making us your favorite NYC hotel and for giving us a 5! We really appreciate your feedback, suggestions and praises. I am glad to hear that during your next visit to NY you will make us your home away from home. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location, very helpful and pleasant staff, comfortable bed, well structured room..we come to NYC often, but have not stayed at this hotel previously, but would definitely come back. Great bar down stairs. And the free valet parking Friday and Saturday was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryantParkHotel, Director of Front Office and Guest Services at The Bryant Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Cellar Bar and was able to take advantage of our Free Weekend Parking Promotion. We plan on continuing the promotion throughout the season since it has been so well received. I hope you return soon and if I can ever be of assistance please let me know. Darren; dsumner@bryantparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,224 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,722 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £170 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing