We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically perfect in every way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Practically perfect in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay in one of the Deluxe rooms at The Library Hotel. From the moment we arrived, the service we received was absolutely fantastic. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, from the waitresses to the housekeeping, and especially the concierge staff who bend over backwards to make sure you're happy and content. From 5-8 every evening they serve complimentary cheese and wine in The Reading Room, overlooking Madison Avenue, and they certainly DON'T scrimp. Choose from Prosecco, white or red wines, and from a selection of cheeses, crudites and oatcakes.
If I have one criticism, it is that the restaurant, Madison & VIne, is overpriced. The service charge is 18% even for 2 diners, and the wines are upwards of $40. However, the only reason we ate there was due to jetlag, and laziness, there are many other places on the same block offering great value nosh.

Room Tip: Check out the Petit Room Doubles for a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear frandymond,

Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wanted you and the TA community to know that Madison & Vine is managed under a separate company than the Library Hotel. However, we have discussed the automatic service charge issue with them and they agreed to remove it. From this moment on, diners will not be charged an automatic service charge unless it a group of 6 or more. We hope this helps!

_ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian: yogini@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,170
    576
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
503
2,154
376
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

The Library Hotel in NYC was simply wonderful. The staff was the most pleasant and accommodating of any hotel where we have stayed. The rooms are not large but they are very, very clean, comfortable and well appointed.

The hotel is well situated at 41st and Madison Ave. The price, while it may seem high to some, includes a more than enough continental breakfast and wine and cheese reception in the evening at 5pm. Those two benefits alone more than bring the price of the hotel to a very reasonable amount. Also, you may have coffee and tea in the reading room at anytime. We had ours there after dinner about 10pm rather than at the restaurant. A delightful place to sit and relax.

I would definitely stay at The Library again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david2197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel last week in a junior suite and were very impressed with the service and the amenities that were offered. As mentioned in previous reviews, the bathrooms are really tiny- and the shower is combined with a tub (shower curtain, no glass door), which is probably the only possibility, since the bathroom is so small. However, I am a bit of a bathroom freak and this was probably the biggest drawback in my view. I prefer an extra glass-enclosed shower. The room was small and a bit noisy (traffic outside) but the bed was very comfortable and the view was great. I agree with the previous review that the carpets, both in the rooms and the hallways, could use a bit of an upgrade. I was glad we had paid extra for the junior suite- can't imagine staying in an even smaller room with a king bed and only one window. However, the lounge offering breakfast, drinks, snacks, wine and appetizers was wonderful- cozy and inviting and this really helped make up for the negatives about the room. We were up early each morning due to jet lag and the coffee machine in the lounge was always ready for use. Coming from Europe, we weren't expecting much from the coffee but the espresso machine was fantastic and the coffee delicious (you can choose from Capuccino, Cafe latte, espresso, and a few other options). We really enjoyed meeting our relatives in the evening in the lounge before dinner for a glass of wine and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The upstairs bar and terrace are also a nice place to meet in the evenings or after dinner. The price is not cheap but then again- it IS NY! And the location is really fantastic- within walking distance to almost everything. We would most likely come back again- not necessarily for the rooms but for the amenities and friendly service provided, not to mention location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vienna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Library hotel is just lovely! It is a beautiful hotel and all the staff are extremely helpful. It is in a perfect location and is close to everything. The breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon were such a lovely treat and the rooftop bar is spectacular! You should definitely stay here when you visit NYC!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GooseyGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great place to stay. Superb service, very friendly staff. The rom was at bit small, but nice and clean!
We will come back again, next time we visit New York!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Cant recommend this hotel highly enough. They have friendly staff, the reception greeted us on arrival & upgraded us to a Junior King Suite which was fab size with great views of Madisson Avenue (Room 606). They had also left a bottle of red wine as we had mentioned celebrating a special birthday...very nice touch.

All staff were friendly & courteous, a special mention to Carmen in the breakfast library!! The breakfast was great, plenty of fruit, fruit salad, lots of breakfast cereals, bagels, bread, muffins, pastries, any type of tea/coffee you like all included in the room price. Also between 5-8pm they put on cheese, crackers, nuts/fruit, red/white wine & prosecco, this is great for a pre-dinner appetiser or just to relax in after a busy day walking around the city.

Location is fantastic, Madisson Avenue/41st Street. We had a good view of the New York Public Library, its only 1 block away from 5th Avenue, great for shopping. 5 mins walk from Times Square, 15 mins stroll to central park. Hotel staff are helpful with booking trips/tickets. On the 2nd floor there is also 2 PCs & printer which was handy for printing out tickets & booking in on-line for our return trip.

I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know who is travelling to New York.

Thanks again for making our trip so special, will definately be returning to the Library Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaithin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We liked it but probably won't go back. Rooms and hallways were somewhat worn, and the bathroom was teeny-tiny with too few towel racks. We had prepaid for a jr suite and were assigned a king room. The error was corrected and a bottle of wine was offered, but as mentioned by another reviewer, it shouldn't have happened in the first place. We never could get the wi-fi to work in the room, and tho we were on the 10th floor, street noise was an issue.
On the plus side, the bellmen and the kitchen staff for the breakfast service couldn't have been nicer. We found the breakfast choices fresh and delicious and the coffee better than most. If it cost $100 less/night, it would be fine. Given the price we paid, however, not a good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear MJCharleston,

Thank you for your feedback. We enjoy hearing that you liked staying at our hotel, but it’s difficult to hear that you don’t plan on returning. We always hope to offer an experience where our guests feel like coming back time-and-time again. We wanted to advise you, and everyone on TA, that we’ve just replaced our carpeting on a few of our guest room floors, but we have not made it to the 10th FL. We plan to get there very soon and this should help our hallways look more fresh. We apologize for the error on our part of checking you into a king room, rather than the Junior Suite. Upon discovering the error, we believe that we immediately placed you into the appropriate room type soon after your arrival. Please rest assured that this issue was dealt with internally and will be avoided in the future. Regarding the wifi and noise issue, did you happen to mention that you were uncomfortable in your room during your stay? We would have very much liked to have worked to make you feel more relaxed. We believe our pricing falls well into the average rates being offered in NYC, yet please remember when comparing prices that we offer a great deal more amenities than ordinary hotels such as free breakfast, free wifi and free wine and cheese receptions very evening. We understand that some of our guests are on a budget, and for those that fall into this category, the most affordable time to visit NYC is during the winter and summer months of January, February, July or August.

We would love for you to give us another chance, and if you decide you would like to take us up on that offer, please feel free to contact me directly. We hope to welcome you back!

_ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian: yogini@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing