We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful night in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent one night in this holiday and it was wonderful. We arrived slightly before check-in time and passed the time very comfortably in their Reading Room whilst housekeeping finished up with our room. The complimentary coffee and snacks were most welcome and impressively the room and snacks are available 24 hours a day. Our room was a very good size for New York and included a turndown service and lovely chocolates.

We enjoyed the cheese and wine they offer every day. A very reasonable array of snacks. In fact, between the complimentary breakfast and all the snacks on offer during the day, you could get away without eating in the city.

Our bed was very comfortable and although I did hear one or two garbage trucks in the night, it was mostly very quiet.

All in all, a beautiful hotel and we would certainly like to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jogirl1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 4,173 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Love this hotel, the second time we have stayed and we love it. we will be back on our next trip to New York ! The service is exceptional, location exceptional and the guest lounge is outstanding ! Nothing was too much trouble , makes for a relaxing stay amongst the hustle and bustle of such a great city

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here and it's still as good as I remember. You will really appreciate the second floor after a day of walking, where you can get a hot or cold drink with cheese and biscuits and just relax.

The front desk will let you borrow movies, they have a great range to choose from and lots for the kids.

The staff is very friendly and always helpful and even leave a card in your room each night telling you what the weather will be the next day. The hotel is only minutes away from Central Park and Time Square and there are lots of places to get dinner each day to take back to the hotel and eat it on Level 2 but it is very busy there from 5.30 to 8 pm, so you may not get a table.

Make sure you sample the chocolate's left on your pillow by the turn down service- they are delicious.

We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I spent three nights at the Library in April 2014. I could not have asked for a better hotel experience. The staff were incredible, the room was gorgeous (albeit small, as you would expect in Manhattan), the location was convenient, and the theming was simply perfect. My favourite part was the wine and cheese night each evening - a great way to relax after a busy day sightseeing.
I hope to return. Cannot imagine choosing to stay anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaInAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

An amazing experience - we loved the hotel, the library-themed rooms, the location, and a great, free breakfast [which would run you $25+ per person at a typical NYC hotel]. Rooms are good-sized for NYC as well, and there is a nice area to escape from everything. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very enjoyable place to stay in New York. The rooms are clean and welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask for advice on dinner spots or clubs or suggestions off the beaten track.The second floor/rooftop are great spots to read or eat or have a coffee. The atmosphere is calm and relaxed. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to provide recycling bins in the guest rooms and on the second floor for paper and plastic. As well, ear plugs with the turn-down service might be a good idea. After all, New York is "the city that never sleeps" and it's better to have the ear plugs on hand rather than to have to look for them in the middle of the night. That said, this hotel is well deserving of it's praises and I look forward to visiting there again.

Room Tip: rooms facing the New York Public Library offer a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JFGRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We recently spent three nights at The Library Hotel. The hotel is beautiful, the location is great and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We enjoyed meeting up with our traveling companions after a day of touring to enjoy wine and cheese in the Reading Room while talking about our adventures of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
560 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £194 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing