We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dylan Hotel NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Andaz 5th Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Kitano New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,337)
Filter reviews
4,337 results
Traveller rating
3,582
614
99
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,582
614
99
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreading roomwine and cheeselibrary themegrand central stationpetite roomdewey decimal systemmadison and vinebook loversrooftop barlove roomnew yorkthe ny public librarybryant parkevery eveningcontinental breakfastbagelsfloor lounge
Filter
Updating list...
2,937 - 2,942 of 4,337 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is one of 4 hotels in the K&H Hospitality Group and The Library is as lovely as the others. With books on every wall and a theme based on the Dewey Decimal system, it reminded me of days gone by but remained very sophisticated at the same time. Service is fantastic, bed comfortable, continental breakfast a great way to start your day, especially in the 2nd floor lounge with a great view of the busy NYC streets.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Madison Avenue worth the entertainment value, especially between 5 & 6, rush hour.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Library Hotel is adorable. A stylish haven, beautifully decked out and supported by impeccable service that is a truly wonderful sanctuary for a restful retreat amongst the bussle of NYC.
Whilst my room was "tres petite" as the room name suggested, it was stylishly appointed, very comfortable and perfect for one person (with lots of shopping and luggage!).
The location of this hotel is superb - a stone's throw from Times Squre, theatres, all the best shopping strips and of course Grand Central.
The breakfast and pre-dinner wine/nibbles was a wonderful inclusion. The staff are welcoming and could not be more delightful.
I would highly recommend this boutique hotel to business travellers and holiday makers.
Thank you Library Hotel and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel early in the morning after a 4 hr delay in our flight. We were tired and just wanted to sleep. As soon as our taxi pulled up to the front door, the bell person was right there to greet us even though it was 1:30AM! Check in was quick and seamless and we were in our room promptly with the luggage right behind us. We found the room spacious (for NYC) and well set up for our family of 3. There were some minor deficiencies in housekeeping which we chose not to deal with until we've had a good night's sleep.

The king bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows and nice comforter. The pull out bed for our daughter was a typical uncomfortable cot but after we mentioned that to the housekeeping team, they promptly fixed it by putting extra padding on the mattress and made it actually nice to sleep in! We mentioned the minor housekeeping deficiencies to the front desk the next morning and all of these were promptly corrected. From that point on, we had a marvellous stay for 8 nights in the heart of Manhattan.

The morning breakfast (which was included with our room) was a great way to start the day. It was a nice touch to have coffee, expresso, fruit and pastry available free all day to hotel guests and the free drinks and snacks every evening was also very popular and appreciated.

Location of the hotel was very central. Walking distance to major attractions including Broadway and Times Square. Grand Central Station was right around the corner so easy to get to the subway and trains. Close to high end shopping on 5th Ave. Lots of great restaurants around. Even though the hotel does not have a work out area, the free pass to a nearby gym was much appreciated - only 5 short city blocks away and not a deterrent to anyone who wants to keep in shape while away.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely come back. It is clean, has friendly staff, centrally located yet quiet. Nice change from those large chain hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

After arriving from Australia we were impressed to immediately access our room and freshen up.

We stayed in a junior suite which was approx $400 before taxes. The room was enormous by NYC standards, we were impressed with the homely, yet modern feel. Large LCD TV (if thats what youre into), and all the modcons, including international power points.

If you're a light sleeper, a couple of minor noteworthy points. The air conditioning unit is quite loud (you can if course turn this off, but it was running 95 deg when we were there). Also, the curtains/blinds are not blackout, meaning that the room gets quite light early in the summer months.

The wifi is extremely speedy, and unlike many hotels, it just works! You could access it from anywhere without silly passwords etc, even at breakfast we used our iPad to plan our day ahead.

The locations is the best of both worlds, about 10-15min walk to Central Park, only 5-10min walk from Broadway and literally 2min from Grand Central... Really handing for a 15-20min stroll up to the Met, Natural History Museum or MOMA. The high class shopping starts virtually on your doorstep, from Madison at 43rd-58th.

If you want downtown, villages or SoHo or TriBeCa it's only a cab away, but it's certainly not in the thick of the funky and hip urban areas.

It was my 2nd visit to NYC and this hotel was comfortably located, reasonably priced and exceptional service. We would stay again.

Enjoy your stay, we did.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Montza,

We thank you for the time you’ve taken to post a review regarding your stay with us. We wanted to let you know that we have ordered blackout blinds for all of our sleeping rooms at the Library and should have them by the beginning of next week. Once we receive them we’ll have them in the rooms a few days later. Your thoughts, along with others on TripAdvisor, are being heard loud and clear and we want you to know that. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

_ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian, and the staff at the Library Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Cappuccino and croissant were provided every morning in the reading room. Our room was exceptionally clean and had beautiful view. I wish I could have taken the bed back to Europe with me. The bar upstairs also had a lovely view, although the clientel was little too hip for their own good. The staff behind the front desk, though, need to stop soliciting reviews on trip advisor. The experience itself should bring on the desire to write one. My decision to write this was in no way influenced by the many times they asked me to rate and review their hotel. In fact, their borderline badgering for a review at the end of our stay spoiled the check out process and inevitably lost the hotel a star

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear ashia,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay. We appreciate you advising us of the TripAdvisor soliciting situation and apologize that you left our hotel feeling as if we badgered you into posting a review. We truly do not want our guests to feel as if this is the way we are or wish to remember us in this manner. We thank you for your time, and if you have a few more moments, please do let us know what happened exactly. It would be important to know if it was one team member one time or many throughout your stay badgering you. This way we can get a better understanding how to rectify the situation. We do hope this hasn’t deterred you from staying with us again. Should you have any questions, comments or further feedback feel free to contact me directly. We look forward to hearing from you.

_ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian, and the staff at the Library Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews