We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Library Hotel is in a central location at Madison Avenue and 41st Street in midtown Manhattan, convenient to all locations for both business travelers and leisure travelers. The staff is friendly and well trained. The rooms and bathrooms are reasonably sized for a small, boutique hotel and well equipped. There is plenty of storage space for your clothing and other items in the rooms. The hotel provides a complimentary continental breakfast in the second floor lounge as well as wine and snacks in the evening. There is a hip and active bar on the top floor with a rooftop deck. The rooms could use more easily accessible electric plugs for all the gadgets we all travel with and usually need to plug in at the same time. I had to unplug the desk lamp in order to plug in my laptop charger.

One other item to be aware of is that the address is 299 Madison Avenue even thought the hotel entrance is on 41st Street. This can cause an issue with a car service as they always look for the entrance on Madison Avenue even if you specifically tell them the entrance is on Madison.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Madison Avenue can offer a view of the main NYC Public Library. There is only one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Traveltheworld57_10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you mention that the entrance of the Hotel is located just East of Madison Avenue on 41st Street. It is typical for New York City buildings to have the address on the Avenue and the main entrance on the side street where it is easier for cars to pull up. To prevent this from being a problem, we have made an effort to clearly specify the actual front entrance to the Library Hotel is on East 41st Street by writing it everywhere we could including on our website, email confirmations, and even on TripAdvisor so that our arriving guests know to make their cab driver aware. It would really be helpful if you could let me know where you saw our address where the entrance wasn’t clearly specified so that I can see if It can be modified, to help make our future guests’ arrival as easy and effortless as possible.

If you have any other questions or comments I would love to hear from you directly.

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
Robert@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,212
    584
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
508
2,181
378
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The library, a converted office rather than an office in downtown New York, just off Madison Avenue, is a small hotel in a good downtown location. It has considerable charm, with lots of books, and reasonably attentive staff.
However, the Library has ONE MAJOR FLAW... which may put many off.... It has no sound proofing on the windows. This is downtown Manhattan which is 24/7 NOISY ... so bring earplugs or else stay out all night. Otherwise find another boutique hotel.

Room Tip: check if the rooms have sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Charles D,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. New York is a vibrant city and whether you’re uptown, midtown or downtown, you are correct, there is lots of noise. We run very high occupancy so our hotel is filled nearly every night and for the vast majority of our guests, as you can see from the reviews, we do actually provide an oasis from the hum of the city, but we understand that some guests are more sensitive to the sounds, often if they are coming from more serene environments. For those guests, we want to do all we can to ensure a good night sleep, which is why we offer a selection of sleep aids like ear plugs, a white noise machine, eye masks and much more as part of our Escape to Serenity Sleep Program. We even offer Sleep Phones which were developed by a doctor to block the environmental sounds while providing relaxing tones to lull the body into a natural and restful sleep. If you know you’re a light sleeper you can request these items when making your reservation or a simple call to the Front Desk from your room and we can deliver them to you in a moment’s notice. It is our goal to be your home away from home when you’re in New York and we will do whatever we can to ensure your comfort.

If you or any other TripAdvisor members have questions, comments or suggestions for other items that would help ensure a good night of sleep for all our guests, I would love to hear from you.

Thank you,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing
Robert@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
252 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I only wish there had been more books... not as many in the room to peruse as I'd hoped. But the library area with food was great, and the Dewey Decimal theme for the floor/room numbering, antique card catalog in the lobby, and proximity to the NY public library all went so well with the theme. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I just spent ten days at this Hotel, I returned on 30/05/2013. The location is two minutes walk from Grand Central station and about 15 minutes walk to Time Square. The staff are very friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I had a queen size room which was roomy enough for two. The breakfast was more than adequate, and the free wine and cheese in the evening was perfect to get you in the right mood for the night ahead. I would definitely recommend this Hotel and if I return to NY. I will definitely be booking there again. Don't hesitate just book you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Library Hotel for 3 nights ....it is a Charming and Beautiful hotel in NYC. The Library Bar was incredible and the drinks and food in the hotel were spectacular but pricy!! It is not close to a metro stop and you have to walk 10 min to the closest one. The rooms are tastefully decorated and stylish!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Cannot say enough great things about this lovely and charming hotel! My daughter and I stayed in the Dinosaur room which is a Deluxe Room and one of the larger because it is a corner room. From the helpful staff to the wonderful breakfast and snacks, no small detail goes unnoticed at the Library Hotel. Even the chocolates they leave at the turn down service are library themed. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkschroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for five nights at this hotel. The breakfast and happy hour are excellent, the room was immaculate and clean, and the service was excellent. The rooftop bar is a little hidden gem to seek peace after hectic New York City touring. We would go back again and stay. The rooms are European small, and the beds modest, but you get what you pay for in New York City!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing