We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Labor Day Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #13 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Labor Day Vacation”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We loved the hotel. The location was outstanding, near everything. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They recommended an excellent Italian restaurant near the hotel. Also they recommended the Red Flame restaurant for breakfast which was three blocks from the hotel and was very good. We asked the girl at the desk how to go to Elmhurst, I used to leave there in the 60s and she started looking for the address. She could not find it and told me that she will bring it to my room. Much to my surprise ten minutes later she showed up at our room with detailed directions, I was impressed. When we departed we told the concierge to get us a taxi. We checked out and when we went out he had the taxi ready with all of our bags already in the trunk. Our vacation was superb and we attribute a great part of it to the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakley1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,784
    617
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
536
1,801
198
542
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel is very recently renovated with very comfortable beds and updated bathrooms. Our room was large and was one of the few with 2 queen sized beds, which was perfect for me and my adult daughter. The park across the street is lovely, and while you have to walk a few blocks to get to where all the activity is at night (the hotel is in more of a commercial area---within 5 blocks of the theatre district and Times Square), it was worth it. There are several coffee shops and delis within a one block distance, but they are not always open.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I stayed here for one night while wrapping up my birthday weekend. The hotel itself is pretty hip, with house music playing in the lobby/elevator and dark colors (especially red) all over. The location is great for shoppers, and close to Times Square too.
The doorman was polite, took my bags and led me in. The gal at the front desk was super sweet (I cant remember ber name but it started with an A) and upgraded me to one of the two Raymond Hood suites, so cool! The room is huge and very different from the lobby - light hardwood floors, white walls, and white/lavendar colors all over but kept with the minimalist look of downstairs. There was a huge living area, dining area with table & 4 chairs, and a half bath off the living room. I had great views of Midtown and Bryant Park from TWO balconies. The bathroom is huge, seperate tub and shower but I wish there was more counter space. The towels and bathrobes were super soft
We didnt dine at the restaurant or go to the bar but when we returned from dinner there was a crowd outside and a bouncer too.. Im guessing the bar is a pretty happening place (its open until 4am afterall!) It would have been fun to check it out if I wasnt so tired
My one minot complaint- We had ordered room service for breakfast and though it was brought up rather quickly, the food was just room temperature - my waffles, his omelette, the fruit, but it was still pretty tasty
Overall this is a fab hotel that looks great and has friendly quick service. I cant comment on the price unfortunately as it was a gift but I imagine it to be on the higher end - well worth it, I'd say! It;s definitely for younger people or singles (or young singles :) and i can see myself staying here again when Im in NYC - hopefully I'll visit the bar too!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leetlesasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Just did a weekend trip and stayed at the Bryan park hotel. Very nice room, got a free upgrade to a view. Spacious room and great bathrooms. Helpful staff and clean throughout. The night club in the basement is overpriced and noisy but cannot be heard from the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdandism2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We frequent Manhattan about six times a year, staying over when we make plans for dinner and a show. This was our fist visit to TBPH but it won't be our last. In fact, if it's available we would dream of staying anywhere else. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. The staff was pleasant, helpful and made us feel very welcome the moment we arrived. We highly recommend this wonderful hotel and with beautiful Bryant Park right across the street, you can't ask for more!!!! Bravo the staff at TBPH.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Walked into the Hotel our room wasn't ready, they offered me to store luggage (tha was good) this is around 1pm.
When I went to the concierge desk he wasn't helpful it all, very snob & looked at me like I was a tourist...he didn't have any idea on the new restaurants or lounges in town (example like "The Gates" or "Griffin" or "Minetta Tavern") he couldn't get us a table or guest list because of a lame excuse!

We come back in the afternoon around 6pm our room was ready, the we went to the bar around 7pm (it was empty with very OLD MUSIC PLAYIN') the hostess was very loud & annoying.

Overpriced drinks...!

Room was a good size, necessary furniture...I like that!
Bathroom lovely!

Walls are looking old, the red in the lobby is so 90's NEEDS A MAKEOVER!
Koi was outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelsPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel for one night on the 6th of August, to say this hotel is a delight to stay at is an understatement.

Easily the most professional staff I've ever dealt with, particularly the front desk staff.! Hotel and location could not be better.

Our room was on the 14th floor, even though it was facing on to Bryant Park, we had the most amazing nights sleep, no disturbances at all, absolutely beautiful views from the room onto the park and Library (NYC public library) The room itself was completely decked out in all modern amenities. We thought the Wi-Fi was a free option, turns out its paid service, which is no big deal, might be an issue for some business users. Bathroom was superb, free Molten Brown supplies and a service to buy more if needed.( im sure the hotel would provide some free samplers if needed)

Dinner in the restaurant was pricey but delicious, can't really fault it at all. You pay for quality everywhere.

Overall I can't recommend the Bryant highly enough, fantastic service, location and staff.

Stay here, you wont regret it.!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing