We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at the Library Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at the Library Hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Arrived after a long flight from the UK. Taken straight to our room and given a tour of the facilities. Service was lovely.

The Reading room was a welcome break before going up to our room to get ready for an evening out.

The rooms were lovely and clean. Intimate and cosy, perfect for a trip with your loved one. Bathroom could have been better but only due to a more shallow bath than I am used to! It was clean anywho!

About 5 minutes walk from Times Square, 1 minute from Grand Central and about 10 minutes max to Central Park.

Room Tip: Love Room with the balcony overlooking Madison Avenue is a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,273
    596
    94
    25
    16
See reviews for
524
2,214
387
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the Library for a week in a petite room with my partner. We were a little worried that it would be too small for the two of us, but it suited us well and wasn't much smaller than a standard NYC hotel room. It was well laid out so we never felt like we were tripping over one another.
The room was very pleasant, comfortable and well appointed, though not particularly remarkable. The staff in the hotel were excellent and couldn't do enough to help-out and make sure our stay was comfortable.
The breakfasts and evening receptions were well catered, though not particularly interesting or varied. The breakfast room can also be used throughout the day as a lounge, and it was great to have somewhere it sit other than the room. It was private and quiet. The roof top area was mostly booked for conferences during our stay, so we never actually went up there.
The location is great - very close to Grand Central - but the hotel feels quite peaceful (for NY at least).
A pleasant stay in a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have stayed at plenty of expensive, luxe hotels in NYC. The Library Hotel rates high for it's attentive service, quiet (for NY) location, comfortable bed and fair price. Front Office Manager Timothy Gerhold was particularly impressive, making reservations, suggesting sights, and making us feel taken care of. The 2nd floor breakfast service and food was lovely. The rooms, though small (again, it's NY!) were always clean and turned down. And the top floor lounge is quiet and attractive. The hotel is highly ranked for good reason.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the Library Hotel in January 2013 and we loved it. We booked 2 interconnecting rooms and our room enjoyed a view of the NY Library. The bed was huge and so comfortable that it was difficult to wake up early enough to get out and sight see! The staff at this hotel were so accommodating - they found tickets for musicals, basketball and one member even escorted my son and I on the train to Queens on his way home to his recommendation of a good hairdresser. My blow wave was great and so was the subway trip!! Attention to service like this is rare. The breakfasts are simple but tasty and relaxing as were the complimentary snacks and drinks in the early evening. A great way to chill without decision making after a busy day out. Perfect position for tourists with Grand Central Station around the corner and easy walking distance to Fifth Ave, Times Square and Central Park.

Room Tip: We booked two interconnecting rooms. I loved our room that had a bay window with a view of the New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

From the moment we booked this hotel we knew we had made the right decision. We travelled to NYC for the first time to celebrate our son's 21st and nothing was too much trouble for the amazing super efficient and always so genuinely friendly staff at The Library. We arranged to have delicious mini cupcakes from Baked by Melissa in our wonderful suite and had a fantastic surprise when we found a complimentary bottle of prosseco also to celebrate the occasion. The breakfast the daily cheese and wine ( gosh what a treat) the amazing location and just the pure joy of a city centre hotel dedicated to literature! Thank you so much Bill and all the staff we would just love to return!

Room Tip: The junior suite is so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginthepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just got back from staying at this great hotel for five nights. What a wonderful place to be. It is so well placed for visiting all the main destinations in New York, and lots of the smaller more intimate ones as well. Grand Central Station, The Chrysler Building, Fifth Avenue and The Empire State Building are within minutes walking distance. It is an oasis in a bustling hive of activity, but once in through the front door there is such an air of calm that it is hard to believe where you actually are. All the members of staff were so helpful. Every question was answered making our stay a great experience. A lovely breakfast is provided daily, and throughout the day you may help yourself to coffee, pastries and fruit. Later in the evening you are welcome to help yourself to cheese and wine. You must try this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

From the included breakfast and wine and hordeuvres with the most pleasant staff you will ever meet, to the rooftop bar, to the smiles and warm greetings from the staff who recognizes you and calls you by name, we really enjoyed this hotel. The room was comfortable with the only drawback being a furnace that was loud when it kicks on and we upgraded to a room with a king bed and nice view and are glad we did. It was convenient but not too close. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j-sfromdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing