We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff are welcoming and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite and our room was luxurious and we loved all the delightful touches that went along with the library theme of our room. Even though our room faced Madison Avenue, the noise and traffic outside was very muted and we had a perfect night's sleep. We had so much to do in New York but we did not want to leave the hotel. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast buffet in the morning and then a delicious afternoon wine and cheese spread after a busy day. It is such a beautiful and restful oasis in the city. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags for the day. Even though we were early, we were welcomed to use the Reading Room to relax and refresh. When we, reluctantly, had to leave we needed a cap and the bell captain went above and beyond trying to hail us a cab at a very busy time. We absolutely will stay at the Library Hotel again and again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farfalla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,141
    570
    93
    24
    16
See reviews for
496
2,137
372
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was my first time staying at this hotel, but I will surely stay here again. The midtown location was perfect for my trip itinerary, close to theater, shopping, and museums. What I particularly valued was the complimentary breakfast and early evening wine and cheese reception served in a lovely "dining room" on the 2nd floor. It was so convenient and tasty. It helped to make the hotel be a better value in a pricey city. My room was the petite queen which was comfortable for one (maybe two). All space was efficiently used and I didn't want for anything. Room was quiet and shades blocked out city lights. Hotel can supply other amenities too to help in you get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Me and my wife are very satisfied with our stay at Library Hotel. Very good service, perfect atmosphere and very nice room. We loved the interior in the hotel which made it personal still with a professional touch. Location is great and many things within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here in late May for 3 nights in a junior suite which, by NYC standards was spacious - and the hotel, though small in overall size, again by New York standards, means it also has much more intimacy, which is charming. From the get go, the hotel staff know your name and go out of their way to help you as much as possible - nothing is too much. They have a wonderful rooftop bar (watch out, the frozen lemonades are delicious and deadly! :) ), wonderful breakfast, complimentary WIFI throughout, and, a real treat is their 'cheese and wine' from 2-8pm every day! It's an abundance of good stuff and everybody participates to the full. Why not - your in vacation, right? Overall, the hotel is, of course, very clean, the rooms are a great standard and the location is spot in for most people visiting manhattan! being so centrally located! just 2 mins from Bryant Park / The Empire State Building / Grand central station... This hotel is a really good choice for any visitor coming to NYC, you definitely benefit from the 'boutique' feeling of this hotel, over the big chains...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location, superb staff who couldn't do enough to help, great welcome. Room was a junior suite on 7th floor, plenty of space and great view out of the window down Madison Ave loved all the books in the room, but wanted to go and see in some of the others with different themes. The breakfast buffet was just enough, we did have breakfast out when we wanted something more substantial and the wine & cheese in the early evening was a great idea, just enough to revive us between sightseeing, shopping and going out for a late meal. We shall be back as soon as time Nd budgets allow

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GillG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Library Hotel is a very short walk from Grand Central Terminal and an easy walk to theaters. Each member of staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our room was small but immaculate, with crisp white linens, storage, and an equally immaculate and functional bathroom. Room reminded us of a European hotel in terms of space and efficiency. We loved the library theme. Continental breakfast was fine. We were only there for one night, but staff were excellent. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: I doubt you can go wrong when choosing a room. Though it is in a busy neighborhood, it was totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in this gorgeous boutique hotel for one week. Room was immaculate and large. Contemporary and elegant. Great location. Staff were wonderful. Lovely breakfast room staff there were wonderful too. Can go to breakfast room any time of the day for coffee, tea and snacks, no extra charge. Can't wait to go back. Loved the books.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing