We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Perfect hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Library Hotel on a trip to NYC. The hotel is located just around the corner of Grand Central station. Our petite room was compact with a bath and shower and very clean. Everything was there. The free breakfast included fruit, coffee, bagels, toast and juice. The staff was helpful at all times. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jop12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,209
    583
    94
    24
    17
See reviews for
507
2,179
378
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I love this hotel and the warm, diligent staff. I am a solo traveler who loves to combine business with leisure and finding this hotel, small and centrally located, has made all the difference when I need peace and quiet and comfort. The service is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a lovely hotel this is.
We stayed here for 5 nights over Easter 2014 and could not have wished for a nicer place to stay.
Perfect location and we could see the New York Public Library from our window which was an added treat. Only a block from Grand Central and a block from 5th Avenue so perfect for getting around Manhattan.
Staff were extremely welcoming and could not have done more for us while we were there.
The them of the hotel and the rooms themselves are just perfect. I love books so it was always likely to be a winner but exceeded my expectations. We had a Petite room at the side of the hotel and while it was small it was perfectly laid out and everything that you could want for was there. There was even a bath tub which was nice surprise and very welcome after hours of walking. The bed was extremely comfy too.
Breakfasts were much more than I had expected and certainly set us up for the day. The tea, coffee and cookies were also very welcome at all times of the day and night. We did not make it to the evening cheese and wine but going by everything else at the Library I am sure it would have been very well done.
I have recommended this hotel to a lot of friends already who are maybe thinking of a trip to New York. I would not hesitate to go back or to one of the sister hotels.
A wonderful trip made all the nicer by this very lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The Petite rooms are plenty big enough if you are not planning on spending much time in the room (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Library hotel for 3 nights in April 2014. I had high expectations, seeing the reviews here and being a book lover.

It was honestly the nicest three days we could have hoped for. Immediately we were greeted with smiles, and the female receptionist/concierge was very patient with our (many) questions about New York. She recommended some great roof top bars, and pointed us in the right direction for cool coffee shops and independent boutiques.

Our room was small, but we knew to expect that. Despite the size, it was really nicely decorated, and the plug in the wall was international: genius! No need for adaptors.

What makes this hotel are the staff and the small touches they include. They have a lounge with loads of books and newspapers, with free coffee, tea, water, pastries and fruit all day. From 5-8pm they have a wine and cheese service - also included.

One receptionist/concierge which really made our stay was an Irish guy called Thomas. He really helped us plan a fab night out with dinner in Tao - the coolest restaurant we've ever been to - and then recommended some awesome clubs and bars. He was great to chat with, and at the end of our meal at Tao, our waitress brought us two sparkling sakes complimentary of our concierge. Details like this made our stay really special.

The location of the hotel is also great: it's in Midtown, so you can access Downtown or the Park very easily, and it's in walking distance from Rockefeller Plaza - and REALLY close to Grand Central, and the Library (of course). Plus they have passes to New York Sports Club gyms which you can use at loads of different branches.

We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a high room to get the least traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_ginger_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battle lake,mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked a surprise trip, in conjunction with my father, for my mother. The report was that their stay was over the top. We are from Minnesota and "Minnesota Nice" is a real phenomenon here so our standards in this regard are high. The Library delivered. My mother tells a story of using one of the hotel computers to check in for their departing flight. The process was taking longer than expected and she was standing up as all other chairs in the room were occupied. A staff member walked by, noticed she was standing, and returned with a chair. Things like that occurred throughout the length of their stay. Above and beyond at all times. The rooms were small but well appointed and clean. They'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank irishtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Small, comfortable and welcoming, with super-helpful and friendly staff. Amazing location - Midtown in every sense - from which it's possible to walk absolutely everywhere. The library theme is delightfully quirky, but not overbearing. The rooms are fairly small, but it's a city-centre hotel in an old building, so not surprising (and who's going to be spending much time in a hotel room in New York anyway?). The rooms are, however, extremely comfortable with very comfortable beds and good showers, along with all the other facilities you might want, while the evening chocolates and borrowable umbrella were greatly appreciated. Breakfast and evening buffets were a real treat and the 24-hour availability of coffee and snacks was such a nice touch. The ground floor restaurant/bar has great food and atmosphere as well. In short, it couldn't have been better. Thank you to everyone at the hotel, you made my visit truly memorable. A definite booking when I manage to get back to New York...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fabulous location. Great ground floor restaurant with a few outside tables, super service. Roof top bar was THE place to go at night. Great cocktails and outside heaters for chilly nights. Just loved the location, one block from Grand Central and bryant square.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing