We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This Hotel was superb in every way we could of imagined. I would firstly like to say that we were scheduled to go there on 5th December 2012, but due to unfortunate circumstances at the very last minute we had to cancel our trip, little did I know my husband neither myself had put any holiday insurance in place. The Library did not hesitate in rebooking our break for when it was convenient for us they were incredibly helpful and there was no extra charge, it was easy to transfer our break to new revised dates on 21st February 2013.
We arrived 21st and was so overwhelmed by the hotel, staff and what was included in our stay..Breakfast was served between 7 and 10.30, with a great continental choice to keep you going for the morning. The lounge on the second floor had a tea and coffee free facility area with fresh pastry and biscuits on tap, and from 5 to 8 every evening a wide range of cheese olives, nuts crackers and breads would be readily available along with excellent wine free of charge. It was truly outstanding service start to finish. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Issywizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,098)
There are newer reviews for Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,122 - 2,128 of 4,098 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Library Hotel. This is our second visit just for fun. We love the location. Popped over to Grand Central to the Campbell Apartment on the recommendation of the concierge, went back another day to take the audio tour of Grand Central and later took a tour of the library just down the street. We think the breakfast in the reading room is perfect: plenty of healthy and delicious choices, newspapers and fun to see who else is enjoying the city. All staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We just returned from an exceptional, three-night stay at the Library Hotel. The hotel is immaculate, the staff is outstanding, and the location is ideal for exploring all New York has to offer.
We stayed on the eighth floor in a junior suite, and it was perfect for us. The room had plenty of closet space, a sitting area with couch and table, and very warm decor. Upon arrival, there was a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates in celebration of my husband's birthday. Hotel staff member Tim Gerhold went above and beyond in helping plan this special stay, and we weren't disappointed in a thing. The level of service he provides is second to none, and was the ultimate reason we chose this hotel. Thank you Tim! Other staffers - Jessica and Graig - were also excellent. Jessica helped in advance with restaurant suggestions, and welcomed us warmly when we arrived. She and Tim seemed genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable.
We were very happy with the continental breakfast in the morning, and the wine and cheese hours in the evening. The staff who work in this room were also friendly and attentive.
We really appreciated the quietness of this hotel. There is no loud nightclub music to deal with, and no noisy parties to disrupt you. In the midst of the craziness of midtown, we enjoyed returning to the hotel for some peace and quiet, and to recharge before heading out for the evening.
We'll be sure to stay at the Library Hotel when we return to New York. If service, comfort, cleanliness, and an amazing staff is important to you - look no further than 41st and Madison! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite - you will enjoy the extra room and comfort.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have stayed here a number of times over the past 5 years, most recently 1 month ago, and enjoyed every stay. First, it is centrally located and just a few blocks from Grand Central Station and Bryant Park making most of Midtown very walkable. It is in an old library, which is pretty cool, and love the theme and that you have books in your room that match your Dewey number. The hotel is very nice - but the rooms can be very small. Even if you are in a small room though, it is very comfortable with a good bath, and there are a number of nice common areas you can spread out in. The breakfast and wine room on the second floor is great to relax and read the paper in in the AM. The roof terrace is lovely in the summer to sit on at night. And, if you are exhausted, don't feel bad about retreating early - they have the AFI top 100 films downstairs to enjoy. This hotel can get quite expensive, but they have sales a few times a year and if you can book at this rate definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Petite is really petite with just a full bed
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c18r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was pretty confident that this hotel would be a nice place to spend a special weekend. After all, their web site gave me a peek at their attractive rooms, Trip Advisor reviews told me about many happy customers, and Google Maps showed me that it was in a great location. Now that we have come home from our special weekend, we can say that it was even better than we thought it could be. It is a very stylish and comfortable place, with terrific service and amenities for their guests. Its central location, a mere 2 blocks from Grand Central, makes navigating the city a breeze. We were completely pleased with our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbbbnbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My son and I stayed here for two nights and we live only 25 minutes away, but I wanted to relax while looking at colleges with him. This hotel is spotless and the beds are amazingly comfortable. A gourmet breakfast is included on their second floor and they keep cookies and coffee out all day. There is wine and cheese also comp every day from 5 till 8. We liked the fact that there weren't any screaming little kids...very quiet and mature.
Their restaurant downstairs is really good too. You really don't feel like you're in midtown, as you see the NY Public Library from the hotel. The help is first rate. Awesome! We will return.

Room Tip: We loved the junior king suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beffyEssexFells_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night holiday in Manhattan. From check-in onwards, the staff was very welcoming. The room was very nice, bed very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. The buffet breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening were both very good and it was so nice to have the space in the lounge just to hang out in the afternoon if we wished.
I don't think you come here to watch TV, but we did try to watch a DVD one night, and found the TV so small and located at an awkward angle, that we gave it up. The room on the 6th floor was a bit noisy, but not unexpected for the busy location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cath2oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#2 of 468 in New York City
359 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £213 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing