We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this hotel were a book, it would be a sellout!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

There could be no better oasis in NYC than the library hotel...the staff, the complimentary cheese and wine, the fab breakfasts and the relaxed ambience all made our stay at the library hotel a memorable one that we'll never forget! A little bit of heaven on earth...

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,400 - 2,406 of 4,159 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I can't think of anything to fault this place. The location was fantastic: walking distance to Times Square and Central Park and the staff were wonderful. Every person working there was kind and personable and made us feel very welcome. I LOVED the library theme, being an author myself, and to have a hotel crammed with books is like a paradise to me. The hotel was beautifully decorated and details like the availability of all day tea and coffee plus wine and cheese evenings make this hotel so much nicer to stay in than some of the bigger chains. Our favourites were the rooftop garden (though too busy for us on a Thursday evening) and the restaurant downstairs. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and this will definitely go down as one of my favourites. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had one of the larger rooms with a fold out couch for our son. It was a little squeezy for the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The service and hospitality at this hotel is what is missing from many first class hotels. Attention to detail, caring staff, and beautiful decor make it a place tht is a delight to return to each day. The Ros are small but beautifully decorated and well designed. The guest spaces on the 2nd and 14th floors are just delightful . Can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know in advance about the purpose of your trip and your taste in literature and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

What many Americans think of today as "luxury" is really just excess or show. The management and staff of The Library Hotel understand that luxury is scrupulous attention to detail and an unfailing desire to help their guests in any way possible. My son and I stayed at The Library Hotel for four days, and the hotel itself became an important and positive part of our visit to NYC. From the continental breakfast in the "reading room" (lined with books and a baby grand piano) to the elegant and comfortable rooms, to the wide variety of interesting books (and a DVD library), the facilities are top-notch. The service is of equal quality. All of our interactions with staff were very positive - from housekeeping to bellman to front desk, staff were friendly and professional across the board. (We made extensive use of the front desk for advice on getting to our various destinations, and they were able to guide us, right down to the exact spot to stand to catch a particular bus.) The restaurant attached to the hotel, Madison and Vine, is also worth a try - good bistro food and wine with the atmosphere of a Parisian sidewalk cafe. I travel extensively, both for business and pleasure, and have already started to think of The Library as "my" hotel in New York.

Room Tip: You really might want to read the books in your room, so let the staff know ahead of time what subje...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCDenizen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed here for a business trip this Spring. Small hotel with a warm friendly feel. The rooms are small but clean and well appointed and updated. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast and afternoon tea/wine bar in the afternoon. The hotel staff was very helpful. I found the elevators slow so I took the stairs up and down to my room, but i was on the third floor.

The only drawback is that there is no gym in the building. It ws an easy 4-5 block walk in the good weather down to the NY Athletic Club where they have a membership, but I wouldn't likely want to do the walk in the early morning in the winter .

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floors to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Friendly staff, well equipped rooms and baths, our junior suite was roomy for a boutique hotel, desk was set up for work, bath is good size, free WiFi, very fun and active rooftop bar, decent continental breakfast, great location in Midtown. Only possible complaint is the way the continental breakfast is set up, it gets crowded.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at this property a year ago on the recommendation of our friends. We were so happy with them that we decided to stay with them again on our repeat trip to NYC this year. This time, we brought along our extended family, booked 3 rooms, and all had a fantastic time!

My family of 3 booked our room many months ago when we decided to return to NYC for another holiday. We got a good deal on line and had our room secured - a junior suite that comfortably fit 3 or 4 people. As a last minute decision, my parents and my niece decided to come with us. Suddenly, we needed 2 more rooms. I was able to book a room for my parents on line but then, the website showed it had no rooms left. I called the hotel directly (toll free) and spoke with the reservation manager, Tim G. He was extremely helpful and managed to find a third room for us to accommodate my niece. As a gesture of good will, "for my troubles", he gave us a discount for this third room! This was much appreciated. Upon arrival, we found out that all 3 rooms were side by side - we really appreciated that as it made it easy to visit each other during our trip and coordinate our comings and goings.

As I indicated in my previous review in July 2011, this hotel is centrally located - close to everything a tourist would want to see, yet far enough away from them to be away from the big crowds. It's around the corner from Grand Central Station, a short 15 min walk to Times Square, Broadway, Empire State Building, 5th Ave shopping, Central Park etc. etc. To get to downtown Manhattan, China Town, Little Italy, SoHo, etc., you could walk or take the subway from Grand Central. The Yankee Stadium is only a short 20 min subway ride away. You can't beat the location. There are many many restaurants within walking distance from this hotel as well.

What sets this hotel apart from many others is the staff and the extras it provides. The staff are all EXTREMELY friendly and helpful - from the front desk/concierge, bell staff to the servers in the Library during breakfast and wine and cheese hour - all go out of their way to help you. The front desk can help you order take outs (so you don't have to call from your hotel phone where you'll be charged a fee), book tickets to shows, help you navigate the subway etc. They also have almost 200 DVD titles for you to borrow and watch while there. One night, we felt like having pizza and the front desk staff printed off menus off the web from a variety of pizza places in Manhattan, some as far as upper east side, and delivered them to our room. Once we decided who we want to order from, they called for us and helped deliver the pizza to our room! This is just one example of how helpful they are. The bell staff always have ice cold bottled water for us as we venture out for the day sightseeing and same on our return.

A nice continental breakfast comes with your room. It is located in The LIbrary on 2nd floor. It is a very relaxing place, with soothing soft music playing and books everywhere. I can't remember the last time I read the morning newspaper, sipping a cup of coffee leisurely, while eating a healthy breakfast! The staff there are always ready and willing to help, offering to toast your bagels or bread or bring breakfast up to our teenage daughter who always seem to have trouble getting up early for breakfast! This is a great way to start your day.

A free wine and cheese awaits you in the same room every evening - wine, prosecco, variety of cheeses, crackers, fruit, vegees, nuts etc. A great way to unwind after a long day shopping and sightseeing!

Don't forget, there's latte, cappuccino, coffee, tea, hot and cold milk, pastries, biscuits and fruit available 24/7 in the same room.

The rooms themselves are not large, but fairly good size by NY standards. One of the 3 rooms we had was a "Petite room" - big enough to fit a double bed in and a small closet and bathroom and a very small TV; the 2nd room was a "Deluxe Queen" - reasonable size with a queen bed, a small desk, closet and bathroom; 3rd room was a junior suite - king sized bed with a queen sized pull out couch and a fairly good size bathroom and a mini fridge. Large enough for 3-4 people. All rooms have free high speed internet. The wifi worked well everywhere in the hotel. We had no problems even though I noticed some other reviewers complained it didn't work well in certain areas of the hotel - we didn't have that problem - just have to make sure you're on the right network while in the room vs in the library. There is a small business center with 2 computers and a printer - great for printing off your boarding passes and other activities.

The rooms are clean. The sheets and towels were always clean. Never found a hair on them! Beds were comfy. The only complaint we had was that housekeeping could do a better job deep cleaning after each guest check out. We noticed that there was mould in our bathroom tile esp. along the grout and there were splashes on the bathroom wall that hadn't been washed off. Carpets could do with a vacuum daily. Also, the AC can be very noisy and the AC fan in our room was blowing constantly, even though we put it in "auto" - I don't think it was working properly. However, these are minor problems compared to all the other "good things" that this hotel offers.

We would come back again for a third time and would highly recommend this hotel to travellers who value good service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzzyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 469 in New York City
504 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £210 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing