We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpassed our expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was pretty confident that this hotel would be a nice place to spend a special weekend. After all, their web site gave me a peek at their attractive rooms, Trip Advisor reviews told me about many happy customers, and Google Maps showed me that it was in a great location. Now that we have come home from our special weekend, we can say that it was even better than we thought it could be. It is a very stylish and comfortable place, with terrific service and amenities for their guests. Its central location, a mere 2 blocks from Grand Central, makes navigating the city a breeze. We were completely pleased with our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbbbnbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,134
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,132
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My son and I stayed here for two nights and we live only 25 minutes away, but I wanted to relax while looking at colleges with him. This hotel is spotless and the beds are amazingly comfortable. A gourmet breakfast is included on their second floor and they keep cookies and coffee out all day. There is wine and cheese also comp every day from 5 till 8. We liked the fact that there weren't any screaming little kids...very quiet and mature.
Their restaurant downstairs is really good too. You really don't feel like you're in midtown, as you see the NY Public Library from the hotel. The help is first rate. Awesome! We will return.

Room Tip: We loved the junior king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beffyEssexFells_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night holiday in Manhattan. From check-in onwards, the staff was very welcoming. The room was very nice, bed very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. The buffet breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening were both very good and it was so nice to have the space in the lounge just to hang out in the afternoon if we wished.
I don't think you come here to watch TV, but we did try to watch a DVD one night, and found the TV so small and located at an awkward angle, that we gave it up. The room on the 6th floor was a bit noisy, but not unexpected for the busy location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath2oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

There is so much I could say about this hotel, right from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Much has already been said here about the attention to detail and the manner in which the staff look after you. Literally, every staff member I came across had a smile on their face and couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room (floor 12, the Native American room). The size was perfect for our needs, larger than we had expected. We liked the dim light in the bathroom (as well as a brighter light) so as not to wake others up in the middle of the night! Plenty of space for clothes, with a wardrobe and plenty of draws and as it was our anniversary we had a bottle of fizz and a card waiting for us. In terms of breakfast and complimentary snacks/drinks throughout the day; we thought wouldn't use this much as we'd be out and about, but once we'd appreciated the calm atmosphere and the selection both for breakfast and cheese and wine later we made the most of this each day.

Location was perfect for us, very walkable to times square and central park (up 5th ave for the shops!!). With Grand central being literally 5 minutes walk away we used the subway a few times but not much. Madison and Vine (restaurant downstairs) was good for a meal, although we felt that there were better places to eat in the surrounding areas. Try John's Pizzeria in Times Sq for a good pizza (although the small pizza is big enough to share between 2!!).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to both young and old. It literally was an oasis in the business of NYC so helped energise us each day. Finally just wanted to say a personal thank you to Alvin (bellboy) who hailed a cab for us in the rain on our last day. A true gentleman!

If I visit NYC again, this will definitely be where I'll stay!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was definitely worth paying a bit more for the extra room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I spent a long time choosing our hotel for our stay over New Year 2012/13 and am so glad I chose this place.
So close to a huge range a places - very close to Grand Central, Chrysler Building, Bryant Park and a short walk to Times Square, Fifth Avenue etc etc.
We stayed b&b but here are a huge amount of places to eat close by -if you are really lazy/short of time, there is a Starbucks opposite and two fantastic delis very close (one was called Eat. I think).
The hotel rooms weren't huge but very comfortable, with a nice bathroom, TV, safe etc. There was hotel wide free wi-fi which was great.
Breakfasts were nice and set us up nicely for the day. We only took advantage of the free evening cheese and wine on our last day when we were waiting for our taxi, but it was a very relaxed affair with people sitting in the breakfast room with wine/coffee and free snacks and reading the papers and books on offer. Very civilised!
The staff and facilities were top class and I would have no hesitation in going back here if I am ever lucky enough to get back to New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbins15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I was staying there with an author, so we could have long meetings with our NY agent. Not only were the rooms and decor delightful, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was great to be able to hang out in the lounge. The attached restaurant can get noisy, but that's because at peak times it's packed. Great location, too.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are pretty small, although they make the best of the space. The street can be a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was our second stay and this 2 evening stay did not disappoint. It was a delight. The hotel people, whether at the desk, at breakfast or elsewhere are both very nice and very helpful. The atmosphere is wonderful, regardless of whether you love books (as we do). The breakfast is very good and in warm surroundings. Another nice feature is having complementary coffee, fruit and snacks throughout the day . We never got to the evening complementary wine and chees, but I's sure it's great. There is also a lovely bar and balcony with agreat view on the 14th floor. We will defrinitly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing