We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hotel" loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“"Great Hotel" loved it!”
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Fantastic hotel, Front desk staff was excellent. Room was great, as well as the amenities offered by the hotel. I will def be back next time I'm in the city.

  • Liked — Very Comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank izik27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,818
    628
    122
    35
    27
See reviews for
551
1,821
199
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl,N.Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We read the reviews of this hotel before we booked and based our choice of hotel on Trip Advisor. The hotel was as good as we expected. It was our first trip to New York and the polite, helpful welcome we got from the receptionist was in welcome contrast to the abrupt immigration officers and taxi driver who said no more than ‘where to’? The room was perfectly clean and reasonably spacious considering we chose the most basic room. The bathroom was very plush and sizable.

The room was basic but had all the essentials you may need. On our first morning the hot water wasn’t working so I rag down and there was someone in our room and the problem fixed within 30 mins (this was 7AM on Christmas Day!) this service in the UK is unheard of!

All staff were more than helpful, polite and considerate but the best thing about this hotel is the location, it is right in the middle of all of the tourist hotspots. If you were staying for business thought it is a bit of a trek downtown.

I’ll be recommending this hotel to every one but would suggest you pay a little more for a room with the view over the beautiful park just across the road.

  • Liked — Quality of service
  • Disliked — Room decoration a little bland.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We stayed at the Bryant Park for several days just prior to Christmas. Our room was spacious and had pretty good views, although we had not specifically requested a view, which made our stay that little more enjoyable. The room was of a good size for NY and was very comfortable, and the bathroom was of a high standard. Staff were friendly but professional and discreet, and the Cellar Bar is a cool place to enjoy a drink. Our one word of advice would be to consider pre-booking a transfer (e.g. limo/taxi) if heading out of town, as the Bryant Park is in a crosstown location and getting a cab from right outside can be a drama during rush hour (is it worth including this in the in-room hotel guide?). Overall, a great stay and we can't wait to return!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank warrenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Was happily surprised about the friendliness of the staff (after all, this IS New York).I ordered room service and a glass of wine with the order. The gentleman who delivered this and I do apologize since I didn't catch his name was extremely friendly and interested in my conversation. I realized after he left that my wine was not with the order. He immediately returned, apologetic and provided a bottle of wine from the in-house dining people. He didn't blame the omission on anyone and really made the mistake a win for me by his nice attitude. I loved the ambiance, the view of Bryant Park with ice skating rink front and center and will happily book with them again. Fran Waite

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Address can be overlooked since it is a small front facade
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dnafranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We had a good 3 nights stay in The Bryant Park Hotel.
However i can not understand the raving comments about this hotel.
Pros:
Good quality room, we had a Junior Suite with two double beds, they were really huge, also room really spacey, bathroom well equipped, nice big tub.
Location is very good, one minute away from 5th avenue, but other hotels like Sofitel, Marriott Residence inn have an equal location.

Cons:
Not a single bottle of water provided in the room as a gratuity. We payed 625 Dollars for our room to find our that a small Evian would cost 12 bucks?! Thats really annoying.
If you forget toothpaste: you have to buy it from them for a fortune!
No breakfast incl in the price
The view of Bryant Park is only available from a few rooms, ours was promised to have a view but then you really have to stick your head out to see the Park.
Reception and Concierge staff were quite helpful but did not go the extra mile and i think they were acting quite a bit too cool for a hotel of that category.
Dont expect a five star service. The hotel is for people that are mostly into fashion and hip and cool stuff.

  • Liked — Location and good quality room
  • Disliked — Expensive, even water costs 12 bucks in the room, internet costst 10 bucks for 24 hours
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ninasch1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Came in from NJ for a romantic weekend with my wife the day after Thanksgiving. Black Friday in NYC is not for the weak! The city was jammed packed as were the stores, but the hotel was VERY quiet. We checked in on Friday after making a last minute reservation on Weds. We were able to upgrade to the Bryant Park Suite which was very large for any hotel room, especially for a NY hotel. Christian the reservations manager was great to work with and helped us out tremendously. The room had a sitting room, and 1.5 baths. Nice glassed in shower and very large tub in marble bathroom. Bed was not huge nor the most comfortable to sleep on but it was ok. Room was very stark with a white color theme. In fact I don't think there were any photos hung on the walls! Our room overlooked Byant Park which was quite nice especially with the ice skating rink below. The location of this hotel cannot be beat as its sits right in the midle of the city at 6th and 40th street. I actually expected something more exciting, cool, different, etc. but this was just a nice hotel. Very good but not headturning! Nothing you'd write home about which is the only negative thing I'd say. We'd probably stay somewhere else next time for something different but this is a safe bet!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing stood out as exceptional.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJDevilsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Stayed here for a week in a Deluxe Queen room. We got quite a good deal directly from the hotel. After a gruelling 18 hour flight from Hong Kong we called the hotel to ask if we could check in early (it was 7am) and luckily they agreed which we were very impressed with. The normal check-in time is 3pm which quite frankly I think is ridiculous!

The room itself was a decent size but very dark as the window was small and we had a side-view of the park. However, the bed was REALLY comfy with a flat screen TV which unlike most hotels was at the right height and the right size for the room. The bathroom was large with Molton Brown amenities and a well pressurised shower. As some previous reviewers have mentioned this hotel is only for fans of minimalism.

The best thing about the hotel would definitely be the location which is in mid-town which is convenient to get everywhere in Manhattan.

The only slight negative is that some of the hotel staff forgot to smile in an effort to look cool. I guess that's the price of cool. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr&MrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,987 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing