We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Giraffe - the sister hotel to Library. Giraffe is much closer to what the hotel line (The Library Collection) promises. The staff at both are friends, and the general set-up (re: room service, meals, rooms, hotel energy, premise) are the same. But, Giraffe does it better. This hotel is in a great location if you like the shopping on Madison Avenue and Park Avenue. But, there was just something missing. They seem to be trying to fill the void between boutique hotel and luxury line. They are not hitting it exactly as needed. Meaning, this is a very clean, kind hotel. Just not the wonderful "library" experience they tout.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, General Manager at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Jonathan1776,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry if we in any way fell short of fulfilling the experience you anticipated. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you offline to see where the expectation and reality may not have been a match. If you could share any details on what we could do in the future to ensure that we exceed your expectations, we would certainly be grateful.

As much as we would love to be the perfect hotel for everyone, we also recognize that every traveler has different requirements and depending on what you are looking for, our small hotel may not be the right fit for your needs. However, if there is something we can address, we would be pleased to. We embrace this opportunity to connect with the TripAdvisor community in this way, as we regularly make genuine improvements to our service that are inspired by our guests insights.

I can be reached at robert@libraryhotel.com and I look forward to speaking with you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,944 - 1,950 of 4,254 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I can't even begin to describe how great this place is. I came to NY to propose to my long time girlfriend and I did heavy research on what hotel we were going to stay at. I ended up booking the love room (one of a kind!) and this hotel never missed a beat. It is so unique and authentic and very high class. The service that we received was second to none. Everyone went out of their way to make sure that this weekend went perfectly for us. One of the attendants, Alvin, was chasing cabs left and right all over Madison and 41st every single time we needed a cab. He truly went above and beyond as if he were a long time personal friend of mine. I've never been treated so well. The free passes to the NYSC was also a nice touch as we love to workout. Lastly, the complimentary breakfast and the wine and cheese receptions are understated on the website. You truly get a wide array of choices and food to where you're almost overwhelmed. I can't wait to come back to this place to cherish the memories. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in the Library hotel for a few nights on our honeymoon (in the love room of course!) and loved every minute of it. After reading the various reviews of the hotel itself, its facilities and location, all of which I wholeheartedly confirm are excellent, it was the staff that really made our stay the most perfect we could have asked for. From the front desk check in making us feel so welcome after a 12 hour flight, to the breakfast staff sourcing special food requests for our following days, everyone took pleasure in making our stay as comfortable as possible.

A special mention though has to go to Tim Gerhold, the front office manager. He couldn't have been more helpful with the booking process, and I think he was almost more excited about it being our honeymoon than we were! He went out of his way to recommend and book a romantic restaurant (Robert in Columbus Circle) and to ensure they knew it was our honeymoon, and also in recommending and booking theater tickets for us. We were telling people how amazing the Library hotel was without having even stayed there yet!

Room Tip: The love room is the only one in the hotel with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of November on business. I'm not keen on the mega-hotels in midtown, where you disappear in the crowds. The Library is a really cosy alternative. Great location, good extras (nice rooms to read/work, breakfast or cocktail in - if that's a verb..) The rooms are tiny but comfortable. Surrounded by things to do, and check out the ice-skating/shopping behind the NY Library over the road -Bryant Park? - it wasn't there when I lived here in the 80s but is a fun place in the evening. Oh, and excellent service. Thank you! Will definitely return..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife stayed at the sister hotel in Prague 5 years ago and since then this hotel has been on our wish list. We were not disappointed.

The library theme is brilliantly done and my wife loved the 'Foot of Books' that were selected for her from the Strand bookstore. Our room had a travel theme and there was an eclectic mix of travel-related books in the room to flick through.

The hotel staff are very friendly and the concierge who helped us to choose restaurants was really knowledgeable. She helped us find dinner in the Meatpacking district and brunch on the East Side. She also gave us some recommendations for next time we're in New York. The helpfulness of staff also extended to helping us to flag down a taxi on Madison Avenue during the evening rush hour.

The location was, for us, perfect. It was a block from the NY Public Library and very easy to stroll up 5th Avenue to MoMA or around the corner to Grand Central Terminus for cocktails.

The hotel has a restaurant on the ground floor and a bar on the top floor (with an open terrace) and we tried both. What was an unexpected bonus for us was the free cheese and wine in a private lounge between 5pm and 7pm every day. It seemed to be popular with the other guests, too. (I enjoyed it even though I don't like cheese).

For the rest of the day the lounge has tea, coffee, fruit, etc. The hotel were happy for us to make use of the lounge on our last day in New York, even after we had checked out at 1pm.

All in all the hotel was everything we hoped it would be and I'm very happy to recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The rooms at the Library were a hidden treasure ... the rooms were comfortable, updated and the bathroom was modern with great features and amenities. The service from the front desk was top-notch. The only negatives about this hotel were: no workout facility. I probably won't stay here again since there isn't a place to workout. Also, The hallways on the room levels are very dark and with lots of corners - very cute, but as a single traveler I didn't feel safe in the hallways or elevator area. Also, I wish the staff was more accommodating to help guests flag down a cab. I left the hotel, with luggage, and no offer to help with a car. The bell service could be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, General Manager at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Erica J,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are concerned that you did not completely comfortable, and we will be contacting you privately to see if you might share with us what may have contributed to that feeling. Rest assured, our guests’ safety and comfort are our top priorities and we have been fortunate never to have any issues in that department. We take security very seriously, which is why all of our common areas, including guest floors and elevators, are under 24 hour video surveillance. Our desk and front door are manned 24 hours a day. We look forward to speaking with you to listen to any suggestions you have as to what might make you feel more at ease in the future.

Outstanding service is what we pride ourselves on so it was very disappointing to hear you did not get the assistance you needed on departure. It is our normal practice to have the front desk agent ask all departing guests if they need assistance with their luggage or help hailing a cab. I’m so deeply sorry that we failed to offer this service to you when you left. In instances when the bellman is with another guest, any available Front Desk agent should have stepped in to provide you with the same assistance. Because of your comment, we are going to highlight the value of that very critical point of service with our staff in our ongoing training.

Because our hotel only has 60 rooms, a fitness center on site would likely be very minimal and not get much usage. We know there are travelers who consider fitness a top priority and want more options available, such as amazing fitness classes and extensive equipment which is why we have always partnered with New York Sports Club. All guests are welcome to complimentary passes to any of their gyms in Manhattan. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of three of their facilities: one is in Grand Central at 200 Park Ave, the second is on 36th and Madison Ave, and the third is on 41st and Third Ave. Our Front Desk agents usually explain all of our complimentary amenities at check-in so I sincerely apologize that we failed to communicate this to you when you arrived. We will reemphasize to our staff how vital it is to share our complimentary amenities with all of our guests since we can never be certain who is familiar with everything the hotel has to offer. If an in house fitness center is something important to you, we understand and we are grateful that there are so many options of hotels in New York that everyone can find something that perfectly fits their needs. If however, there is something we could provide in the room for you, such as a yoga mat and a DVD or some hand weights, please let us know. We would like to make you happy.

We’re thrilled that you thought your guest room was a hidden treasure and that you enjoyed the comfort, features, and amenities. Thank you as well for acknowledging our top-notch front desk. With your feedback, we will work on continually improving our service. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back, to have another chance to make you feel more at home as well as to show you the top level service that all our guests deserve.

Thank you again for sharing your perspective. If you do have time, I would be grateful to hear from you at Robert@libraryhotel.com

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Library Hotel is fabulous in every aspect.
The staff were great and the attention to detail was perfect.
New York is not a place where you would spend most of the time in the hotel but when you need a little down time it is a great place to relax.
The location is ideal, walking distance to anywhere in midtown and one block away from Grand Central.
Definitely a place I would return to and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,842 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £184 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing