We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dylan Hotel NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Andaz 5th Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Kitano New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,308)
Filter reviews
4,308 results
Traveller rating
3,555
612
99
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,555
612
99
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreading roomwine and cheeselibrary themegrand central stationpetite roomdewey decimal systemmadison and vinebook loversrooftop barlove roomnew yorkthe ny public librarybryant parkevery eveningcontinental breakfastbagelsfloor lounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,104 - 2,109 of 4,308 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I really enjoyed staying here, I had two stop over stays one coming and one going, both times they upgraded my room, which had a very comfortable bed, very clean. Bathroom was a good size, well stocked with good quality towels, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries etc. I loved the mirror in the bedroom, with points for hairdrying etc. I still fail to understand why so many expensive hotels do not have women in mind when they design dressing tables!

Breakfast was on the second floor, good selection of continental breakfast and all night tea and coffee, although I still much prefer tea making facilities in my room which they do not offer, as I was jet lagged I had to make very early morning visits to the second floor however the coffee machine was excellent and it was nice the facility was there. Complimentary papers are plentiful not that you are short of anything to read here with all the amazing books on every shelf.

Wine and cheese served here early evening.

I used the hotel restaurant for lunch and dinner and felt the food was good value for money and a good standard. Service was excellent.

I also used the bar which is not quite such good value for money, 6 glasses of house wine (although good quality came to nearly 90 dollars). We all drank different colours so not able to buy a bottle sadly. Nevertheless the service was excellent and although the bar is quite small it is comfortable and relaxed. Just over the road there is an excellent wine merchant should you want to take wine back to the room, much cheaper than the mini bar. However water is complementary which is a nice touch.

I thought the staff were incredibly polite and efficient, very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 332SMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely consider going back to it.

Location is excellent and is very close to some major attractions and Grand Central Station. They provide a taxi service to and from airports if you require it. Ask for Jose.

Staff were friendly in a very genuine way and the front desk staff were very helpful in providing maps and advice etc regarding all the big sites. They also had various vouchers for discounts at some attractions so may be worth mentioning to the staff when you arrive where you planning to visit.

The website provides all the information regarding the hotel. Each room has a theme. When booking you could request a particular theme and they will try to accommodate you. Buffet style breakfast is excellent and included in the price. A wonderful point about this hotel is that they offer complementary wine and cheese in the reading room in the late afternoon/early evening. It’s wonderful to come back to after a busy day sight seeing and it recharges you for the evening.

My girlfriend and I stayed in a queen sized room which was roomy enough for us. The room was lovely with lots of interesting and a very beautiful bathroom. Room included complementary water and also had a TV with DVD player. Hotel also had Wi-Fi.

A real gem of a hotel. Something a bit different and gets all the basics right. Very impressed and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a small hotel filled with wonder. I loved the well-appointed room, the impeccable service, the breakfast and, of course, the wine and prosecco in the afternoons. There is also a terrace where you can enjoy your morning coffee before the evening crowds make it a bit noisy, but still pleasant to visit and enjoy a drank. If you are lucky enough to find an available room on your next visit to NYC, try to book early enough and prepay, this way you can save considerable money. The location could not be better because you are close to so many attractions and everything is extremely well-kept, very clean. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Wonderful, unique hotel in great location near NY public library. Room was a bit small for three people but was well-appointed and comfortable. Books everywhere in hotel which is heaven for avid readers like myself. Only negative was the lukewarm service at the Madison & Vine restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Library in July for a week and we left it with regret.
We chose it because we are great readers and book lovers and the idea of a hotel / library excited us.
Set in a style building, it is in a great location just few steps from the subway at the Grand Station, from Times Square and from the famous Bryant Park: a little gem full of events open to anyone (my wife went for a morning Tai Chi lesson ).
The hotel is well furnished with a good breakfast in the reading room on the first floor, an excellent restaurant on the ground floor and a popular bar on the 14th floor with views of the surrounding skyscrapers and frequented by New Yorkers. Do not underestimate the cheese and wine buffet offered in the late afternoon and the note let every evening in the room with the weather the day after, always correct.
Our room with bathroom (the 700.001) was spacious than the average, well equipped and very clean.
All staff, from the doorman to the plumber, is friendly and happy to help their guests.
If you are traveling without a computer no problem: 2 free internet terminals are at your disposal.
Thanks again to all the staff for the pleasant stay and the Library will be our hotel for the next visit to the Big Apple.
Absolutely recommended ,it has the appropriate prices to the service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegogro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews