We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location - great for first time visitors!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb location - great for first time visitors!”
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This was our second visit to New York and after staying at the excellent Park South hotel back in May 2007, the Bryant Park Hotel had a lot to live up to. The website gives the impression of an incredibly cool boutique style ambiance and despite being one of the most highly rated hotels in New York, we were not too sure what to expect.

The building (according to the guide books) is a converted former radiator building and the black and gold exterior casts an imposing shadow over the beautiful tree lined French style square that accommodates an ice rink during the winter months.

We stayed for four nights in total in a room on the ninth floor at the rear of the hotel which was classified as a superior room. We did try to book a deluxe room / junior suite as the difference in price wasn't excessive from Expedia, but they didn't have any available. That said, the superior room was pretty much perfect for a short break in New York. It was spacious, comfortable and clean and had absolutely everything we needed. In fact there were even a few things that were actually surplus to requirements, but I'll leave that for you to discover from the sealed envelope in the mini bar(!)

We were concerned that the rooms would be a little stark and cold with a few of the reviews we had read throwing the word "Ikea" in the mix, but we found our room quite cosy enough although at night, it was a litte chilly. However, it was nothing that an additional blanket couldn't solve.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had one small issue with the shower not being hot enough first thing in the morning. Nothing too serious but once we'd alerted the staff to the problem, they sent a maintenance person immediately to our room and got it sorted out within a matter of hours whilst we were out and about.

The famous cellar bar seemed to be pretty popular and in the early evening was mainly frequented by locals enjoying an after work drink. We did notice that the majority of patrons seemed to be male, which once you take in the surroundings (wrought iron gates screwed to the wall behind the bar, lots of candlelight and almost only female bar staff wearing basque style tops), it wasn't much of a surprise. Having said that, it wasn't intimidating as such if you take it as a bit of a giggle (which is what we hope was intended).

in terms of the location, you couldn't find a better location - particularly if it is your first time in New York.

Bryant Park itself is a small square that is an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of the City. With a number of french style cafe wrought iron chairs and tables dotted around, anyone can settle themselves down with a coffee and a newspaper or laptop and while the hours away either people watching or even doing something slightly productive.

In the run up to Christmas and throughout January, there's an ice rink set up in the square which (again according to those trusty guidebooks) is the only place where you can go ice skating in New York for free. As you can imagine, it was quite busy but the atmosphere was superb and with classic jazz standards playing in the background, it's a very pleasant place to while away a few hours. We can also recommend the Bryant Grill bar/restaurant for a spot of lunch or dinner or even just a drink. Atmosphere is great and food is brilliant - particularly their quality crab cakes and very reasonably priced new zealand sauvignon blanc.

We can recommend a zillion things to do and see in New York while you're there but as this is a hotel review, I'll save that for another time...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    613
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
527
1,786
196
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Hmm, this is a tricky one.
Bryant Park Hotel pitches itself as a super-cool, luxe, boutique hotel. The location is great if you want to be in Midtown Manhattan (we were in town for New Year, so it was perfect) and it looks cool from the outside (black and gold retro skyscraper next to Bryant Park? Yes.) and, on the face of it, it is pretty cool. But is it super-boutique and cool enough? Maybe not...

Here's why - everything about the stay was OK - room was OK, service was OK, vibe was OK. But I was kind of hoping for outstanding, not just OK.
It's difficult to put my finger on exactly what it is that I feel a bit dissatisfied about, but I guess that I can sum it up by the fact that this was an expensive trip, and while the hotel was pretty good, cool-ish and the room was big enough and comfy enough it all just felt a bit, well, standard.
And, for me, they commited one of the cardinal sins of a real boutique hotel - flaky concierge service. It all started well with a couple of emails before we travelled, but everything just went quiet - so none of the things I wanted to book and get help with actually happened. It worked out OK, but because I sorted myself out.

So, the bottom line. Is it a bad hotel? No, far from it. But is it the vibey, ultra-cool, boutique hotel it looks like on the website? Sorry, no it just isn't. It's a nice, cool-ish hotel in a seriously good location (if you want midtown), but it isn't all that. Rooms are OK, service is OK, but honestly - nothing that special. Sorry guys.

Will I stay there again? Probably not.
Shame. I've fancied staying there for years and I wanted to love it.

Couple of things though - being next to Bryant Park in winter is great - shopping, ice skating and just a nice vibe. The Witchcraft coffee stand on Bryant Park is outstanding and the hotel restaurant, Koi, (which gets a little bit of a hard time because of the 'cool' crowd) was very, very, very good. Expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2010

My husband and very good friends have celebrated special occasions at the Bryant Park Hotel and I often stay there on business. Each visit has been a terrific experience. The staff are uniformly welcoming and helpful; the rooms are inviting; and the sublime location,across from one of the city's best parks, provides a customer experience that is unique. I would take up residence there anytime...
Judy Stein-Korte, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mechanicsburg, pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I feel the Bryant Park provided the perfect mix of cost, location and room size...a tough mix in NYC. We paid $218 a night during January...expensive for some; still a good deal as you have to pay at least $200 for something decent.

The room used the space well, providing a queen sized bed, sitting area (not all that common in the city) and a fair sized bathroom...room and bathroom were a crisp and not over-the-top modern that I'm sure anyone would like. The sink had plenty of space for makeup, etc and the shower/bath was huge.

The location was excellent at a few blocks off Broadway. Close enough to everything in Times Square and theater district without having the noise. Bryant Park sits directly across the street and the NY Public Library next to the park. Lord & Taylor is right around the corner...great deals were found.

This is our new favorite stay in NYC and will be the first place we check from here out.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel this past weekend and had a wonderful stay. The staff is unbelievably friendly and courteous at all times. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. I also had dinner at Koi which didn't disappoint. I will be back next month. I would highly recommend this place while traveling to NY.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

You could not hope for a better situated hotel in New York, right between Times Square and 5th Avenue! This was a great base for our short stay in New York and the hotel staff were immense. We were greeted with an invitation to the Cellar Bar where there was an open bar for hotel guests for an hour each evening (very handy!) with a great atmosphere.

The concierge, Eric, did a great job of recommending good restaurants and giving some very sound advice on what to do during our stay. Don't miss Koi, the japanese restaurant in the hotel which was exceptional.

The room was nicely presented and modern with all that you could possibly want. The only negative was the air conditioning vent outside our window that meant that when our own air con was off it still sounded as if it was on (but it didn't really disturb us). We didn't say anything as we had unpacked by the time we realised and couldn't be bothered moving. The bathroom was excellent with Molton Brown goodies to hand.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed at The Bryant Park for New Years 2010. Initially we thought it a bit pricey but in comparison to other more mainstream less exclusive hotels, at that time of year, they were very competitive. The location was ideal, right in the heart of Manhattan, nothing was very far away Times Square two blocks, shopping everywhere, sightseeing in every direction metro on the corner and a lovely park (square) right on the doorstep, complete with seasonable ice-skating rink. Our room had a breath taking view over the park and skyscrapers with a view of the Ball Drop and fireworks - perfect as Times Square was packed on 31st December. The room itself was large and very comfortable, cleaned daily at a time to suit you if you find the privacy button beside the bed. Large LCD TV, big bed, wooden floors, high ceilings and well maintained. The bathroom was fantastic with the biggest bath I've ever used and an amazing shower. We didn't use too many hotel facilities - except the Cellar bar, Happy Hour is not to be missed. The staff were more than helpful and the very friendly reception always used my name and pronounced both barrels - which is more than I can say for the rest of Manhattan or at least the staff in Macy's, Sack's - I could go on but this is about the Hotel. Our stay was not faultless but we feel it's how you deal with the errors and problems that counts. The staff at The Bryant Park sorted our one minor problem with our TV swiftly and effortlessly with a smile.
In summary, there are cheaper hotels but if you want style, location and attention to detail (the ice bucket always seems to have fresh ice - it's the little things...) try The Bryant Park Hotel. If we visit Manhattan again we'd stay there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestlessEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing