We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bryant Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel has been on my list to try for a number of years, but I just couldn't get a good rate. When I finally caught a deal, I booked it! Very much worth the wait!
Room was not big, but well laid out, never felt cramped. Bathroom was very large by comparison, large sink top with room for all your "stuff", good lighting, swing out make-up mirror, shelf below for more storage, marble shower, and BIG towels! oh, and did I mention wonderful Molton Brown products? a (minor) word of warning - 4 of my 5 nights there, I thought I was hearing a faint coo coo clock and it was driving me crazy! On my last night, I finally traced it to the sound therapy machine set to a very low "rainforest"!
The staff was wonderful! Housekeeping, front desk, bell and doormen, they all introduced themselves and asked my name and when I was planning to come back – everyone was genuinely very nice and made me feel welcome. For a hotel known for catering to the hip, fashionista crowd, this was a nice surprise!

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    613
    121
    35
    27
See reviews for
527
1,786
196
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I'm regular traveler and been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels of the world. What The Bryant Park Hotel looses in the service, luxury of architecture/design and the overall attention to detail, it wins with the location and the view over the park.

The hotel interior design as such is a bit old fashioned and never really been "state of the art", but the room was functional (to be honest, really functional) which makes a great difference. Really good bed, excellent closet for clothes and superb bathroom (with bath and shower separated) makes a great difference. I enjoyed the simplicity in the room as well as the iPod dock to play your favorite tunes with. Desk for laptop and WiFi connection did not really work, but that was not a surprise really. .. WiFi works sometimes, not usually.

There was enough room for luggage and closet had nicely space for clothes of two people (4 nights and plenty of changes).

Service in the reception is excellent, but at the end of the day - how much did I need that? Smoking not allowed is a pain in the [--], but that's the way things go nowadays. Better get used to it...

Biggest minus is the lack of proper breakfast room with buffet (even small selection of quality items would be great). The KOI restaurant works okay, but the bill gets easily too high for breakfast... (two people eat two course dinner with wine in nice Italian with 30USD less than the breakfast in KOI). Also some information of the Cellar Bar activities would be nice... The real action starts much later than the free drinks (between 5-6pm).

.. and What was the best thing during this 4 night visit - THE VIEW was it. Cant even think how nice it will be later in the spring. Hope to see it again soon...

Overall feeling is good. Will definitely make TBP hotel my regular in NYC because of the view, room functionality and nice feeling, location, location, location and the service front desk was offering.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannuMikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

stayed at the bryant park hotel for a couple of nights at the end of february and returned again the next weekend. this hotel is simply the best. service is top notch - gracious, welcoming, interested in helping. bathrooms are big and the beds are perfect - i sleep better there than i do at home. i love the bedside "sound machine" that lets me fall asleep to the sound of light rain or a babbling brook. the location is tops - walking distance to everything, and if you need the subway it is only a block away. the only disappointment was breakfast. the orange juice tasted like a bar mixer. i'd rather walk down the street to le pain quotidien. but in the scheme of things, no big deal.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wextraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2010

My sister and I were lucky enough to stay here during New York fashion week A/W 2009. The perfect spot as it overlooked Bryant Park where all the action is.

Very much a boutique hotel, funky music at reception and even in the lifts! We had a standard double which was an adequate size with an exceptionally large bathroom with big bath tub plus a separate shower cubicle, double sink and molton brown toiletries.

Being a smoker in a non smoking hotel I spent a lot of time at the entrance which was always swarming with paparazzi awaiting the celebrities that stayed at the hotel. Not sure if I can mention names but lets just say an heiress of a large hotel chain was there at the same time instead of at the hotel that shares her surname.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiBellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Spent a week at the Bryant park. The hotel is top in every way. Very close to Times square, Broadway, Macy's, 5. th Avenue. Large rooms, the beds were fantastic - wanted to take them home!
Safe hotel - had to show key to enter the lifts. Bathroom fantastic. Every afternoon we had free drinks in the popular Cellar bar. The staff were very friendly and service minded.
We have travelled a lot and stayed at many 5* hotels - but this was one of the best.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bod_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel in February for three nights. It is a fabulous hotel. Very cool and trendy. The staff were lovely and helpful, yet not over the top. When we arrived our bed looked a bit short so we asked them if we could change and there was no problem at all they moved us to a larger room and they couldn't have been more helpful. Really big bathrooms with gorgeous molton brown bath products also. A very cool mini bar with jars of sweets etc.... It is in a great location accross from Bryant Park at the back of the beautiful library and very close to Grand Central, Empire State, Times Square. The japanese restaurant attached to the hotel was absolutely fabulous. The staff were lovely and friendly and the food was gorgeous! so good we went there twice!! :-) Can't recommend the hotel enough!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2010

you can have anything you want, all you need to do is ask at this Hotel. Eric the events organiser set up chocolates and ballons on request to surprise my sis, she screamed with joy when she saw it, he was well planned and informative. Antonio called up a store for us to check if they had what we wanted. chris lent us his umbrella...they made our stay feel like we were in a movie. The bed was more comfy then my own havent slept as good since my stay. hotel was spotless. even though NY is a cool place, i believe its the service you get that makes ur holiday feel like a dream come true. the staff made us feel so welcome we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bryant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bryant Park Hotel

Property: The Bryant Park Hotel
Address: 40 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#9 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bryant Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryant Park Hotel, NYC's Fashion Address is nestled conveniently between 5th and 6th avenue across from the famous Bryant Park and a 5 minute walk to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. We are now offering free in room wired and wireless internet. With casual elegance, pristine rooms and impeccable service. The Bryant Park Hotel staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bryant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryant Park New York City
Bryant Park Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing