We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We've been to Manhattan many times, and for the past several years have stayed at a different hotel that we had lately become less than enchanted with. So, the library hotel was new to us. From the moment we entered the hotel, we felt charmed by the stimulating ambiance: card catalogues behind the reception desk flanked by books shelved in the main lobby. Although it was a sub-freezing day (12 degrees), we were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Our entire four day stay was delightful; we liked our smallish but immaculate, well organized, and appointed 7th floor room, themed "paintings", as well as the continental breakfasts that included boiled eggs, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, pastries, toast, coffee and expresso.
The front desk was readily at our service whenever we needed a taxi, and we especially appreciated the advice we received on where to catch the subway and which subway to take to the Soho and Union Station/ Financial district shopping we wanted to do.
Being the bibliophiles that we are, the hotel felt like home to us. More importantly, the hotel is so incredibly convenient to the theatre district, MOMA, the subway, and other major venues we wanted to see that we were thrilled about this new find.
On our last day in the city, we appreciated the 1 PM check out time and the ability to have our luggage stored all afternoon as we had a late departure time. We took advantage of having access to the Reading Room and enjoyed tea and some reading time before having to head home.
The only negative was the bedding. We both woke up with kinks in our necks from the less than comfy pillow choices. no matter- not a deal breaker and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We agree with those who recommend a floor that's higher up. Our room was quiet and we couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,135
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,133
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I booked this based on the reviews on trip advisor. This small hotel is a block from Grand Central and is between Grand Central and the Public Library.

THE POSITIVES:
Location is away from the hustle and bustle of Time Square, which is conveniently accessed by walking (weather permitting) or catching the Time Square Shuttle from Grand Central. If doing so, enter from Vanderbilt entrance (cnr E 42nd and Vanderbilt).

Free wifi is very good; the speed is pretty decent and not just tonkenistic. Also, hotel has 2 computer terminals and a printer for guests on the second floor.

Complimentary breakfast is a bonus, together with all day snacks and coffee on demand.

Complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings is also a bonus but not if, like me, you're not a wine drinker.

The staff are generally very friendly.

Rooms are generally pretty quiet; I was across from the elevator. Unlike other hotels, you don't really hear your neighbours or corridor noise. Street noise is also pretty non-existent from the room. You get the odd inconsiderate guests that return late in the night and speak at the top of their voices in the corridor but that's more about the people than the hotel.

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS:
The petite rooms are SMALL. If two people occupy the room, they need to either be very small statured or sleep on top of each other.

The hotel's rates are quite high. Given the choice available in New York, the price point is quite high considering the size of the rooms. You get a lot of added extras (breakfast, wine and cheese, wifi) but it still has quite a high price point.

Housekeeping is sometimes a bit slow. I got back to the hotel around 3pm to find the room still not yet serviced.

There wasn't a iron and ironing board in the room. There really wasn't any space to store these in the Petite room. You may be able to get housekeeping to supply one; I didn't check.

Air con can be a bit noisy.

OVERALL:
A good hotel but not a great hotel given the premium price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to minimise street noise. Do not pick Petite Room unless you're travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, General Manager at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Colway,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience was pleasant and that you enjoyed our convenient midtown location, complimentary Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, 24 hour refreshments and our evening wine & cheese reception. I am so sorry that you were not offered any non-alcoholic beverage options. Due to a previous TripAdvisor comment, we started offering cranberry spritzers as an option upon request. Thanks to your comment, we have taken the extra step to place a sign right next to the wine and Prosecco. We want all of our guests to know that if anyone prefers a non-alcoholic beverage, all they need to do is ask. One of our wonderful clubroom hostesses would be thrilled to provide another option such as a cranberry spritzer, orange juice, pineapple juice, or soda. We take pride in providing outstanding service for everyone so we appreciate hearing the guest perspective when it helps us refine our service.

Indeed, our Petite Rooms are small. While most of our rooms have Queen sized or King sized beds, our Petite Rooms only have a full sized bed. We often recommend that they might be more suitable for a solo traveler, but we do have many couples who book and enjoy them so it is really about what you are used to and what your expectations are. Since it is so vital for our guests to make informed decisions about what room type they are booking based on how many people will be staying, the size of the room as well as the size of the bed, we try to assist by providing as many details as possible. On our website guests can find images of all of our room types, measurements in imperial units and the metric system, 3D floor plans, and virtual tours. In addition, because of feedback like yours, we have started a new campaign called #TipsforTravelers where we intend to use visuals to inform travelers and help them make the most of their stay by booking the room that’s best for them. We’re excited to share the first of our #TipsforTravelers that showcases the bed in each of our room types, their dimensions, and how they would accommodate two people (http://www.libraryhotel.com/download/15041). We truly hope this visual will help future travelers envision exactly what to expect before they make their room selection.

We’re so sorry that your room was not cleaned at your preferred time. It is true that our housekeeping staff provides daily service from 9AM-4PM. They usually begin with preparing the rooms for new arrivals, as we do not want to keep anyone from checking in as soon as they arrive. For those guests that are staying over and wish to receive service earlier in the day, we are always delighted to try to fulfill this request by placing the “Please Dust My Books” sign on the door knob. That tells our housekeepers you are anxious for earlier service. All of our staff, including our housekeepers are always ready to assist and provide any items such as an iron and ironing board, which is in the closet of the Deluxe Rooms and Junior Suites, but on request in the Petite Rooms to allow for more space.

Thank you once again for choosing us for your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back soon! I can be reached at robert@libraryhotel.com so please let me know if there is anything I can do to help make your next reservation more comfortable. For the best value available for our hotel, please use the TripAdvisor Special Offer! It is always the best price for our hotel.

Best Regards,
Robert Rawlins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the New Year period, and suffered delays flying home to the UK with the inclement weather... Our five night stay became a ten night stay. What hardship!

Tim and his staff could not do enough for us. Rooms were pencilled in despite vagaries of would we catch a flight, or not catch a flight. Very understanding reception desk staff.

The breakfast, and evening wine and cheese offerings set the hotel out from the crowd. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and well appointed.

A gem of a place, you must give it a visit when next in New York...

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Easytiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is fantastic. It's small but perfectly formed. All the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. It's in great location for exploring Manhattan. The complimentary wifi, breakfast, wine & cheese, teas & coffees again were all superb and these could be taken to your room if you preferred.
We choose this from looking at the reviews before we went and we certainly were not disappointed. We would definitely recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was such a friendly, helpful, beautiful hotel! Being "newbies" to NYC, my husband and I had no idea what to expect, but this hotel has spoiled us, I think for the future. Can't imagine any experience that could've been better. The staff was extremely helpful, above and beyond the norm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Another Outstanding Stay at The Library Hotel , a Jewel in the heart of Manhatton !!
Very centrally situated , the rooms are comfortably fitted & maintained with every facility you could wish for.Coffee & biscuits are available throughout the day & wine. & cheese etc are set out for residents from five pm every day . But what makes the Hotel so enjoyable is the staff, pleasant,efficient , so helpful & accomodating , nothing is too much trouble for them.
Tim (the Manager) & the Librarians have our grateful Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.
Tim ,Justine, Christian, Tom & Alvan were so helpful in arranging nightclub bookings ,taxis, etc.
A Special Thankyou to Alvan who took time to explain the rules & tactics of American Football to my Husband.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beethoven1CumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Loved the Library!Beautiful clean room. Friendly staff. Great hospitality with free coffee , chocolates and more all day. Great complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and beautiful breakfast in the morning. So nice you want to move in:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing