We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NY City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed three nights and loved every minute of it. Its location is excellent, within walking distance of the NY Public Library, Times Square, Lincoln Center and other NY sites. Service exceeded our expectations. We loved having breakfast in the Reading Room and being treated with utmost courtesy. Staff is very friendly and professional. Definitely, we will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ileana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 4,175 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Library Hotel is simply a wonderful little hotel , superbly located with excellent staff and a very good restaurant .
We stayed at the library Hotel from March 6th to the 10th for a little family getaway.We chose the Library hotel because of the location , situated between the Grand Central Station and the NY Public Library and of course being a ten minute walk from Time Square and Rockefeller Center.
We were greeted by a warm and efficient staff and they checked us in in no time .Our room was situated on the third floor corner unit facing the NY public library and looking down on Madison Ave,a beautiful NYC view ! The room was clean well thought out and came with all the amenities listed on there web site .The hotel offers wine and cheese each day starting at 5 and we took advantage of this during our stay ;)
.The wine is good and the staff are always attending to what ever you might need .
Downstairs there is a restaurant that provides all the quality food a good restaurant in NYC should !
All in all the library Hotel fulfilled all our expectations and made our trip to NYC one to remember, thanks guys

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had another excellent stay at this fine hotel. You are treated not simply as a customer but as an honored guest. The people in all departments treated us again extremely well, remembering details from our previous visit, including special needs. We were greeted every morning and evening with great warmth and kindness. In an exceptionally cold winter this truly felt as a home away from home to come back to after a day's efforts and explorations. We browsed the many tempting books in the "library" and all over. The Library Hotel is a truly special place with truly special people who make your stay in Manhattan unique.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingeborg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Library Hotel exceeded all my expectations! I have stayed at many international chain hotels all over the world-many of them are 6 star hotels but The Lbrary Hotel is so much better. Even before I arrived, they called me to welcome me, upon arrival, they invited us to have breakfast while waiting for our room. During our 5 night stay, they were gracious and accomodating.

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe queen room which was spacious for my daughter and I. Beds were very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved every minute of our 5 night stay here in February. The Airport bus from Newark dropped us off a couple of hundred yards away from the hotel (it was also the first pick-up on the return trip) and although we arrived before the check-in time, we were invited to relax and take tea and cake in the delightful reading room until our room was ready. Our deluxe room was on the 12th floor (Religion) and was a beautiful retreat from the hustle and bustle of New York and the snow. It was perfectly big enough for the two of us and very tastefully appointed. The location of the hotel was superb, being within walking distance of many major sights and also convenient for buses and the subway. It was lovely to come in from the cold and help ourselves to a coffee in the afternoon, and the cheese and wine reception was a treat every evening. We were so well looked after by the Librarians that we want to return. Any other hotel in NYC would not be the same.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room on the 12th floor was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms. Our room was petite with only a full bed but it was a great excuse to cuddle. Also, great breakfast (giant NYC bagels) to get you fueled for a fun day in the city. Best of all, complimentary 24 hour tea/coffee snacks available. This came in handy as a warm up to the cold weather. Staff were all extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very friendly service, cosy feeling. However, rooms are on the small side, air conditioning is noise and temperature regulation doesn't really work very well. Pillows are too hard. There are better beds in NYC. Overall a nice place but there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 172albertot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, General Manager at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Alberto T,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and for contacting me personally offline as well. Although we exchanged messages privately, I would also like to respond publicly for the benefit of other TripAdvisor members. We greatly appreciate feedback and we welcome the opportunity to use the guest perspective as we continue making improvements at the hotel.

I am so sorry to hear that the beds were not ideal for you. Providing a comfortable stay is one of our top priorities so I would like to apologize once again that the pillows and mattress in the room were too hard for your taste. We realize that pillow and mattress firmness is a very personal preference, which is why we offer our “Escape to Serenity” sleep program. The list of amenities is located in every room on either the desk or nightstand and offers a range of amenities that we are happy to deliver to your room including foam pillows, low-fill pillows, and a featherbed mattress topper. Because of your comment, we will try putting the card of options directly on the pillow so it will not be missed by our guests. I’m also delighted to share that we are currently in the process of a complete mattress replacement project and have already replaced the mattresses in many rooms. These new Serta Double Sided Pillowtop mattresses have been receiving many positive reviews so we are very excited to soon have them in all 60 rooms. The project should be completed by the end of 2014 but in the meantime, I’ve added to your guest profile your preference for a room with a new mattress or a feather mattress topper, and some low-fill feather pillows. Please let us know if there is anything else we can offer you to ensure you get a great night’s sleep every time you stay with us.

After receiving your email I notified our engineer of the issue you mentioned with the air conditioning unit. He double checked the entire unit in both of the rooms that you had reserved. He did not report anything unusual, but just in case we cleaned the filters and performed regular maintenance to help ensure the system is running optimally. Additionally, as a part of our “Escape to Serenity” sleep program we also offer items to help guests sleep including white noise machines, ear plugs, and SleepPhones which help block environmental sounds, if additional assistance is needed.

I am glad that you enjoyed our friendly service and cozy atmosphere and I would love to welcome you back in the near future so that you can give us another try. Please feel free to contact me personally at Robert@libraryhotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
571 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £192 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing