We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Impressed”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for 6 night in March. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in prime location; within walking distance of many sites.
The hotel itself is clean, the staff are friendly. Breakfast was lovely, typical continental. Happy hour was from 5-8; wine, proseco and a selection of cheeses made for a very nice touch.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,237
    592
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
510
2,203
380
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

What a gem this hotel is. Having stayed in a number of hotels in different parts of Manhattan this place is grand. The little extras in the reading room, the location and the friendly staff give this hotel an edge. Really worth a visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Although the address was listed incorrectly on Google maps, once we arrived there from our walk from Penn Station we couldn't have been happier. We were on teh sixth floor in the 600.001 advertising. This was quite fitting since I have been overally obsessed with Mad Men. It was filled with advertising books including ad books from the 1960's. Perfect!
We stayed for Wilde Weekend which included a hard cover picture of dorian gray book, breakfast each mornin, two signature drinks at the rooftop bar and chocolates upon arrival. The rooms was cozy , but nice. The bathroom was also small but fine. Robes and slippers and music playing upon our arrival which I love!
The breakfast was a wonderful continiental with any type of coffee imaginable! Fresh bagels and pastries, fruit, etc.
The rooftop bar is wonderful. Bartenders and servers were super friendly. Front desk staff was very helpful as well! I recommend the Hemmingway at the bar. Delicious!
The hotel is on a busy corner and the room was a bit noisy at night and early morning while trying to sleep. A higher floor might have made a difference.

Overall we loved this place and hope to make it back soon and to try another of their properties. Perfect stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are small , we had the queen. Next time I would splurge on the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After reading all the already great reviews on tripadvisor regarding the Library Hotel, my family and I decided to book up to celebrate my 21st birthday for a six day stay in New York at the Library Hotel.

To start with, any pre visit questions we had, the reservations team were quick to come back with us with the answers and couldn't have been more helpful in organising our airport transfers.

On arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful concierge member by the name of "Alvin" who was absolutely superb and someone we made great friends with. We were swiftly checked in and shown up to our rooms and boy was we impressed! The rooms very spotless, not a dirty mark in sight. The rooms were beautifully decorated and appointed generously with various amenities. We had the deluxe rooms which were very suspicious and suited our needs perfectly, not a bad word to say about them. The housekeeping also did a superb job keeping the rooms spick and span!

Secondly is the location. This being our first visit to New York, we were all quite naive about our surroundings but were swiftly given maps by the front desk and shown where all the great places were to go. We quickly realised how central this hotel was to the main attractions, with just a quick 10 minute walk to times square or a 5 minute walk to grand central station. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

This hotel has that special quality of after having a busy day walking around the city, as soon as you step through those hotel doors, you are whisked away into a peaceful and tranquil place giving you that well needed relaxation, listening to soft music while enjoying complimentary cheese and wine, it doesn't get much better than that!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to New York and this Hotel certainly did meet and exceed our expectations on every level and made our visit that extra bit special.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. Deluxe room is perfect for a couple or a solo person. Wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The rooms are on the small side, per NYC hotels. But they are very nice. The serve (included) continental breakfast on the 2nd floor, as well as cheese and wine at 5:30, in the same room. Both are a nice departure from many NYC hotels. The location allows access to many locations. They have an agreed rate for town car service to/from Newark airport. We landed at Newark at 4:10, and the limo fee was a great deal at that hour. Very helpful staff. Also a nice rooftop bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Absolutely wonderful hotel! The cool library/book theme, lovely rooms, spotless facilities, friendly and pleasant staff, and great location would be enough, but the complimentary refreshments, breakfast and wine & cheese reception put this hotel over the top in service and amenities. Don't know if I could ever be happy anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I visit NYC twice yearly for business and Library Hotel is an ESSENTIAL part of an enjoyable stay. Many positive things have been said about this hotel on TripAdvisor and they are all true. The amenities are wonderful (location, breakfast, espresso machine, cleaniness, evening wine & cheese, book-theme are some of my favourites), but it is really the friendly, helpful and efficient spirit of the staff that elevates this place. This is not a budget hotel, but in terms of what you get and enjoyment of the stay, Library Hotel is worth every penny. The only thing that is missed is a fitness room, but from what I understand, a pass is provided for one off-site.

All the staff are fantastic, but a special shout-out of thanks to Billy at front desk, who last stay cheerfully changed our room (we weren't comfortable with the book "theme" of the first room).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petit-jour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing