We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay - never dissapoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #7 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd stay - never dissapoints”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our 3rd stay at the library, in a queen bed on the 12th floor. No noise issues, room was large enough by New York standards and the service was impeccable. If you need concierge services, especially for restaurant recommendations, just ask for Bill, (who impressively remembered us from our previous stay at the hotel) and looked after us.

The wii-fi coverage could do with a boost in the room we were in, but this was a minor inconvenience.

The staff aka 'Librarians' were fantastic, including those cleaning the rooms, serving breakfast and the wine and snacks in the afternoon, as well as the reception and door staff were without fault.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevoxB750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,237
    592
    94
    24
    16
See reviews for
510
2,203
380
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Library Hotel New York and it was amazing. The hotel is amazing. From the minute we checked in they made us feel special. Nothing was too much trouble, anything we asked for they got it for us and always with a smile. We stayed in the queen size room and it was bigger than your average uk hotel room and was well laid out and very comfortable a pleasure to return to each day with tired feet. Each night the hotel has a cheese and wine for the residents and this was fantastic. No limit on how much wine or bubbles as well as cheese and nibbles and was a fantastic way to round of your day of sightseeing. The location is amazing just round the corner from Central station and a 10 minute walk from Times Square. I could go on and on about this hotel!!! If you are looking for a central hotel that is different than your usual chains then this is the place. Location, amenities and to the staff a wonderful place to stay and I am very sad that our time came to an end and will return to stay on my next visit!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can't begin to thank you for the lovely room and the excellent service at the Library Hotel while I attended the Book Expo Conference in NYC. I was rushing around and the staff was so helpful and encouraging as I carried suitcases of catalogs and books back each day from the conference. Your stay was right there to help and I enjoy the room, food and people. It was decorated beautifully and with excellent taste. Thanks. Jan Kardys, Chairman, Unicorn Writers' Conference

Room Tip: Liquid soap in the bathroom would be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unicorn8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent location,excellent staff,room was small as expected from other reviews but not an issue for the amount of time you spend in room on a trip to New York, just cannot find anything to complain about this hotel ( i would if i could )

Room Tip: Stayed on 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful hotel as first timers to NYC were a little apprehensive but really no need to be. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were made so welcome all the staff were so helpful and made our stay very special. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have just returned from a fantastic six night stay at this hotel and was very impressed with pretty much everything. We had a 'Deluxe room with Queen Bed' - and although the room wasn't particularly big it was ample and the bed really comfortable. The staff were superb, really went out of their way to be as helpful as they possibly could be - going above and beyond. The included continental breakfast was great - a nice informal way to eat in the mornings whilst looking out over Madison or up towards the NYC Library. The prosecco and cheese available early evening was also very welcome and a nice touch.
We found the location really great and were able to explore lots of the city by foot but also by subway.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor was nice and quiet - never saw or heard another guest on this level, but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PorphyriaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Junior suites are a good size, roof bar great in spring and the free happy hour every day. Perfect location for shows and the park. The staff are all very helpful and friendly . This is the second time we've stayed and we will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing